We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Poor”
Review of Terra Mia

Terra Mia
Ranked #22 of 42 Restaurants in Arrowtown
Price range: US$4 - US$114
Description: Terra Mia brings authentic Italian dishes to Central Otago. All of our dishes are beautifully hand crafted from ingredients that are locally sourced. We are open for breakfast everyday offering traditional Italian cakes and cooked breakfast. Pastas, panini, salads, pizza served for lunch & Dinner Open for coffee and cakes all day.
Restaurant details
Description: Terra Mia brings authentic Italian dishes to Central Otago. All of our dishes are beautifully hand crafted from ingredients that are locally sourced. We are open for breakfast everyday offering traditional Italian cakes and cooked breakfast. Pastas, panini, salads, pizza served for lunch & Dinner Open for coffee and cakes all day.
Reviewed 1 April 2018

We ordered a mocha and a cappuccino. They were both very unenjoyable and bitter. The orange and poppy seed muffin was very dense and underwhelming. I would have liked a savoury muffin but they only had sweet things available in their cabinets except for a ham and cheese croissant.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Inverness1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto C, Owner at Terra Mia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Sorry to hear this, you could let us know and we would change for you.
As per savoury items we have a full menù available all day long
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2018

Only had coffee here on our visit as we had already eaten lunch elsewhere in Arrowtown. Service was friendly and the coffee was very good as was the selection of cake on display. We were disappointed that we had already eaten as the Italian food being served looked and smelled delicious.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank WhereU2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto C, Owner at Terra Mia, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Thank you very much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Long story short. We had pasta and when we asked for a little bit of parmesan the chef refused saying “you can not have parmesan in that dish, you have to eat it that way”. We insisted and the chef (and “owner” which makes it even worse) said “I won’t give you parmesan, that is the f**** dish”.
She was terribly rude, crazy, and grabbed me by the arm just because I was leaving and didn’t want to hear her arguments after the insult.
A whole drama just because we asked parmesan in an italian restaurant for a pasta dish. Unbelievable.
Never coming back.

Thank pato1288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto C, Owner at Terra Mia, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

I was waiting for this review.
Thank you for your time
So let’s get the facts right (because anyone can lie and make up things online): we don’t serve cheese on pasta with seafood dishes as it says on the menu, we are traditional Italian and when I say traditional I mean from Italy born and raised;
in regards the F.... you mentioned you should be careful on what you say because we will never use this words, like your friend did when he left;
My name is Alberto Calabrese and with my wife we run the restaurant so if you have more to talk like proper people or if you want to learn more in regard Italian cuisine please don’t hesitate to contact us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

Drove through Arrowtown from Queenstown & stopped for a late morning breakfast. Service was prompt and friendly. Breakfast was delicious. Highly recommend.

Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

Went in for lunch today on our first visit to Arrowtown. Loved it! Service was excellent - nice welcome, efficient and helpful. We had paninis - a Classico and a salmon one. The ciabatta was thin and toasted just right, and the fillings were delicious. Coffee was good. Enjoyed our lunch visit thoroughly and recommend to anyone visiting Arrowtown.

Thank iMunros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Terra Mia also viewed

Arrowtown, Otago Region
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 
Arrowtown, Otago Region
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 

Been to Terra Mia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing