We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“afternoon tea delight”
Review of Terra Mia

Terra Mia
Ranked #20 of 42 Restaurants in Arrowtown
Price range: US$4 - US$109
Description: Terra Mia brings authentic Italian dishes to Central Otago. All of our dishes are beautifully hand crafted from ingredients that are locally sourced. We are open for breakfast everyday offering traditional Italian cakes and cooked breakfast. Pastas, panini, salads, pizza served for lunch & Dinner Open for coffee and cakes all day.
Restaurant details
Description: Terra Mia brings authentic Italian dishes to Central Otago. All of our dishes are beautifully hand crafted from ingredients that are locally sourced. We are open for breakfast everyday offering traditional Italian cakes and cooked breakfast. Pastas, panini, salads, pizza served for lunch & Dinner Open for coffee and cakes all day.
Reviewed 9 April 2018

great place for the sweet toothed. we popped in just before they closed but they didn't mind. had the beautiful lemon profiteroles...to die for..went back for more. great historical building. wished we had been in town to try it for dinner looks yum.

1  Thank dicowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto C, Owner at Terra Mia, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018
Google Translation

Grazie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2018

We had pizza at the Terra Mia restaurant and left the restaurant with mixed feelings. The spreads tasted really excellent, and were just as they would have tasted in Italy. However, one of our pizzas was almost completely black and burned at the bottom, while the other one had several smaller black spots there. Apart from the taste: eating burned meals can cause cancer, one should keep that in mind. However, we got the first pizza exchanged, which we appreciated. The new pizza was slightly better, but still there were a lot burned sections at the bottom, which my dad could really not eat. When we were asked at the end, if everything was alright, I said that the second pizza was still too black from our point of view. Then we got the response: „That‘s how we do it in Italy and here in the South, that‘s how we learned it.“ Well, fair enough, but I personally would rather have expected some kind of apology.
I am originally from Germany, 32 years old, and all my life I have travelled to Italy at least once a year. And I‘ve never eaten such a burned pizza there (and also not in Germany and there are really very many Italians). However, we mostly travel to the North of Italy and rarely further South than Rome, so it might be different in Naples…

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank felin86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto C, Owner at Terra Mia, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018

Food: Tiny, bare and tasteless food... we had Gnocchi and Frutti di Mare. The gnocchi was served in a small pot, just 10 or 11 of them with tomato sauce...nothing else. The Frutti di Mare had 2 prawns cut in pieces, 5 pieces of calamari, and the linguini wasn't fresh. Everything tiny and definitely without flavour.... a really scam considering the prices!!

Service: None, they only had a few tables occupied and they couldn't manage to give a basic service. I have 2 1/2 years working in Hospitality, I live in Queenstown from 2016, and I know about prices/quality/service...this place is not worthy. So bad that it was my incentive to make an user and write a review...

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ncantaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto C, Owner at Terra Mia, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

1) gnocchi Sorrentina : potatoes gnocchi, tomatoes and mozzarella
2) frutti di mare: we use fresh fish and we don’t use fresh pasta but imported Italian dry pasta
You should be careful when using the word SCAM unless you know the meaning

If you want more explanation my name is Alberto Calabrese and I am the owner available anytime

Arrivederci piscitiello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

We ordered a mocha and a cappuccino. They were both very unenjoyable and bitter. The orange and poppy seed muffin was very dense and underwhelming. I would have liked a savoury muffin but they only had sweet things available in their cabinets except for a ham and cheese croissant.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Inverness1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto C, Owner at Terra Mia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Sorry to hear this, you could let us know and we would change for you.
As per savoury items we have a full menù available all day long
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

Only had coffee here on our visit as we had already eaten lunch elsewhere in Arrowtown. Service was friendly and the coffee was very good as was the selection of cake on display. We were disappointed that we had already eaten as the Italian food being served looked and smelled delicious.

    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank WhereU2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto C, Owner at Terra Mia, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Thank you very much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Terra Mia also viewed

 
Arrowtown, Otago Region
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 
Arrowtown, Otago Region
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 

Been to Terra Mia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing