We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old cottage restored”
Review of Dudley's Cottage

Dudley's Cottage
Ranked #18 of 45 Restaurants in Arrowtown
Price range: US$2 - US$13
Description: Relax in the beautiful gardens surrounding historic Dudley's Cottage in Arrowtown just 15 minutes drive from Queenstown, enjoying a coffee while the kids try their hand at gold panning. Or have a go finding your fortune yourself! Dudley's Cottage (c.1880) Is situated next to the Chinese Village and Butlers Green in Arrowtown and offers a one of a kind insight into times gone by. A guaranteed find of gold with expert panning tuition, cafe, icecreams, 4WD tours up the Arrow River, Central Otago gifts, gold jewellery and other New Zealand quality products. Gold panning equipment is also available for hire or purchase if you catch 'gold fever'! A must-do attraction in Arrowtown. Open over summer from September to May, 7 days a week from 9am to 5pm.
Restaurant details
Description: Relax in the beautiful gardens surrounding historic Dudley's Cottage in Arrowtown just 15 minutes drive from Queenstown, enjoying a coffee while the kids try their hand at gold panning. Or have a go finding your fortune yourself! Dudley's Cottage (c.1880) Is situated next to the Chinese Village and Butlers Green in Arrowtown and offers a one of a kind insight into times gone by. A guaranteed find of gold with expert panning tuition, cafe, icecreams, 4WD tours up the Arrow River, Central Otago gifts, gold jewellery and other New Zealand quality products. Gold panning equipment is also available for hire or purchase if you catch 'gold fever'! A must-do attraction in Arrowtown. Open over summer from September to May, 7 days a week from 9am to 5pm.
Reviewed 6 August 2018

Interesting old cottage and gardens restored to give an idea of what life and times were like in the gold mining days.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2018

we just drop by. this place scone was so amazing. I never had this kind of scone. and so comfortable place.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Egge11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018 via mobile

We stopped to have our kids gold pan. They loved it and really appreciated getting a souvenir from the instruction. We also went on to try our luck in the river. Didn’t really “pan” out but we had fun. Also had a cup of coffee that was decent while we waited.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank 61jamesn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018

Dudley's Cottage is a quaint cottage next to the Chinese settlement. There are tables on the grass and it is dog friendly. I can recommend the date scones which were delicious and the coffee was excellent. We also ordered some salad rolls which come with ham and a fried egg. The menu is simple and the prices are good. The service is efficient and friendly.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Benaroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018

Lovely coffee spot sitting out in the sun under the autumn gold of the trees. Try the cakes and savouries too you wont be disappointed. Service is swift and friendly.

Perhaps you'd like to try your hand at gold panning? Have a quick lesson here and then hire a spade and pan and head off down to the river, be patient and you wont be disappointed. We did and had success, after and hour of panning we had several gold flakes.

Back to Douglas cottage to hand the gear back and take afternoon tea. What could be better!

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Allgoodthyngs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KiwiEm01, Director of Sales at Dudley's Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Thank you for your lovely review Allgoodthyngs! We are glad you enjoyed our cakes and savouries, made fresh onsite every day. Fantastic you had success down at the river panning for gold! Hope to see you back again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dudley's Cottage also viewed

Arrowtown, Otago Region
 
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 

Been to Dudley's Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing