We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Coolum Dreams Bed & Breakfast(Coolum Beach)(Great Value!)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Coolum Caprice Luxury Holiday Apartments(Coolum Beach)(Great Value!)
US$166
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$67
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Coolum Baywatch Resort(Coolum Beach)(Great Value!)
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Seacove Resort(Coolum Beach)(Great Value!)
US$123
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Surf Dance(Coolum Beach)(Great Value!)
US$146
US$121
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coolum Motel(Coolum Beach)(Great Value!)
US$63
US$58
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Coolum Seaside Resort(Coolum Beach)(Great Value!)
US$161
US$148
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (318)
Filter reviews
318 results
Traveller rating
195
90
28
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
195
90
28
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoral seabedroom executivesecond levelhilltop villaslive heresunshine coastthe kitchenwalk into townmain beachstayed one nightamazing viewssitting on the balconybeautiful oceanpeaceful locationpleasant walklonger staybus stop
Filter
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 318 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2016

Firstly, this is not rated in my opinion as a Hotel. It is apartments, some of them owned and lived in by owners. The others are available for short term accommodation. They all look fairly similar from the outside, but what the Managers won't tell you is that some of the apartments are fairly inaccessible for people with mobility problems. The first apartment we were allocated had difficult access with steep stairs into it. After a fairly long day getting there, we were disappointed that the Management failed to advise us of this. Their response was, that we should have asked at the time of booking. So this is a warning for anyone considering booking here, who has these issues.
The other problems with this place was the difficult maneuverability of the tight driveways and parking access into the garage. the second apartment that we were allocated had better access and great views over the Coral Sea, but I would hardly call it an executive apartment as we were told, The furnishings were dated, pine coffee tables and stained carpets, looked as if it was dated around the 90's decor.

There is no food service here, or even a kiosk for any thing you may need, and you will definitely need a car to get anywhere, the shops being 10 minutes drive up the road. The front office was supposed to be open till 5pm, but we found it shut early most nights.
I was looking forward to a swim in the pool and using the spa after being cooped up on a cruise ship for 17 nights, but this wasn't to be. The pool was too small and cold to even consider this option, and the spa well it might be alright for a child.
For the price $440 for 3 nights, it is not my idea of luxury, but the view did make up for it.
The other thing that was annoying here was that both our mobiles (different service providers) could not work here, and when I mentioned it to management they said, "Yes that is a problem here", and offered us free wifi, which worked for 1.5 days then stopped working altogether.

Room Tip: , most have a great view of Coral Sea
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kiarobro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePointCoolum1, General Manager at The Point Coolum Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2016

Thanks so much for your review. We appreciate it! I regret that you did not enjoy your stay, particularly as we did our very best to make this happen. Once we became aware of your husband's specific needs we really tried to accommodate them. It was unfortunate that on the first night of your intended stay that all of our accessible rooms were already occupied. Acknowledging this, we contacted our sister hotel, which affords lift access to every room, and arranged for you to stay there. You wished to inspect the specific unit but for some reason did not visit as arranged, later returning to The Point, deciding to stay. A member of staff assisted you with your luggage up the single flight of stairs and to settle in to your room. First thing the next morning we prepared an accessible room, sending a staff member to move you between apartments.

Under the circumstances I feel we did as much as we were able, however I accept that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations and I regret that you did not have the experience you were hoping for. I really hope that you will give us the opportunity to impress you and I would ask that you contact me directly when next booking so that I can personally ensure you experience the best that the resort has to offer guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2016 via mobile

My partner and I were lucky enough to book a single night's accommodation here, as we were unable to get away any longer. The terrace unit we stayed in was private , had beautiful beach views and it was fitted out very tastefully. Lots of space, spa bath, 2 bathrooms, huge WIR and bedroom was on a different level to the lying area and full kitchen. The unit we stayed in was no 27.... Which comprised of 3 levels..... So if you aren't very energetic maybe you should request a single level place. We loved it. Will put it in our list to tell our friends about.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Maggie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePointCoolum1, Front Office Manager at The Point Coolum Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2016

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. The Bay Terraces comprise of two levels of accommodation plus additional internal stairs to the garage below which is an added convenience for guests. We appreciate your feedback and comments and are glad you also enjoyed the lovely views from this apartment.

Kind regards
Nicola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2016

WOW!! What a wonderful evening we had! We booked (on Easter weekend) at the VERY last moment for one night away! Not only was Jonna able to fit us in that night, we received a small discount. The stunning views took our breath away....the comfort of the villa was brilliant.....overall, we had a fantastic time and we WILL be back for a longer time away next time.....THANK YOU for an amazing 24 hrs.....LOVED every minute of it. Very much worth every cent.

Room Tip: Brilliant views - a home away from home!
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JulieAnne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePointCoolum1, Front Office Manager at The Point Coolum Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2016

We are very glad that you had such a wonderful stay at The Point over the Easter long weekend. The views certainly are amazing and we appreciate your very positive feedback on your villa. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Kind regards

Nicola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2016 via mobile

We had a very relaxing stay at The Point Coolum. Great location with excellent views and in close proximity to Coolum and it's excellent beaches. The villa was clean and neat, although a little dated in my opinion bit it had everything that you would ever need.
Also a special mention about Nicky at reception who went out of her way to make sure our visit was enjoyable.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
Thank paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePointCoolum1, Front Office Manager at The Point Coolum Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2016

Thank you for your review. It was lovely to meet you and your family and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback on the villa you stayed in which has since had new carpet laid and is currently under a refurbishment programme. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Point in the near future.

Kind regards
Nicola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2016 via mobile

We stayed in a one bedroom ocean view villa over looking the ocean. I didn't know what to expect and i was blown away. We had a double garage and 3 levels. Bedrooms on the second then stairs going up to the living areas ocean views also. Even from the garage even though u can't access it there is another level underneath. It was such a joy to sit and watch the ocean and the swimmers. The villas itself was clean and we would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Jodie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePointCoolum1, Front Office Manager at The Point Coolum Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2016

Thank you for reviewing The Point. We appreciate your very positive feedback on your apartment. We are glad that you were able to enjoy the wonderful views up the coast and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Nicola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews