We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Lol.travel
RM 819
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Heather L
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom

Lovely relaxing hotel

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Oct 2023
Fabulous friendly and relaxing hotel in a great location. Ideal for easy access for the local buses into Funchal and other villages Fantastic staff who are very obliging
Great choice of food and particularly the Italian restaurant
The staff work very hard and nothing is too much trouble.
Lovely spacious room kept lovely and clean by the housekeeping staff on a daily basis.
Would definitely recommend this hotel for couples and families wanting a relaxing break. This was our 3rd visit and will be returning again soon.
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Margarida Caldeira, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this review
Responded 12 Oct 2023
Dear Mr./Mrs. 78heatherl,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay at Pestana Grand. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the experience and our team's dedicated, attentive, and professional service. Your comments make us proud and serve as an incentive for continuously improving our service and striving for excellence.

It was a great pleasure for us to welcome you as our Guest. We would like to thank you for staying at Pestana Grand, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards,
Gilberto Gouveia
Hotel Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Terraço com vista sobre a cidade | Rooftop with city overview
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.8 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.6 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
1.8 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
3.0 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
eDreams
    4.0 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
    Booking.com
    • Agoda.com
    0.3 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
    Booking.com
    • Agoda.com
    2.7 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
    Five Elements Madeira
    Booking.com
    • Agoda.com
    3.7 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
    Free Wifi
    Booking.com
    • Agoda.com
    3.9 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
    Hotels.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      RM 1,070
    • Expedia.com
      RM 1,406
    1.8 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Sao Martinho
    Reviews (3,454)
    Filter reviews
    3,454 results
    Traveller rating
    2,255
    863
    261
    49
    26
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    2,255
    863
    261
    49
    26
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews sea view lovely hotel indoor pool courtesy bus glass of madeira wine forum shopping centre happy hour salt water half board hotel restaurants local restaurants evening entertainment tea and coffee pool towels steam room time share relaxing holiday
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    47 - 52 of 3,454 reviews
    Reviewed 11 October 2023

    Once again the Pestana Grand did not disappoint!!! The Hotel and all the Staff are wonderful it is just like going home returning to the Grand!! We have just booked up again for next year!! Mr Reay chooses to spend his birthday there each year and my goodness do they make it special, Champagne for breakfast, Bucket of Champagne and birthday card from the hotel and staff in our room, and in the evening birthday cake with candles and all the staff sang Happy Birthday - what more could you ask for! Beautiful location, hotel and staff. Thanks once again - see you all next year!

    Room tip: Just go and enjoy the whole experience the gardens are beautiful as well as the sea view/
    Date of stay: September 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank reaybart
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Margarida Caldeira, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2023

    Dear Mr./Mrs. reaybart,

    We were delighted to hear that your recent stay at Pestana Grand was delightful and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Our team would like to thank you for your very kind feedback. It was a pleasure to be your home for some time in such special occassion of celebration.

    Many thanks for choosing Pestana Grand for your holiday. We look forward to hosting you again next year at our hotel.

    Kind regards,
    Gilberto Gouveia
    Hotel Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 9 October 2023

    Look at all the recent reviews - it's all there. Good and bad included - and very little bad as you can see.
    It is a lovely hotel in lovely grounds - something a little art deco here and there - I thought Poirot may appear at any moment! - it is old school and easy to like - very comfortable and very relaxing. No real downsides to our stay - we had a lovely week. The two bookable restaurants were well worth trying - my Wife said the salmon in the Italian restaurant was superb - the best she had ever tasted. The Moroccan was also great for a change from the usual buffet. No trouble booking on the booking system - maybe do it when you first arrive? and very good service - thanks for that restaurant team - it was much appreciated
    Margarida is very helpful - like all the staff, they all really seem to like their different roles in the hotel, and it shows.
    To be really picky:
    1. The bar service is a bit slow, it's all because of the almost ceromonial palaver with signing for your order - it takes longer to pay / sign the paperwork than it does to drink the drink - I guess the Pestana organisation know where every penny is at any moment in time
    2. The Buffet area is a bit tight
    3. Only one coffee machine - at busy times you can wait a while to get a tea or coffee
    4. The entertainment is pretty poor - it may be OK for a rest home, but something a little more upbeat now and again would be an improvement (anything would be an improvement !)
    5. There is not much choice in the locality for entertainment in the evenings - no music bars / karaoke / normal drinking bars - only restaurants and more restaurants (not a fault of the hotel per se) - maybe this is typical of Madeira as a whole?
    6. The lifts were a little hit and miss - tricky, because the stairs are very well hidden!
    On the plus side - everything else you can possibly think of that will make your stay really enjoyable, I mean just about everything else. This is a seriously good hotel, great service, locality, hotel condition, bar prices (make good use of the happy hours - especially for evening dinner wine?), sunbeds, pools, gardens - I mean everything else
    I loved Madeira and I think it's bye bye Tenerife from now on!
    Enjoy!
    Statham

    Room tip: Take wine from happy hour into dinner - it saves a lot of euros over a week Don't rush to get a sunbed - there are plenty
    Date of stay: October 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Statham B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Margarida Caldeira, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2023

    Dear Mr. Statham B,

    On behalf of our entire team at Pestana Grand, we would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback. Your opinion is crucial for us to continue improving our service and anticipate our Guests' needs.

    We would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused. We have taken note of all the issues mentioned so that improvements can be made in the short-term.
    We are very sorry for any inconvenience concerning the coffee machines. The coffee and milk is served to the tables in pots and the machines are a plus for cappuccino or other special coffees. We thank you very much for your understanding on this matter.

    It was a real pleasure for us to have you as our Guest, and we look forward to welcoming you again at Pestana Grand.

    Best regards,
    Gilberto Gouveia
    Hotel Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 8 October 2023

    We booked a week at the Pestana Grand Hotel, Madeira from the 29th September. We booked through Polkadot Travel and really looked forward to the holiday.

    What an experience! This hotel was superb. The hotel has seven floores and our room was number 1112 on the first floor.

    The room was lovely and clean and was a superb size with plenty of room along with a bathroom which had two showers a toilet and a large mirror. The bed was a super king which boasted ample room. The laundry service visited everyday and replenished the towels and cleaned etc. There was a safe box in the room which was free of charge and was easy to use. The view from the hotel balcony was incredible. Look out for the fantastic sunrises, really well worth seeing.
    The food was lovely with a choice of many restaurants four on the hotel premises and two at sister hotels close by. Excellent choice on the menu and the service was great. Breakfast was particularly good with a vast selection of food. The personnel at the hotel had all the time in the world for you and were always keen to do their best.
    The swimming pools outside were lovely and clean with pool staff cleaning and organising sun beds and parasols every day. There is no need to place your towel on a sunbed to guarantee a sunbed as there are plenty of sunbeds for everyone.
    The location of the hotel was lovely as it was located on the top of a headland that boasted a superb vista.
    There is a supermarket and shops just up the road from the hotel at "The Forum." There is a frequent bus service into Funchal from just outside the hotel. The number 2 bus goes from just outside the gates of the hotel and the number 1 bus service drops off and picks up at "The Forum" at the top of the road. Reception will also organise a taxi if you prefer at a reasonable cost. I wouldn't recommend walking to the centre as it is approximately four and a half miles and at times the temperature can be hot.
    Would I return to the hotel? You bet, in a heartbeat! Fantastic hotel.

    Date of stay: September 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    1  Thank owain_smith
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Margarida Caldeira, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2023

    Dear Mr./Mrs. owain_smith,

    We were delighted to hear that your recent stay at Pestana Grand was delightful and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Our team would like to thank you for your very kind feedback. Your kind words of appreciation and all the details are really what we are: an amazing hotel for amazing guests!

    Many thanks for choosing Pestana Grand for your holiday. We look forward to hosting you again soon at our hotel.

    Kind regards,
    Gilberto Gouveia
    Hotel Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 7 October 2023 via mobile

    Our room was on the second floor overlooking the lovely gardens and the sea and I have to say it was one of the best views I’ve ever had from a hotel room balcony (check out my pics). The room was a good size and clean and comfortable. Nice toiletries and plenty of hot water when you needed it. The view was though the best bit, just perfect.

    The pool and surrounding area is lovely, with crystal clear water, plenty of loungers and areas in the shade if you want to be away from everyone else. We had lunch and several hot and cold drinks in the pool bar area and they were great with really lovely helpful staff. The hotel is well positioned across from a nice promenade and has several nearby shops, coffee shops and restaurants. Overall we had a lovely weeks holiday hear and felt very relaxed.

    A couple of things not so good to note. Pretty much like the whole of Madeira the hotel has no air-conditioning in common areas, so if you sit in the bar, prepare to be hot. Our room did have air-con but it was fairly hopeless and so sleeping was a challenge. We did have an engineer look at it, but no improvement.

    The one thing we hated was when one night we ate in the hotel restaurant which offers a buffet. Now admittedly we foolishly didn’t check the price before sitting, but at the end of the meal and without alcohol we were charged almost €90 for the two of us. Now that’s expensive, but what really upset me was the food for a 5 star hotel was really just terrible. The salads were admittedly nice, main courses though were greasy, not hot and yet over cooked and one of us was a veggie and the choice there was almost non existent (a common theme in Madeira). The desserts were the worst, really so dreadful and slopped around they were inedible. I felt so angry with myself that I didn’t check the price first, as I would never have continued with the meal once I realised what it was going to cost and the poor quality.

    Overall a nice hotel, but I would suggest eating outside the hotel if you want nice food and not to pay a ridiculous high price.

    Room tip: I would not recommend eating in the buffet restaurant as the food is very bad and yet very expensive
    Date of stay: October 2023
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    1  Thank John1010uk
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Margarida Caldeira, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2023

    Dear Mr. John1010uk,

    On behalf of our entire team at Pestana Grand, we would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback. Your opinion is crucial for us to continue improving our service and anticipate our Guests' needs.

    I can guess from your comments that you are a Pestana Vacation Club Member as all hotel guests are in half board with dinner already included. We are sincerely sorry that you were disappointed with your dining experience. We have shared your comments with our Food and Beverage Manager, and we are taking the necessary measures to improve our offer.
    Also we would like to inform that we have managed to make the air conditioning more efficient and to adapt to the heat wave we are facing at present in Madeira island. We are still with very high temperatures, atypic for this time of the year, and we cannot say when it's going to be fresher. We thank you for your undersatnding on all matters and wish you all the best.

    It was a real pleasure for us to have you as our Guest, and we look forward to welcoming you again at Pestana Grand.

    Best regards,
    Gilberto Gouveia
    Hotel Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 2 October 2023

    This is an impressive hotel - beautiful grounds, very well kept and maintained - everything clean and comfortable. The staff are also lovely. Food is good but repetitive - there are speciality restaurants you can book - we found the Madeiran one the best value, but no good for vegetarians - the wheat soup had pork bits in it! We had a sea view room which was absolutely beautiful

    The biggest let down was the lack of decent air-con. I get the sense that the weather is getting hotter and hotter (we had a heatwave from Africa) and maybe the Island didn't really need strong aircon in the past. It's also very high humidity. But they don't seem to use chillers - it's just an air movement system - which takes in air from the room corridor - so if the ambient temperature of the hotel is warm you are just pumping warm air into the rooms. There is a temperature dial on the wall of the room but it just spins round and makes no difference. We did report the issue, and it slightly improved for a day or two, but then went back to normal. The worst thing is that the bar area where they have the entertainment is very very warm and humid. It's a huge space, but no discernible aircon. We found it was impossible to stay there more than half hour or so without it becoming unbearable. This is a five star hotel - so how come we can get a budget holiday in Greece at a fraction of the price with aircon that actually works???

    Perhaps it's Ok in the winter months - we will definitely return to Madeira as it is so beautiful and we are very impressed by the Pestana group of hotels (so much so we joined their vacation club - a flexible type of timeshare).

    The swimming pool is spectacular - plenty of sun beds, and the water in September was warm enough to swim comfortably. There were fitness activities 5 days of each week - no idea why not everyday. I did the Aqua fit which was great, but didn't get to the yoga or pilates unfortunately.

    Evening entertainment is a bit poor - clearly aimed at the older generation - the folkloric group were good, and they had a short dance show one night (very cabaret) the rest of the time were just singers doing covers of famous numbers...

    TV in room good - there are a lot of American channels (Fox) where you can watch English speaking content (subtitles in Portuguese) - but the 'smart' facility on the TVs is disabled which was annoying - we had to watch stuff on you tube on our phones.

    There is a lovely promenade walk from the hotel - one direction goes towards town, the other goes west - and there is a spectacular natural sea pool Lido a few minutes away to the west. Entry is 5 euros (or half price after 6pm). Busses to town cost about 2 euros for a 10 minute ride (its a flat rate - but if you get a 'Giro' card in town you can top up and get trips for 1.35 ).

    BEWARE of the mosquitos - they are vicious!!!

    In conclusion, I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family - it is luxurious and beautiful - I just hope they sort the aircon out soon.

    Room tip: Get a Giro card for cheap travel on the busses
    Date of stay: September 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Lisa C
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Margarida Caldeira, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2023

    Dear Mrs. Lisa C,

    On behalf of our entire team at Pestana Grand, we would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Your opinion is crucial for us to continue improving our service and anticipate our Guests' needs.

    We are sincerely sorry that you were disappointed with your dining experience. We have shared your comments with our Food and Beverage Manager, and we are taking the necessary measures to improve our offer.
    Also we would like to inform that we have managed to make the air conditioning more efficient and to adapt to the heat wave we are facing at present in Madeira island. We are still with very high temperatures, atypic for this time of the year, and we cannot say when it's going to be fresher. We thank you for your undersatnding on all matters. We would like to sincerely apologize for any other inconvenience caused. We have taken note of all the issues mentioned so that improvements can be made in the short-term.

    It was a real pleasure for us to have you as our Guest, and we look forward to welcoming you again at Pestana Grand.

    Best regards,
    Gilberto Gouveia
    Hotel Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews