We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Lol.travel
RM 820
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
rrb115
London, United Kingdom

Facilities not 5 stsr

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 Nov 2023
Indoor facility useless pool cold jacuzzi cold sauna cold not fit for purpose bar happy hour no cocktails pointless restaurant below par no vegetarian selection resort location a bit far and those with mobility will struggle
Date of stay: October 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Margarida Caldeira, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this review
Responded 5 Nov 2023
Dear Mr./Mrs. rrb115,

We would like to thank you for giving us your honest opinion on your stay. Unfortunately, we did not satisfy all your expectations.

We would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused. We have taken note of all the issues mentioned so that improvements can be made in the short-term.
We would like to inform that the outdoor is kept at ambiance temperature during all year.
Regarding the indoor pool: On 5 January 2023, the Corporate Sustainability Reporting Directive (CSRD) entered into force In the European Union(EU). This new directive modernises and strengthens the rules concerning the social and environmental information that companies have to report. In compliance to the Environmental, Social and Governance(ESG), a Pestana Hotel Group policy has been established to limit the swimming pool heating at all our properties. All efforts are in place to adjust these hours, as the extra energy required to have such equipment on an ongoing basis, would contempt the respective ESG policy. We trust that you will understand the purpose of this EU environmental directive, resting assured that we will do our outmost efforts to continue providing a most comfortable holiday with us.
We do have an à la carte vegetarian menu that can be asked at any restaurant, even at the buffet, I'm sorry if this was not clear for you.
The location of our hotel is correctly marked and all guests can see our correct location before visiting us. I'm sorry if our location was not to your satisfaction.

We appreciate that you chose Pestana Grand for your stay. We hope you will give us another opportunity to demonstrate our high service standards and regain your trust during your next visit.

Kind regards,
Gilberto Gouveia
Hotel Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Terraço com vista sobre a cidade | Rooftop with city overview
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.8 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.6 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
1.8 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
3.0 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
eDreams
    4.0 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
    Booking.com
    • Agoda.com
    2.7 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
    Five Elements Madeira
    Booking.com
    • Agoda.com
    3.7 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
    Free Wifi
    Booking.com
    • Agoda.com
    3.9 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
    Hotels.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      RM 1,058
    • Expedia.com
      RM 1,407
    1.8 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    • travelup.com
    • Lol.travel
      RM 893
    • Vio.com
    0.8 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Sao Martinho
    Reviews (3,453)
    Filter reviews
    3,453 results
    Traveller rating
    2,255
    863
    260
    49
    26
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    2,255
    863
    260
    49
    26
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews sea view lovely hotel indoor pool courtesy bus glass of madeira wine forum shopping centre happy hour salt water half board hotel restaurants local restaurants evening entertainment tea and coffee pool towels steam room time share relaxing holiday
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    44 - 49 of 3,453 reviews
    Reviewed 1 November 2023 via mobile

    Excellent location, very comfortable rooms and most importantly, very warm, friendly and helpful staff. The only area of improvement could be the food - it is fairly repetitive when one is staying for a week. I could not book a single massage in the entire week that I was there as they were busy.

    Room tip: Book a massage in advance so that you are not disappointed.
    Date of stay: October 2023
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank 93Hawkeye
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Margarida Caldeira, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2023

    Dear Mr./Mrs. 93Hawkeye,

    On behalf of our entire team at Pestana Grand, we would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback. Your opinion is crucial for us to continue improving our service and anticipate our Guests' needs.

    It was a real pleasure for us to have you as our Guest, and we look forward to welcoming you again at Pestana Grand.

    Best regards,
    Gilberto Gouveia
    Hotel Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 29 October 2023

    As my wife works for an International airline we have been and stayed in some fantastic hotels and countries around the world such as Mauritius, St Lucia, Antigua, Spain and many more. This hotel is fantastic. The buffet food is hot with lots of choice. You can exchange the buffet restaurant for the three a la carte restaurants. The hotel has two different happy hours everyday, buy one-get-one free, but it doesn't include cocktails or hot drinks. The room, lobby, restaurants, gardens and pool area are all immaculately clean. About 5 mins walk from the hotel is a super modern shopping centre with shops such as H&M, Zara and JD sports. McDonald's and a large supermarket can be found in there also. Outside the hotel there is a bus stop, it's €1.95 per person per trip to Funchal, about 15 mins or you can also walk which takes about 40 mins. You can walk the main road or the coastal path. The bus you get on is the number 2 green line. We took a trip to the botanical gardens but needed to take the two cable cars. We also went in the Ronaldo Museum. Both things definitely worth doing. Funchal is really a beautiful place. It's was our first time to Maderia but was really impressed how much money has been invested in the island. It is one of the cleanest places we have visited. My wife and two kids, aged 3 and 8 will definitely return to the hotel in the near future. The hotel staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble. Everything is about attention to detail with this hotel. Thanks for a fabulous stay.

    Date of stay: October 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank M M
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Margarida Caldeira, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2023

    Dear Mrs. MadelijnM,

    On behalf of our entire team at Pestana Grand, we would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback. Your opinion is crucial for us to continue improving our service and anticipate our Guests' needs.

    It was a real pleasure for us to have you as our Guest, and we look forward to welcoming you again at Pestana Grand.

    Best regards,
    Gilberto Gouveia
    Hotel Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 12 October 2023

    Fabulous friendly and relaxing hotel in a great location. Ideal for easy access for the local buses into Funchal and other villages Fantastic staff who are very obliging
    Great choice of food and particularly the Italian restaurant
    The staff work very hard and nothing is too much trouble.
    Lovely spacious room kept lovely and clean by the housekeeping staff on a daily basis.
    Would definitely recommend this hotel for couples and families wanting a relaxing break. This was our 3rd visit and will be returning again soon.

    Date of stay: September 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank 78heatherl
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Margarida Caldeira, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2023

    Dear Mr./Mrs. 78heatherl,

    Thank you for your feedback on your stay at Pestana Grand. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the experience and our team's dedicated, attentive, and professional service. Your comments make us proud and serve as an incentive for continuously improving our service and striving for excellence.

    It was a great pleasure for us to welcome you as our Guest. We would like to thank you for staying at Pestana Grand, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

    Best regards,
    Gilberto Gouveia
    Hotel Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 11 October 2023

    Once again the Pestana Grand did not disappoint!!! The Hotel and all the Staff are wonderful it is just like going home returning to the Grand!! We have just booked up again for next year!! Mr Reay chooses to spend his birthday there each year and my goodness do they make it special, Champagne for breakfast, Bucket of Champagne and birthday card from the hotel and staff in our room, and in the evening birthday cake with candles and all the staff sang Happy Birthday - what more could you ask for! Beautiful location, hotel and staff. Thanks once again - see you all next year!

    Room tip: Just go and enjoy the whole experience the gardens are beautiful as well as the sea view/
    Date of stay: September 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank reaybart
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Margarida Caldeira, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2023

    Dear Mr./Mrs. reaybart,

    We were delighted to hear that your recent stay at Pestana Grand was delightful and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Our team would like to thank you for your very kind feedback. It was a pleasure to be your home for some time in such special occassion of celebration.

    Many thanks for choosing Pestana Grand for your holiday. We look forward to hosting you again next year at our hotel.

    Kind regards,
    Gilberto Gouveia
    Hotel Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 9 October 2023

    Look at all the recent reviews - it's all there. Good and bad included - and very little bad as you can see.
    It is a lovely hotel in lovely grounds - something a little art deco here and there - I thought Poirot may appear at any moment! - it is old school and easy to like - very comfortable and very relaxing. No real downsides to our stay - we had a lovely week. The two bookable restaurants were well worth trying - my Wife said the salmon in the Italian restaurant was superb - the best she had ever tasted. The Moroccan was also great for a change from the usual buffet. No trouble booking on the booking system - maybe do it when you first arrive? and very good service - thanks for that restaurant team - it was much appreciated
    Margarida is very helpful - like all the staff, they all really seem to like their different roles in the hotel, and it shows.
    To be really picky:
    1. The bar service is a bit slow, it's all because of the almost ceromonial palaver with signing for your order - it takes longer to pay / sign the paperwork than it does to drink the drink - I guess the Pestana organisation know where every penny is at any moment in time
    2. The Buffet area is a bit tight
    3. Only one coffee machine - at busy times you can wait a while to get a tea or coffee
    4. The entertainment is pretty poor - it may be OK for a rest home, but something a little more upbeat now and again would be an improvement (anything would be an improvement !)
    5. There is not much choice in the locality for entertainment in the evenings - no music bars / karaoke / normal drinking bars - only restaurants and more restaurants (not a fault of the hotel per se) - maybe this is typical of Madeira as a whole?
    6. The lifts were a little hit and miss - tricky, because the stairs are very well hidden!
    On the plus side - everything else you can possibly think of that will make your stay really enjoyable, I mean just about everything else. This is a seriously good hotel, great service, locality, hotel condition, bar prices (make good use of the happy hours - especially for evening dinner wine?), sunbeds, pools, gardens - I mean everything else
    I loved Madeira and I think it's bye bye Tenerife from now on!
    Enjoy!
    Statham

    Room tip: Take wine from happy hour into dinner - it saves a lot of euros over a week Don't rush to get a sunbed - there are plenty
    Date of stay: October 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Statham B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Margarida Caldeira, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2023

    Dear Mr. Statham B,

    On behalf of our entire team at Pestana Grand, we would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback. Your opinion is crucial for us to continue improving our service and anticipate our Guests' needs.

    We would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused. We have taken note of all the issues mentioned so that improvements can be made in the short-term.
    We are very sorry for any inconvenience concerning the coffee machines. The coffee and milk is served to the tables in pots and the machines are a plus for cappuccino or other special coffees. We thank you very much for your understanding on this matter.

    It was a real pleasure for us to have you as our Guest, and we look forward to welcoming you again at Pestana Grand.

    Best regards,
    Gilberto Gouveia
    Hotel Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews