We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
RM 1,000
Fully refundable before Thu, 30 May
Expedia.com
RM 1,060
Fully refundable before Thu, 30 May
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Lol.travel
RM 820
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Ian J
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom

Average stay, top money with Tui

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Nov 2023
Although listed as 5 star, I would rate it as a 3 star, as others have stated its tired, flaking paint and broken conrete around the pool, rooms are dated and bathroom door had some water damage, bathroom tap dripping, maintenence man came and shrugged and left again, no repair. Food was bitterly disapointing, thought it catered for German tastes moe than British, probably a refelection on the guest ratio, although you have a choice of restraunt to dine in, bottle of water (still) 5 euros, Don Perinon 273 euro (no me neither) Bins near lifts left full from one day to another. Sunbeds and pool umbrellas are really past there best. Cheap loo roll, towels really past there best, beds not the best and pillows lumpy.
Date of stay: October 2023
Room Tip: Had a pool, sea view room, great except for hotel staff dragging tables and umbrellas around at...
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Margarida Caldeira, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this review
Responded 5 Nov 2023
Dear Mr. Ian J,

We would like to thank you for giving us your honest opinion on your stay. Unfortunately, we did not satisfy all your expectations.

We would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused. We have taken note of all the issues mentioned so that improvements can be made in the short-term.

We appreciate that you chose Pestana Grand for your stay. We hope you will give us another opportunity to demonstrate our high service standards and regain your trust during your next visit.

Kind regards,
Gilberto Gouveia
Hotel Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Terraço com vista sobre a cidade | Rooftop with city overview
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
1.8 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
1.6 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
3.0 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Booking.com
RM 753
  • Agoda.com
3.9 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Booking.com
RM 1,359
  • Hotels.com
    RM 1,407
  • Lol.travel
    RM 956
  • Expedia.com
    RM 1,407
1.8 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
RM 1,130
Fully refundable
  • travelup.com
    RM 953
  • Lol.travel
    RM 893
  • Trip.com
0.8 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
RM 825
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    RM 790
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 851
1.7 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
RM 851
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    RM 931
  • Lol.travel
    RM 703
  • Hotels.com
    RM 931
0.6 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Free parking
Pool
Hotel Website
RM 715
  • Priceline
  • Trip.com
  • StayForLong
0.3 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Pool
Restaurant
Booking.com
RM 1,029
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    RM 1,029
  • Priceline
1.6 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Sao Martinho
Reviews (3,453)
Filter reviews
3,453 results
Traveller rating
2,255
863
260
49
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,255
863
260
49
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view lovely hotel indoor pool courtesy bus glass of madeira wine forum shopping centre happy hour salt water half board hotel restaurants local restaurants evening entertainment tea and coffee pool towels steam room time share relaxing holiday
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 3,453 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2023

Indoor facility useless pool cold jacuzzi cold sauna cold not fit for purpose bar happy hour no cocktails pointless restaurant below par no vegetarian selection resort location a bit far and those with mobility will struggle

Date of stay: October 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Thank rrb115
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Margarida Caldeira, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2023

Dear Mr./Mrs. rrb115,

We would like to thank you for giving us your honest opinion on your stay. Unfortunately, we did not satisfy all your expectations.

We would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused. We have taken note of all the issues mentioned so that improvements can be made in the short-term.
We would like to inform that the outdoor is kept at ambiance temperature during all year.
Regarding the indoor pool: On 5 January 2023, the Corporate Sustainability Reporting Directive (CSRD) entered into force In the European Union(EU). This new directive modernises and strengthens the rules concerning the social and environmental information that companies have to report. In compliance to the Environmental, Social and Governance(ESG), a Pestana Hotel Group policy has been established to limit the swimming pool heating at all our properties. All efforts are in place to adjust these hours, as the extra energy required to have such equipment on an ongoing basis, would contempt the respective ESG policy. We trust that you will understand the purpose of this EU environmental directive, resting assured that we will do our outmost efforts to continue providing a most comfortable holiday with us.
We do have an à la carte vegetarian menu that can be asked at any restaurant, even at the buffet, I'm sorry if this was not clear for you.
The location of our hotel is correctly marked and all guests can see our correct location before visiting us. I'm sorry if our location was not to your satisfaction.

We appreciate that you chose Pestana Grand for your stay. We hope you will give us another opportunity to demonstrate our high service standards and regain your trust during your next visit.

Kind regards,
Gilberto Gouveia
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2023 via mobile

Excellent location, very comfortable rooms and most importantly, very warm, friendly and helpful staff. The only area of improvement could be the food - it is fairly repetitive when one is staying for a week. I could not book a single massage in the entire week that I was there as they were busy.

Room tip: Book a massage in advance so that you are not disappointed.
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 93Hawkeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Margarida Caldeira, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2023

Dear Mr./Mrs. 93Hawkeye,

On behalf of our entire team at Pestana Grand, we would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback. Your opinion is crucial for us to continue improving our service and anticipate our Guests' needs.

It was a real pleasure for us to have you as our Guest, and we look forward to welcoming you again at Pestana Grand.

Best regards,
Gilberto Gouveia
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2023

As my wife works for an International airline we have been and stayed in some fantastic hotels and countries around the world such as Mauritius, St Lucia, Antigua, Spain and many more. This hotel is fantastic. The buffet food is hot with lots of choice. You can exchange the buffet restaurant for the three a la carte restaurants. The hotel has two different happy hours everyday, buy one-get-one free, but it doesn't include cocktails or hot drinks. The room, lobby, restaurants, gardens and pool area are all immaculately clean. About 5 mins walk from the hotel is a super modern shopping centre with shops such as H&M, Zara and JD sports. McDonald's and a large supermarket can be found in there also. Outside the hotel there is a bus stop, it's €1.95 per person per trip to Funchal, about 15 mins or you can also walk which takes about 40 mins. You can walk the main road or the coastal path. The bus you get on is the number 2 green line. We took a trip to the botanical gardens but needed to take the two cable cars. We also went in the Ronaldo Museum. Both things definitely worth doing. Funchal is really a beautiful place. It's was our first time to Maderia but was really impressed how much money has been invested in the island. It is one of the cleanest places we have visited. My wife and two kids, aged 3 and 8 will definitely return to the hotel in the near future. The hotel staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble. Everything is about attention to detail with this hotel. Thanks for a fabulous stay.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Margarida Caldeira, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2023

Dear Mrs. MadelijnM,

On behalf of our entire team at Pestana Grand, we would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback. Your opinion is crucial for us to continue improving our service and anticipate our Guests' needs.

It was a real pleasure for us to have you as our Guest, and we look forward to welcoming you again at Pestana Grand.

Best regards,
Gilberto Gouveia
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2023

Fabulous friendly and relaxing hotel in a great location. Ideal for easy access for the local buses into Funchal and other villages Fantastic staff who are very obliging
Great choice of food and particularly the Italian restaurant
The staff work very hard and nothing is too much trouble.
Lovely spacious room kept lovely and clean by the housekeeping staff on a daily basis.
Would definitely recommend this hotel for couples and families wanting a relaxing break. This was our 3rd visit and will be returning again soon.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 78heatherl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Margarida Caldeira, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2023

Dear Mr./Mrs. 78heatherl,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay at Pestana Grand. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the experience and our team's dedicated, attentive, and professional service. Your comments make us proud and serve as an incentive for continuously improving our service and striving for excellence.

It was a great pleasure for us to welcome you as our Guest. We would like to thank you for staying at Pestana Grand, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards,
Gilberto Gouveia
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2023

Once again the Pestana Grand did not disappoint!!! The Hotel and all the Staff are wonderful it is just like going home returning to the Grand!! We have just booked up again for next year!! Mr Reay chooses to spend his birthday there each year and my goodness do they make it special, Champagne for breakfast, Bucket of Champagne and birthday card from the hotel and staff in our room, and in the evening birthday cake with candles and all the staff sang Happy Birthday - what more could you ask for! Beautiful location, hotel and staff. Thanks once again - see you all next year!

Room tip: Just go and enjoy the whole experience the gardens are beautiful as well as the sea view/
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank reaybart
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Margarida Caldeira, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2023

Dear Mr./Mrs. reaybart,

We were delighted to hear that your recent stay at Pestana Grand was delightful and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Our team would like to thank you for your very kind feedback. It was a pleasure to be your home for some time in such special occassion of celebration.

Many thanks for choosing Pestana Grand for your holiday. We look forward to hosting you again next year at our hotel.

Kind regards,
Gilberto Gouveia
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews