We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Lol.travel
RM 1,037
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Al Mak
Ithaca, Greece
Faded Glory , fantastic staff and location in need of updating,
1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Nov 2023via mobile
The staff deserve 10/10 for making this Hotel a pleasant stay. They were all excellent and a credit to any hotel.

The food in the specialist restaurant of which there are 4 are ok, the main buffet restaurant is poor relying on pre cooked food heavy on onions with no fresh cooked options in the evening.
For those on 1/2 board etc it’s just not what you would expect at this level of star rating with the drinks being excessively expensive.

The rooms are immaculate but dated. The interior of the hotel is again dated. The carpets on the corridor were worn and separating at the seams. The internal water features were drained and in poor repair.
The out door pools were a major disappointment and all were freezing, actually colder than the sea!. And it was 24* hot all week in clear sky sunshine. The pools were effectively empty all week and everyone had the same moan, some were quite vocal in reception as the web site clearly states they are tepid not freezing ice pits.
The pool seating area is divided 50/50 with smoking areas - with the main pool seating having the whole of the smoking area.
The interior pool was in poor shape, with missing tiles crudely filled in with grout and below brochure temperature. The jacuzzi was small and grubby.
The evening entertainment consisted of a sole female valiantly singing to recorded backing music like a karaoke performance.

The Management at this hotel need to up their game and get on top of the updating and facilities before it loses whatever rating it has.
I am sorry to appear harsh but changes need to be made as this should be a flagship hotel with its fantastic location.
Date of stay: November 2023
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
RM 950
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    RM 947
3.0 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Terraço com vista sobre a cidade | Rooftop with city overview
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.8 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.6 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
1.8 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
0.3 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 1,452
  • Priceline
1.8 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 1,477
  • travelup.com
0.8 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
RM 1,243
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Hotel Website
    RM 969
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Pool
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Lol.travel
    RM 691
  • Algotels
1.6 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Sao Martinho
Reviews (3,445)
Filter reviews
3,445 results
Traveller rating
2,251
859
260
49
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,251
859
260
49
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view lovely hotel indoor pool courtesy bus glass of madeira wine forum shopping centre happy hour salt water half board hotel restaurants local restaurants evening entertainment tea and coffee pool towels steam room time share relaxing holiday
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 3,445 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2023

This hotel was excellent.

There are 1 and 2 star reviews here on TA - I do not recognise the picture in these reviews - all I can say is that the more spelling mistakes I see in a review, the less I value it. (I mean - you expect the hotel to be so perfect in every respect, the least you could do is exercise the same level of care and attention in your review. How can you expect high standards elsewhere when you don't hold yourself to the same level?)

From the moment we walked in we felt welcome. The check-in was very simple and efficient. We arrived quite late, and they'd thought to have a tray of cold food sent up to our room for us. Thank you!

There is an underground car-park free for guests (useful with a hire car) and whilst we were there it was not too busy at any point.

The Wifi is easy to connect to and pretty fast. It did tend to drop out quite a bit when in the main bar area, but otherwise it was problem-free.

The pools and areas are excellent - perhaps it would be nice to have one of the outdoor pools slightly heated - they could be cold. The little gym is fine - like most hotel gyms its not exactly a full health-club, but it allows you to keep up most of your workout routine.

Restaurants - really good. The buffet for breakfast and evening meal was excellent - very well presented, maintained, and huge choice. That includes for vegetarians, with the slight caveat that it would have been nice to have vegetarian hot main meals for dinner, although with the very wide salad range, no-one is short of choice.

The three special restaurants (Madeiran, Italian, and Moroccan) were also great, and although you have to book in advance, there's no limitation on how many times you can go. Vegetarians here generally have to ask, but then there are plenty of options.

The staff in all the restaurants were particularly friendly and good at what they do.

The room was nice, and comfortable. We had a double room with an extra bed (to make it a family room) - perhaps it was a little small for that given that it is a 5-star, but it was by no means cramped and if you were just a couple in that, then you'd be fine. The room housekeeping was good. A small criticism is that although there was a leaflet saying that soft drinks in the minibar would be replaced (for free) this wasn't done - I don't know if we needed to specifically ask. It wasn't a problem for us (or we would have asked) but it would be nice to have had that happen automatically.

Point of criticism - we seemed to spend a little longer waiting for lifts than would be ideal - there seemed to be one lift out of operation although no signage to that effect, and the lifts were a little under-sized - quite cramped when more than three people were in.

In many ways the experience of a hotel like this can be affected by the number of people, and while we were here, it didn't seem overly full - perfect for us but may not always be like that.

The area is ok - it's a little out of Funchal (about 2 miles walk - so 40 minutes) to get into the centre, and about 0.5 mile the other way to get to the nearest beach where there are a couple of great beach bars. There are also a couple of nice restaurants in that direction if you want an alternative to eating in the hotel once or twice. If you have a hire car, the location is easy enough to get to and from and close enough to the main highway, so you can easily tour the island from here.

Overall, I was very happy here - we had a great week relaxing here, and I'd be more than happy to come again.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Margarida Caldeira, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2023

Dear Mr. Paul M,

On behalf of the entire team at Pestana Grand, we would like to thank you for your very kind feedback and for your valuable time dedicated in writing such detailed review. We are very proud and thankful.

It is delightful for us to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and that we could help you create beautiful memories.

We look forward to hosting you again soon at our hotel!

Warm regards,
Gilberto Gouveia
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2023

Although listed as 5 star, I would rate it as a 3 star, as others have stated its tired, flaking paint and broken conrete around the pool, rooms are dated and bathroom door had some water damage, bathroom tap dripping, maintenence man came and shrugged and left again, no repair. Food was bitterly disapointing, thought it catered for German tastes moe than British, probably a refelection on the guest ratio, although you have a choice of restraunt to dine in, bottle of water (still) 5 euros, Don Perinon 273 euro (no me neither) Bins near lifts left full from one day to another. Sunbeds and pool umbrellas are really past there best. Cheap loo roll, towels really past there best, beds not the best and pillows lumpy.

Room tip: Had a pool, sea view room, great except for hotel staff dragging tables and umbrellas around at 7am for breakfast.
Date of stay: October 2023
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ijns2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Margarida Caldeira, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2023

Dear Mr. Ian J,

We would like to thank you for giving us your honest opinion on your stay. Unfortunately, we did not satisfy all your expectations.

We would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused. We have taken note of all the issues mentioned so that improvements can be made in the short-term.

We appreciate that you chose Pestana Grand for your stay. We hope you will give us another opportunity to demonstrate our high service standards and regain your trust during your next visit.

Kind regards,
Gilberto Gouveia
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2023

Indoor facility useless pool cold jacuzzi cold sauna cold not fit for purpose bar happy hour no cocktails pointless restaurant below par no vegetarian selection resort location a bit far and those with mobility will struggle

Date of stay: October 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Thank rrb115
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Margarida Caldeira, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2023

Dear Mr./Mrs. rrb115,

We would like to thank you for giving us your honest opinion on your stay. Unfortunately, we did not satisfy all your expectations.

We would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused. We have taken note of all the issues mentioned so that improvements can be made in the short-term.
We would like to inform that the outdoor is kept at ambiance temperature during all year.
Regarding the indoor pool: On 5 January 2023, the Corporate Sustainability Reporting Directive (CSRD) entered into force In the European Union(EU). This new directive modernises and strengthens the rules concerning the social and environmental information that companies have to report. In compliance to the Environmental, Social and Governance(ESG), a Pestana Hotel Group policy has been established to limit the swimming pool heating at all our properties. All efforts are in place to adjust these hours, as the extra energy required to have such equipment on an ongoing basis, would contempt the respective ESG policy. We trust that you will understand the purpose of this EU environmental directive, resting assured that we will do our outmost efforts to continue providing a most comfortable holiday with us.
We do have an à la carte vegetarian menu that can be asked at any restaurant, even at the buffet, I'm sorry if this was not clear for you.
The location of our hotel is correctly marked and all guests can see our correct location before visiting us. I'm sorry if our location was not to your satisfaction.

We appreciate that you chose Pestana Grand for your stay. We hope you will give us another opportunity to demonstrate our high service standards and regain your trust during your next visit.

Kind regards,
Gilberto Gouveia
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2023 via mobile

Excellent location, very comfortable rooms and most importantly, very warm, friendly and helpful staff. The only area of improvement could be the food - it is fairly repetitive when one is staying for a week. I could not book a single massage in the entire week that I was there as they were busy.

Room tip: Book a massage in advance so that you are not disappointed.
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 93Hawkeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Margarida Caldeira, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2023

Dear Mr./Mrs. 93Hawkeye,

On behalf of our entire team at Pestana Grand, we would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback. Your opinion is crucial for us to continue improving our service and anticipate our Guests' needs.

It was a real pleasure for us to have you as our Guest, and we look forward to welcoming you again at Pestana Grand.

Best regards,
Gilberto Gouveia
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2023

As my wife works for an International airline we have been and stayed in some fantastic hotels and countries around the world such as Mauritius, St Lucia, Antigua, Spain and many more. This hotel is fantastic. The buffet food is hot with lots of choice. You can exchange the buffet restaurant for the three a la carte restaurants. The hotel has two different happy hours everyday, buy one-get-one free, but it doesn't include cocktails or hot drinks. The room, lobby, restaurants, gardens and pool area are all immaculately clean. About 5 mins walk from the hotel is a super modern shopping centre with shops such as H&M, Zara and JD sports. McDonald's and a large supermarket can be found in there also. Outside the hotel there is a bus stop, it's €1.95 per person per trip to Funchal, about 15 mins or you can also walk which takes about 40 mins. You can walk the main road or the coastal path. The bus you get on is the number 2 green line. We took a trip to the botanical gardens but needed to take the two cable cars. We also went in the Ronaldo Museum. Both things definitely worth doing. Funchal is really a beautiful place. It's was our first time to Maderia but was really impressed how much money has been invested in the island. It is one of the cleanest places we have visited. My wife and two kids, aged 3 and 8 will definitely return to the hotel in the near future. The hotel staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble. Everything is about attention to detail with this hotel. Thanks for a fabulous stay.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Margarida Caldeira, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2023

Dear Mrs. MadelijnM,

On behalf of our entire team at Pestana Grand, we would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback. Your opinion is crucial for us to continue improving our service and anticipate our Guests' needs.

It was a real pleasure for us to have you as our Guest, and we look forward to welcoming you again at Pestana Grand.

Best regards,
Gilberto Gouveia
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews