We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Expedia.com
RM 1,075
Fully refundable before Fri, 1 Mar
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Vonnie S
1
Great stay, great location, great staff
Reviewed 3 Dec 2023
Really lovely ( 4 week ) stay last month at the Pestana Grand. The hotel itself has everything you could want and its location excellent for those who don’t want to be right in Funchal. Walking both directions on the coast promenade was great and buses excellent for town & excursions. Took a whole day safari trip, visiting the west of the island and buses to east and botanical & also tropical gardens. The latter was my favourite. Also did the Valley of the Nuns excursion which was v good.

Used the outdoor pool most mornings before breakfast and although v cold, the sunrise more than made up for it. The gym was ok but no Wi-Fi and some equipment not working too well. The buffet v good - we stuck to salads & fish most nights. The other restaurants good too but the menu doesn’t change week to week so we actually found the buffet our preference. We did venture to the sister hotel Mirimar on 2nd last night and it was truly fabulous! Def worth the bus trip if you’re there for more than a week. We found a lovely wee restaurant around the far side of the harbour front in Camera de lobos called Minerva - excellent.

Finally the staff were exceptional! Big shout out to Carlos at breakfast and Hugo & David at the bar, plus Barbara the fitness class instructor. Pilates, core & yoga on floor 7 or in the outside studio if not too hot & sunny. Cheers guys!

Date of stay: November 2023
Nearby Hotels
Terraço com vista sobre a cidade | Rooftop with city overview
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.8 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.6 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
1.8 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
3.0 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
eDreams
    4.0 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
    Booking.com
    • Agoda.com
    0.3 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
    Booking.com
    • Agoda.com
    2.7 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
    Five Elements Madeira
    Booking.com
    • Agoda.com
    3.7 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
    Free Wifi
    Booking.com
    • Agoda.com
    3.9 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
    Booking.com
    RM 1,053
    Fully refundable
    • Priceline
    • travelup.com
      RM 860
    • Hotels.com
      RM 1,228
    1.8 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Sao Martinho
    Reviews (3,418)
    Filter reviews
    3,418 results
    Traveller rating
    2,229
    855
    259
    49
    26
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    2,229
    855
    259
    49
    26
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews sea view lovely hotel indoor pool courtesy bus glass of madeira wine forum shopping centre happy hour salt water half board hotel restaurants local restaurants evening entertainment tea and coffee pool towels steam room time share relaxing holiday
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    15 - 20 of 3,418 reviews
    Reviewed 2 December 2023

    The facilities are beautiful and complete and the staff particularly attentive (Carmina! Joao!). A very special experience. Easy to reach a variety of possible activities from the location, accessible by bus and walking.

    Date of stay: November 2023
    Trip type: Travelled solo
    Thank Melanie B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Margarida Caldeira, Proprietário at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2023

    Dear Mr./Mrs. mlb55,

    Thank you for your feedback on your stay at Pestana Grand. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the experience and our team's dedicated, attentive, and professional service. Your comments make us proud and serve as an incentive for continuously improving our service and striving for excellence.

    It was a great pleasure for us to welcome you as our Guest. We would like to thank you for staying at Pestana Grand, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

    Best regards,
    Gilberto Gouveia
    Hotel Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 17 November 2023 via mobile

    The staff deserve 10/10 for making this Hotel a pleasant stay. They were all excellent and a credit to any hotel.

    The food in the specialist restaurant of which there are 4 are ok, the main buffet restaurant is poor relying on pre cooked food heavy on onions with no fresh cooked options in the evening.
    For those on 1/2 board etc it’s just not what you would expect at this level of star rating with the drinks being excessively expensive.

    The rooms are immaculate but dated. The interior of the hotel is again dated. The carpets on the corridor were worn and separating at the seams. The internal water features were drained and in poor repair.
    The out door pools were a major disappointment and all were freezing, actually colder than the sea!. And it was 24* hot all week in clear sky sunshine. The pools were effectively empty all week and everyone had the same moan, some were quite vocal in reception as the web site clearly states they are tepid not freezing ice pits.
    The pool seating area is divided 50/50 with smoking areas - with the main pool seating having the whole of the smoking area.
    The interior pool was in poor shape, with missing tiles crudely filled in with grout and below brochure temperature. The jacuzzi was small and grubby.
    The evening entertainment consisted of a sole female valiantly singing to recorded backing music like a karaoke performance.

    The Management at this hotel need to up their game and get on top of the updating and facilities before it loses whatever rating it has.
    I am sorry to appear harsh but changes need to be made as this should be a flagship hotel with its fantastic location.

    Room tip: The pools are freezing so be prepared- virtually unusable
    Date of stay: November 2023
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    1  Thank 443alm
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Margarida Caldeira, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2023

    Dear Mr./Mrs. 443alm,

    We would like to thank you for giving us your opinion on your stay. Unfortunately, we did not satisfy your expectations. We have tried to find you in our system but were unable to find you by the name "Al Mak".

    We were surprised by this comments as we are extremely strict with regards to the quality of service provided to our customers. Normally when we have any comment regarding our service not being excellent, our Guest Service Team gets in contact with the guest and tries to adapt the service to the guest's needs and preferences. Unfortunately we didn't receive your comments while you were staying with us.

    Nevertheless. we have taken good note of all the issues mentioned and the head of departments will take action wherever necessary. Our goal is to proportionate the best holiday experience to all our guests and we deeply regret all the inconveniences you have been through.

    We appreciate that you chose Pestana Grand for your stay. We hope you will give us another opportunity to demonstrate our high service standards and regain your trust during your next visit.

    Kind regards,

    Gilberto Gouveia
    Hotel Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 5 November 2023

    This hotel was excellent.

    There are 1 and 2 star reviews here on TA - I do not recognise the picture in these reviews - all I can say is that the more spelling mistakes I see in a review, the less I value it. (I mean - you expect the hotel to be so perfect in every respect, the least you could do is exercise the same level of care and attention in your review. How can you expect high standards elsewhere when you don't hold yourself to the same level?)

    From the moment we walked in we felt welcome. The check-in was very simple and efficient. We arrived quite late, and they'd thought to have a tray of cold food sent up to our room for us. Thank you!

    There is an underground car-park free for guests (useful with a hire car) and whilst we were there it was not too busy at any point.

    The Wifi is easy to connect to and pretty fast. It did tend to drop out quite a bit when in the main bar area, but otherwise it was problem-free.

    The pools and areas are excellent - perhaps it would be nice to have one of the outdoor pools slightly heated - they could be cold. The little gym is fine - like most hotel gyms its not exactly a full health-club, but it allows you to keep up most of your workout routine.

    Restaurants - really good. The buffet for breakfast and evening meal was excellent - very well presented, maintained, and huge choice. That includes for vegetarians, with the slight caveat that it would have been nice to have vegetarian hot main meals for dinner, although with the very wide salad range, no-one is short of choice.

    The three special restaurants (Madeiran, Italian, and Moroccan) were also great, and although you have to book in advance, there's no limitation on how many times you can go. Vegetarians here generally have to ask, but then there are plenty of options.

    The staff in all the restaurants were particularly friendly and good at what they do.

    The room was nice, and comfortable. We had a double room with an extra bed (to make it a family room) - perhaps it was a little small for that given that it is a 5-star, but it was by no means cramped and if you were just a couple in that, then you'd be fine. The room housekeeping was good. A small criticism is that although there was a leaflet saying that soft drinks in the minibar would be replaced (for free) this wasn't done - I don't know if we needed to specifically ask. It wasn't a problem for us (or we would have asked) but it would be nice to have had that happen automatically.

    Point of criticism - we seemed to spend a little longer waiting for lifts than would be ideal - there seemed to be one lift out of operation although no signage to that effect, and the lifts were a little under-sized - quite cramped when more than three people were in.

    In many ways the experience of a hotel like this can be affected by the number of people, and while we were here, it didn't seem overly full - perfect for us but may not always be like that.

    The area is ok - it's a little out of Funchal (about 2 miles walk - so 40 minutes) to get into the centre, and about 0.5 mile the other way to get to the nearest beach where there are a couple of great beach bars. There are also a couple of nice restaurants in that direction if you want an alternative to eating in the hotel once or twice. If you have a hire car, the location is easy enough to get to and from and close enough to the main highway, so you can easily tour the island from here.

    Overall, I was very happy here - we had a great week relaxing here, and I'd be more than happy to come again.

    Date of stay: November 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    1  Thank Paul M
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Margarida Caldeira, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2023

    Dear Mr. Paul M,

    On behalf of the entire team at Pestana Grand, we would like to thank you for your very kind feedback and for your valuable time dedicated in writing such detailed review. We are very proud and thankful.

    It is delightful for us to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and that we could help you create beautiful memories.

    We look forward to hosting you again soon at our hotel!

    Warm regards,
    Gilberto Gouveia
    Hotel Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 5 November 2023

    Although listed as 5 star, I would rate it as a 3 star, as others have stated its tired, flaking paint and broken conrete around the pool, rooms are dated and bathroom door had some water damage, bathroom tap dripping, maintenence man came and shrugged and left again, no repair. Food was bitterly disapointing, thought it catered for German tastes moe than British, probably a refelection on the guest ratio, although you have a choice of restraunt to dine in, bottle of water (still) 5 euros, Don Perinon 273 euro (no me neither) Bins near lifts left full from one day to another. Sunbeds and pool umbrellas are really past there best. Cheap loo roll, towels really past there best, beds not the best and pillows lumpy.

    Room tip: Had a pool, sea view room, great except for hotel staff dragging tables and umbrellas around at 7am for breakfast.
    Date of stay: October 2023
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank Ijns2012
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Margarida Caldeira, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2023

    Dear Mr. Ian J,

    We would like to thank you for giving us your honest opinion on your stay. Unfortunately, we did not satisfy all your expectations.

    We would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused. We have taken note of all the issues mentioned so that improvements can be made in the short-term.

    We appreciate that you chose Pestana Grand for your stay. We hope you will give us another opportunity to demonstrate our high service standards and regain your trust during your next visit.

    Kind regards,
    Gilberto Gouveia
    Hotel Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 3 November 2023

    Indoor facility useless pool cold jacuzzi cold sauna cold not fit for purpose bar happy hour no cocktails pointless restaurant below par no vegetarian selection resort location a bit far and those with mobility will struggle

    Date of stay: October 2023
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with RCI
    Thank rrb115
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Margarida Caldeira, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2023

    Dear Mr./Mrs. rrb115,

    We would like to thank you for giving us your honest opinion on your stay. Unfortunately, we did not satisfy all your expectations.

    We would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused. We have taken note of all the issues mentioned so that improvements can be made in the short-term.
    We would like to inform that the outdoor is kept at ambiance temperature during all year.
    Regarding the indoor pool: On 5 January 2023, the Corporate Sustainability Reporting Directive (CSRD) entered into force In the European Union(EU). This new directive modernises and strengthens the rules concerning the social and environmental information that companies have to report. In compliance to the Environmental, Social and Governance(ESG), a Pestana Hotel Group policy has been established to limit the swimming pool heating at all our properties. All efforts are in place to adjust these hours, as the extra energy required to have such equipment on an ongoing basis, would contempt the respective ESG policy. We trust that you will understand the purpose of this EU environmental directive, resting assured that we will do our outmost efforts to continue providing a most comfortable holiday with us.
    We do have an à la carte vegetarian menu that can be asked at any restaurant, even at the buffet, I'm sorry if this was not clear for you.
    The location of our hotel is correctly marked and all guests can see our correct location before visiting us. I'm sorry if our location was not to your satisfaction.

    We appreciate that you chose Pestana Grand for your stay. We hope you will give us another opportunity to demonstrate our high service standards and regain your trust during your next visit.

    Kind regards,
    Gilberto Gouveia
    Hotel Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews