We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
RM 1,000
Fully refundable before Thu, 30 May
Lol.travel
RM 820
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Brigita B
Lisbon, Portugal

If you stay in Madeira, you stay here!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 Apr 2024
This place is a total gem! Seriously, the location alone is worth it, but what really makes the place stand out is the staff. They're not just amazing; they go above and beyond to help out, making you feel super welcome and taken care of from the moment you check in. If you're looking for a chill spot with top-notch service, this is your place. The ocean views are just the cherry on top!
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sofia Freitas, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this review
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Mr./Mrs. 293brigitab,

On behalf of our entire team at Pestana Grand, we would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback. Your opinion is crucial for us to continue improving our service and anticipate our Guests' needs.

It was a real pleasure for us to have you as our Guest, and we look forward to welcoming you again at Pestana Grand.

Best regards,
Gilberto Gouveia
Hotel Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
1.8 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
0.3 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Booking.com
RM 753
  • Agoda.com
3.9 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    RM 1,359
  • Lol.travel
    RM 956
  • Hotels.com
    RM 1,407
1.8 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
RM 1,130
Fully refundable
  • travelup.com
    RM 953
  • Lol.travel
    RM 893
  • Trip.com
    RM 1,038
0.8 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
RM 825
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
    RM 786
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 851
  • Trip.com
    RM 786
1.7 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    RM 851
  • Lol.travel
    RM 703
  • Hotels.com
    RM 931
0.6 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
RM 1,029
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
    RM 1,029
  • Agoda.com
    RM 1,029
  • Priceline
    RM 1,029
1.6 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
    RM 544
  • Vio.com
    RM 544
0.4 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Pool
Restaurant
Booking.com
RM 596
Fully refundable
  • StayForLong
    RM 588
  • Lol.travel
    RM 493
  • Agoda.com
    RM 564
0.6 km from Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Pool
Beachfront
View more hotels in Sao Martinho
Reviews (3,453)
Filter reviews
3,453 results
Traveller rating
2,255
863
260
49
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,255
863
260
49
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view lovely hotel indoor pool courtesy bus glass of madeira wine forum shopping centre happy hour salt water half board hotel restaurants local restaurants evening entertainment tea and coffee pool towels steam room time share relaxing holiday
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 3,453 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2024

When we eventually arrived as were diverted via Tenerife due to strong winds, the welcome at 9.00 pm was very good. The lady receptionist who did the cinderalla shift told us to go straight to dinner and all sorted afterwards. A lovely room, 1312, a bottle of sparkling wine on our 50 wedding anniversary and the lady cleaners decorated our room too, one of which was born in 1974. Hotel is in a beautiful position, lovely gardens and views. 7 mins walk from the Forum shopping centre which is great for coffees, shopping etc. just outside is the Opan coffee shop, excellent, good friendly people and great food and coffee. Caught the bus 02 into Funchal, stops just outside the hotel, takes about 20 mins, cost each just under €2 single fare. Prices dearer in Funchal as expect to see a couple of cruise ships whilst in there. Look for the gate from the hotel gardens on to the promenade walk and go either way, towards the lido you’d have a steep hill to go up so we preferred walked towards the beach with the black sand the other way. Great supermarket with bakery for snacks if needed and wine within the forum. Met some brilliant people, such a clean island and you felt safe too. Book early and you’ll into the alternative restaurants too, we tried both the Italian and the Moroccan and both good. Didn’t like the coffee in the hotel, very strong. Entertainment is good, especially the lady on the Thursday night, 28/3, sorry didn’t get her name. Bar staff very attentive too. All in all even though we had some not so good weather, gusting winds, the gardens are beautiful and we had a very enjoyable stay.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Foye1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sofia Freitas, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Mr./Mrs. Foye1,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay at Pestana Grand. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the experience and our team's dedicated, attentive, and professional service. Your comments make us proud and serve as an incentive for continuously improving our service and striving for excellence.
We would like to thank you once more for choosing Pestana Grand Hotel to celebrate such special occasion!

It was a great pleasure for us to welcome you as our Guest and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards,
Gilberto Gouveia
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2024

Our flight was cancelled and SATA airlines booked us at the Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort where we spent two nights in room #1122.

What we liked:

- Very friendly and professional staff; special thanks to Jozeeny and other staff members!
- Location right by the ocean.
- Great swimming pool.
- Decent and clean gym.
- Clean hotel overall.
- Spacious room and balcony overlooking the ocean.
- Forum shopping mall nearby.

What we didn't like:

- Food was not the tastiest (3.5/5.0); we found that they emphasized quantity rather than quality. As a comparison, we ate much better at the smaller Star Inn hotel in Lisbon.
- Intruding pigeons flying across the restaurant every now and then; these birds are notorious to carry nasty diseases and could potentially contaminate food and other items.
- Sink and bathtub were clogged.
- Mattresses and pillows need to be replaced.
- Retro style of room; wallpaper and varnished door/floor mouldings. It looks like the 1970's.. But that's just a personal opinion.
- Evening entertainment in the lobby on floor level -1 could be improved; judging by people's lack of attention and enthusiasm around us.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sofia Freitas, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Mr. Steve C,

On behalf of our entire team at Pestana Grand, we would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback. Your opinion is crucial for us to continue improving our service and anticipate our Guests' needs.

We are so Happy to hear you found our staff (specialy Jozeeny) to be very friendly and professional. This gives our team extra motivation to continue an excellent service.

We took good note of your comments and they have been discussed in our weekly meeting with the Head of Deprtments.

It was a real pleasure for us to have you as our Guest, and we look forward to welcoming you again at Pestana Grand.

Best regards,
Gilberto Gouveia
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2024

Wonderful Hotel.
The staff are attentive and helpful as soon as you step through the doors of the large and spacious reception. We could look out to the lovely garden's and the sea beyond.
The Restaurant was also spacious. Food was tremendous. Lots of choices all excellent. We are Vegetarian. When the Head waiter found out our choice. He advised the Chef and we were treated to Vegetarian Specials. Wonderful!
Our room was great. We paid extra for a balcony. It really was worth it. Excellent views down to the pristine gardens and swimming pool.Blue sea and horizon beyond.
Genuinely could not fault any of the Hotel for cleanliness. And yes, again. Space. Openness to relax and chill.
Lovely walk's along seafront. Above but safe from the sea. Also away from the main roads.
Would we go back. Yes. One day.
Lin & Steve.
Ps would have enjoyed a choice of Beer. Bass would be nice!!
But you can't have everything.
We came close.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sofia Freitas, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Lin and Steve,
Thank you very much for your feedback on your stay at Pestana Grand. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the experience and our team's dedicated, attentive, and professional service. Your comments make us proud and serve as an incentive for continuously improving our service and striving for excellence.

It was a great pleasure for us to welcome you as our Guest. We would like to thank you for staying at Pestana Grand, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards,
Gilberto Gouveia
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2024

This hotel makes your shoulders slope.

Second time we’ve stayed here as a family of 3.

Service very good, rooms great, food very good but the gardens, vista and setting make this a wonderful hotel to relax in.

Two happy hours are well timed at pre dinner and 21.30 to 22.30.

We stay half board and take advantage of the dining choices to eat at the Miramar hotel near Funchal. The Adega & Mira Mar A La Carte are outstanding. Special regards to Claudia who is a star.

Pool area lovely and calm. Even at 19c you need sun cream.

We said the same thing again on this holiday - where is everyone as the hotel is never crowded.

One criticism though - the entertainment is poor and as such the bar in the evening is quiet- last night the pianist literally gave up and stopped playing 30 mins early. Provide good entertainment and more will take evening drinks.

Top tip 1 - take advantage of the Pestana card for 10% off drinks outside of happy hour.

Top tip 2 - eat at the Miramar!

Top tip 3 - double Poncha in Camara de Lobos- that will change the perspective of your day!!

We’ll definitely be back again.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Margarida Caldeira, Proprietário at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2024

Dear Mrs. Pat B,

We were delighted to hear that your recent stay at Pestana Grand was delightful and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Our team would like to thank you for your very kind feedback.

Many thanks for choosing Pestana Grand for your holiday. We look forward to hosting you again soon at our hotel.

Kind regards,
Gilberto Gouveia
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2024

An absolutely fantastic resort in such a beautiful island. Staff were lovely and the food was great. The hotel room was up to standard too. Will definitely be recommending this place to anyone wanting to visit Madeira! The views are phenomenal and breath-taking; I can’t wait to come back!

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Margarida Caldeira, Proprietário at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2024

Dear Mrs. Stephanie S,

We were delighted to hear that your recent stay at Pestana Grand was delightful and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Our team would like to thank you for your very kind feedback.

Many thanks for choosing Pestana Grand for your holiday. We look forward to hosting you again soon at our hotel.

Kind regards,
Gilberto Gouveia
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews