We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Home Valley Station
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Welcoming, relaxed, friendly, helpful.....thankyou so much to all of the staff for an incredible stay at Home Valley Station. There was fresh drinking water available at all times, and every question was met with a smile and an answer, nothing was too much trouble for them.

The tents were clean, the pool was open for use, the shower facilities were excellent and the food was beautiful.

The downside? - We were there for 1 night and could have happily stayed for a few more.

Thankyou again for a great stay

:o) :o) :o)

Room Tip: we stayed in the eco tents but the campsite also looked fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deb c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 205 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

Unfortunately we only stayed 1 night, I would have preferred 2 nights here and 1 night at Emma Gorge. With the exception of the cost of the new tyre as a result of the puncture on the Gibb, I really can't speak highly enough about Home Valley. The food and staff were great, the rooms were a real surprise probably the most comfortable beds that we stayed in during our 16 night trip. I also have to say that the concept of the station as a place to teach hospitality to indigenous people is great and I feel they are doing a great job. The whole place just had a really nice feel. Our only disappointment was the huge fee the local tyre guy charged to replace a shredded tyre, the final bill was 30% more than his quote, 30% more than the tyre guy at the other end of the Gibb and 50% more than the tyre guy in Kununurra, I realise it is a remote location but he needs to think about it. Anyway as I say we only regret not staying longer so we could have had a proper tour of the station (its one of the options).

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pugwash73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We stayed in the Homestead Rooms. King size beds, air-conditioning, ceiling fans, etc. Great ensuite with fluffy towels and extra towels for the private pool for guests staying in the accommodation. Everything was spotlessly clean. The restaurant's food was pricey (but that was expected because of the remote location). The meals were great and service too!
The only thing I could complain about is the price of excursions from Station.I would totally recommend HomeValley Station.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonnie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Due for a quiet day after some heavy driving, and got it here. Room was well planned, comfortable, and well furnished (no TV - thank goodness - we were on an Outback Experience!!). Enjoyed a walk along the river, and a good meal at the restaurant listening to the live entertainment - guitars and singer: a bonus. All good. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Our party of 8 spent two great days at Home Valley Station and environs. The accommodation units were well appointed and comfortable and the layout and ambience were a welcome relief from the ruggedness of the Gibb River Road.

Our experience could have been perfect except for one individual: the Restaurant Manager Glenn. This guy was incredibly unhelpful and rude, especially on our second night there. Unfortunately we were unaware of the requirement to book for dinner and Glenn made us very unwelcome when we arrived without a booking, even though the venue was almost empty when we arrived (we were starved after walking all day and wanted to eat early).

He initially tried to send us away completely, but after some discussion, he reluctantly agreed that we could sit on some tables out the back, outside the restaurant. Because we had been there the previous night we knew what we wanted from the menu and were ready to order immediately, but Glenn refused to let the wait staff take our order for over an hour. We all agreed that it was the worst service we had received in memory.

On the positive side, they had a great singer (Dave Birch) who kept us entertained and our waitstaff Ester, Simone and Kendall could not have been better.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank riverboatmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kununurra hotels
97.3 km away
Freshwater East Kimberley Apartments
91.4 km away
The Berkeley River
The Berkeley River
#2 of 17 in Kununurra
140 reviews
97.4 km away
El Questro The Station
El Questro The Station
#7 of 17 in Kununurra
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
98 km away
Lakeside Resort Kununurra
Lakeside Resort Kununurra
#5 of 10 in Kununurra
169 reviews
96.7 km away
Ivanhoe Village Caravan Resort
30.2 km away
El Questro Homestead
El Questro Homestead
#5 of 17 in Kununurra
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Valley Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Valley Station

Address: Gibb River Road, Kununurra, Western Australia 6743, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Kununurra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Kununurra
Price Range: RM478 - RM1,548 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Home Valley Station 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Home Valley Station we pride ourselves on providing guests with the ultimate Australian outback experience. Accommodation across the Station provides options for travellers of all preferences - from those who prefer their rugged outback adventure with a twist of luxury to those seeking a more intimate experience. Our spacious Grass Castles on idyllic Bindoola Creek are lavishly appointed, providing guests with the ultimate in outback lodging. Homestead Guesthouse Rooms provide a comfortable retreat and are perfect for couples and families. The safari-style Eco Tents, located in a quiet bush setting, will impress those seeking to connect with nature. Those wishing to roll out a swag under the stars are invited to enjoy the Gibb River Road's best camping facilities at our Homestead and the picture perfect Bindoola River Bush Camp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Home Valley Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home Valley Station Hotel Kununurra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing