We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (924)
Filter reviews
924 results
Traveller rating
494
282
94
31
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
494
282
94
31
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barbrigadiers barfree punchveranda roomsorbetcolonial styleother guestseach eveningcontinental breakfasthotel restaurantbarramundismall kitchenetteacross the roadthe general managerceiling fanrelaxing staylovely room
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 924 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2018 via mobile

My wife and I spent three nights at the Reef House and pretty much everything was done well... well appointed room, great food, attentive staff...and an ideal central location. In addition there were nice touches such as the Brigadiers Bar, free bikes, yoga and car parking.

The weather could have been kinder and perhaps a few areas could be refreshed...but overall a wonderful experience.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank SBW09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne H, General Manager at The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2018

Dear SBW09,
Thank you so much for staying with us and posting such a nice review. Our Colonial Style Beach House is such an iconic place to escape to in Tropical North Queensland. We have worked really hard to make so many little touches inclusive of your stay with us. Our latest inclusion is our Aqua Yoga class instructed by our Luxury Concierge Geraldine. We host this complimentary class 3 days per week in our heated pool, I have tried it myself and really enjoyed the experaince !
Thank you again SBW09, we hope to welcome you back one day in the future.
Tropical Regards
Wayne Harris
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

As soon as we arrived, staff very helpful and welcoming. Small resort with a very relaxed atmosphere. Room lovely with fabulous large balcony (leafy green outlook) and tea making facilities. Free access to books, newspapers, dvds and board games. There were also bikes available free of charge. We were lucky to arrive in week prior to main school holidays so relatively quiet. Downsides - pool not heated and some noise from children. Ordered room service and the food came short after and was amazing. Would revisit. Overall was worth the price and one of the best hotel/ resort experiences I’ve ever had.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank lrya10310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne H, General Manager at The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2018

Dear Irya10310,
Thank you very much for staying with us a the Reef House in stunning Palm Cove and posting your Trip Advisor Review.
I am so pleased to know that you enjoyed your holiday with us and we really appreciate you taking the time to share your story with fellow Trip Advisor readers.
lrya10310, I am sorry that the pool was not heated during your stay however we have since been able to replace the pool heater with a brand new unit, thankfully the water is now being maintained at a tropical 30 degrees, a much more pleasant swimming temperature.
Thank you once again lrya10310, we are so pleased you decided to stay with us and we hope you have the opportunity to return one day in the future.
Tropical Regards
Wayne Harris
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

This couple spent nine days at Reef House and enjoyed it. The weather wasn't kind to us in our June-July visit but we relaxed well which was the purpose of the visit. Reef House staff were very helpful and the facilities very good including the pools.

Our room was a bit tired and needing a facelift but comfy nonetheless. The location is very central in Palm Cove and the complimentary access to bikes is handy, as is the Library area and complimentary punch at 5pm. Laundry was good too for our length of stay.

Our overall assessment - well worth considering as a relaxing stay option at Palm Cove.

Room Tip: Our veranda garden room was good but a little dark. It had a microwave etc but we'd have preferred one with self catering options.
Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne H, General Manager at The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2018

Dear Chris C,
Thank you very much for staying with us at the Reef House in stunning Palm Cove.
We really appreciate your decision to stay with us while visiting Tropical North Queensland. Your 9 night escape was certainly long enough to settle into the North Queensland way of life and begin to relax and unwind. I am very pleased to hear that staying in a hotel for this length of time was made easier by the inclusions and facilities we offer. Our Colonial Style beach house is older and has terrific character, heritage and traditions, this is what sets us apart from others.
Thank you again Chris C, we hoe to see you again one day in the future,
Tropical Regards
Wayne Harris
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2018 via mobile

We recently stayed for a long (rainy) weekend.
Prior to arriving Geraldine reached out and asked if there was anything she could help us with to make the stay enjoyable....I was able to book a spa treatment for our first day, which was amazing.
The staff were lovely, and always happy to help.
The style of the hotel is lovely with lots of tropical plants around the pools ( a little too cold to swim in for our taste)
Our only complaint was breakfast....we usually only have coffee, and had to pay for a barista made one, even though we had breakfast included in the package. We decided to go elsewhere for coffee after that, which was disappointing. If breakfast had been better, we would have rather stay at the hotel.
Our room was spacious, clean, but a little dated and we used our spa, which was great to sit in on a rainy afternoon.
Overall, it was another great trip to Palm Cove...relaxing...we will be back!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Freeneasy05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne H, General Manager at The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2018

Dear Freeneasy05,
Thank you very much for staying with us at the Reef House in Palm Cove, it was a please to have you staying with us again. Geraldine and I are very pleased to know that you will be back one day in the future. We are continuously trying to improve our breakfast so if you have any more specific feedback please let me know. I have not heard of any other Hotels including espresso coffee with breakfasts however if this is something we should do I am happy to consider it. In the past two weeks we have changed the variety of pastries and breads, included another cereal, added more condiments such as prunes, sunflower seeds and in the near future we intend to include smoked salmon as well. Perhaps you would be kind enough to drop Geraldine a note if you have more suggestions ?
We have also replaced the troublesome pool heater with a brand new unit and I am pleased to let you and other Trip Advisor readers know the water temperature is a tropical 30 degrees, guests and aqua yoga participants have never been happier.
Thank you very much once again Freeneasy05, we appreciate your review and hope to see you again,
Tropical Regards
Wayne Harris
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018

Very disappointed that the in room spa did not work due to a burnt out motor which was replaced on day three.
The heater in the heated swimming pool was also broken.
The drinks and candles with Norm were good fun and the degustation dinner excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank philip h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne H, General Manager at The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2018

Dear philip h,
Thank you very much for staying with us at the Reef House in stunning Palm Cove. I was certainly great to have you stay with us again and I am sorry we let you down in a couple of areas. Our nightly Brigadier Punch and Canapes is a tradition and we are very pleased that you took the opportunity to mix and mingle with other guests.
I am pleased to let you and future guests know that the pool heater is now working and heating the pool to a lovely 30 degrees, we too were disappointed we could not get it fixed as quickly as we liked however the brand new machine is now installed and doing a great job.
I am also very sorry we could not get your spa pump working immediately either, our initial testing indicated it was working however we did not realise the pump was run with out enough water causing the impella to break. I personally took the pump home on Friday night and returned it after repairs were completed on Saturday, I was determined to have the spa working for you again as soon as possible for your last night.
Thank you again philip h, is was great to have you staying with us again and we hope you will return again next year.
Please take care and have a great weekend.
Tropical Regards
Wayne Harris
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews