We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Comfort Inn Gold Rush(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$83
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$75/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

West Coaster Motel(Queenstown)
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Silver Hills Motel(Queenstown)
US$76
US$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Penghana Bed & Breakfast(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$121
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mt Lyell Anchorage(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$123
US$120
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$62
US$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Mt Lyell Motor Inn(Queenstown)
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (134)
Filter reviews
134 results
Traveller rating
23
46
36
18
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
46
36
18
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsamazing staircasebottle shopstair casetwo storiesfriday eveningwooden staircasedelicious lunchcharming hotelcountry pubcontinental breakfastin townno liftheritage listedold stylepasta dishesthe west coast wilderness railwaypleasant stay
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 134 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Stayed two nights last weekend in room 33. Room 33 is a small (3X3.5m) room with two sets of bunks and nothing else. 1 double powerpoint on either side of the room. Toilet and shower outside the door in the hall. Awesome shower pressure and basic bathroom but recently refurbished. Mattresses comfortable and appeared fairly new. Rooms included bedding and towels and a soap. A continental breakfast was included.

The rooms are basic (I glanced into a few others) but clean and functional. It's a "get what you pay for" hotel, and for $30/head/night for this particular room, I felt the value was good.

Right in the middle of town, across the road from the Western Wilderness Railway, location is brilliant.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 30's appear to have been newly refreshed.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cached
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We did not stay at "Empire Hotel" but decided to eat there at the recommendation of a local we spoke to in the street - "Make sure you go in and check out the staircase even if you do not eat".

The staircase is local blackbean timber which was shipped to England to be carved in 1902 and assembled on its return - Was recently restored and quite impessive

The dining room is also over 100 years old and well preserved - The food was very good - I chose a steak and my partner pasta - Both meals were to be commended

We cannot comment on the accomodation other that to say that the choice was from backpacker style, old style hotel rooms with shared facilities and ensuite rooms.

The Hotel has a new manager who seemed keen to build up the clientelle - We wish her luck

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

This was the perfect stay whilst driving through. Amazing local steak and beer downstairs, walk up the most impressive wooden staircase to a small but clean room, just the right place to get the head down before heading off in the car early in the morning. Not the type of place you would stay for a couple of nights, but perfect to get a great feed and a nights rest.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012 via mobile

Pretty good tassie non touristy pub lunch in a characteristic hotel full of history in the now quiet queenstown!

Not the lush green smiling Tasmania mainlanders expect, it is historic and hearty.

In saying that the fish was whiting an was pretty good.. Nice pokies and keno area

Have had better but for a quick feed an cheap drinks (40 per couple) then head here!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveling_Aussie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

this hotel needs burning down, its a bad place to stay, when i arrived i could hardly get my case upstairs as the lift was not working, bed was damp, shower door was hanging off , during the evening it dropped off!!!!! i went to look for the fire exit for my own safety and when i found the exit door i checked to see if it would open and to my amazement there were no stairs outside just a 25 foot drop someone had also removed the fire extingisher, never again worst place i have ever stayed at and have stayed in about 30 places in tazmania since 2003

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lindamay1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews