We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Empire Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn Gold Rush(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$84
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Silver Hills Motel(Queenstown)
US$88
US$74
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$62
US$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mt Lyell Anchorage(Queenstown)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mt Lyell Motor Inn(Queenstown)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveller rating
22
46
34
18
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
46
34
18
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmagnificent staircasedining roombottle shopstair casetwo storiesfriday eveningscotch fillet steakdelicious lunchcharming hotelcountry pubheritage listedsingle bedcontinental breakfastin townno liftold stylepasta dishes
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 131 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2017

Old style for a cosy hotel with a very friendly staff. A quiet, simple and comfortable room with a beautiful view on the moutains and clouds and local street art. The pub propose good meals. Beautiful staircase in the foyer. Excellent price/quality ratio.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Isabel3192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zac S, Public Relations Manager at The Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Hi Isabel3192,

Thank you for the raving review! We're glad to hear that you an awesome experience with us and could enjoy the wonderful views that we get to see everyday! Hope to see you again in the future.

Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017

A comfy pub, nice service, good food, handy to everything. The updated ensuite a nice bonus. Everything in town was shut for dinner the night we stayed so they all joined us at The Empire! Staff didn't skip a beat.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the railway caught the afternoon sun and were lovely and warm that night.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jenbell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zac S, Public Relations Manager at The Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Hi jenbell1!

Thank you for the great review! We're glad to hear that you had such a good experience with us. Hope to see you again in the future.

Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

We had a dabble on the Pokies before dinner and came out $6 ahead which was nice.
Thr Bistro was very dimly lit so it was difficult for me to read the menu.
We both ordered garlic bread and a small size pasta dish each. Me the carbonara and Hubby had the vegetarian.
The meals came out very hot and very tasty.
We had a couple of drinks which were surprisingly cheap. A Guiness and a vodka, lime and soda for $11.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sammi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zac S, Public Relations Manager at The Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Hi Sammi B,

Thank you for the great review! Awesome to hear that you had a win on the Pokies!! We're glad that you enjoyed your meals and had a great experience with us. Thank you for the feedback on the lighting in the bistro - it's these kind of comments that help us make a better Empire Hotel experience for our customers! Hope to see you again soon.

Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

We had dinner here as recommended by the motel restaurant was closed.
The Fishermans basket was plentiful with prawns Scallops and flathead. Accompanying salad and French fries were good.
Partner have the salt-and-pepper squid, which again was plentiful but very salty, to a point where It was oversalted.
If we could rate by half points we would rate this at 2 1/2 out of five.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank LuxuryLoverWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zac S, Public Relations Manager at The Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Hi LuxuryLoverWA,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We apologise for the delay in response - we missed a few of the reviews that came through in the past couple of months. Glad to hear that you enjoyed the Fisherman's Basket, but sorry to hear about your partner's salt-and-pepper squid. I will pass on your comments to our kitchen, so that we can improve for the next time you visit us! Hope to see you again in the future.

Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2017

Rooms are small. Really only single rooms. Bed is a double not a queen. Rooms on town side very noisy. Worst nights sleep in any hotel ever. No wifi as advertised. Only a small sitting room with a tv and kettle etc. but you couldn't make a cuppa when people watching tv as it would disturb. No fly screens on windows and lots of wasps outside which made it very stuffy as you couldn't leave windows open. Meals in restaurant were ok. Breakfast really basic and coffee not drinkable. So on second morning we went over to Tracks cafe for breakfast. Shame really. Lots of potential here. They have started doing up bathrooms but rooms really need an overhaul. Can't really recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms on town side really noisy. Try and book room with ensuite.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Phil & Wendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews