We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Multi talented staff”
Review of The Empire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Empire Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Queenstown
Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

Delicious lunch on a grey day in Queenstown. Staff in restaurant turn their hands to all the tasks of running a restaurant. Wonderful welcoming friendly staff. Yummy food. I ordered a blt and no trouble to add avocado. Lovely old world atmosphere.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zac S, Public Relations Manager at The Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Hi Mary B!

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review! We hope to see you again at Empire Hotel soon!

Cheers,
Empire Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2017

Old style for a cosy hotel with a very friendly staff. A quiet, simple and comfortable room with a beautiful view on the moutains and clouds and local street art. The pub propose good meals. Beautiful staircase in the foyer. Excellent price/quality ratio.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Isabel3192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zac S, Public Relations Manager at The Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Hi Isabel3192,

Thank you for the raving review! We're glad to hear that you an awesome experience with us and could enjoy the wonderful views that we get to see everyday! Hope to see you again in the future.

Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017

A comfy pub, nice service, good food, handy to everything. The updated ensuite a nice bonus. Everything in town was shut for dinner the night we stayed so they all joined us at The Empire! Staff didn't skip a beat.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the railway caught the afternoon sun and were lovely and warm that night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jenbell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zac S, Public Relations Manager at The Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Hi jenbell1!

Thank you for the great review! We're glad to hear that you had such a good experience with us. Hope to see you again in the future.

Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

We had a dabble on the Pokies before dinner and came out $6 ahead which was nice.
Thr Bistro was very dimly lit so it was difficult for me to read the menu.
We both ordered garlic bread and a small size pasta dish each. Me the carbonara and Hubby had the vegetarian.
The meals came out very hot and very tasty.
We had a couple of drinks which were surprisingly cheap. A Guiness and a vodka, lime and soda for $11.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sammi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zac S, Public Relations Manager at The Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Hi Sammi B,

Thank you for the great review! Awesome to hear that you had a win on the Pokies!! We're glad that you enjoyed your meals and had a great experience with us. Thank you for the feedback on the lighting in the bistro - it's these kind of comments that help us make a better Empire Hotel experience for our customers! Hope to see you again soon.

Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

We had dinner here as recommended by the motel restaurant was closed.
The Fishermans basket was plentiful with prawns Scallops and flathead. Accompanying salad and French fries were good.
Partner have the salt-and-pepper squid, which again was plentiful but very salty, to a point where It was oversalted.
If we could rate by half points we would rate this at 2 1/2 out of five.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank LuxuryLoverWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zac S, Public Relations Manager at The Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Hi LuxuryLoverWA,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We apologise for the delay in response - we missed a few of the reviews that came through in the past couple of months. Glad to hear that you enjoyed the Fisherman's Basket, but sorry to hear about your partner's salt-and-pepper squid. I will pass on your comments to our kitchen, so that we can improve for the next time you visit us! Hope to see you again in the future.

Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queenstown
20.3 km away
Strahan Village
Strahan Village
#1 of 4 in Strahan
914 reviews
20.3 km away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
84 reviews
0.4 km away
Mountain View Motel
Mountain View Motel
#5 of 6 in Queenstown
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
West Coaster Motel
West Coaster Motel
#2 of 6 in Queenstown
124 reviews
0.9 km away
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
#1 of 6 in Queenstown
139 reviews
0.3 km away
Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Penghana Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Queenstown
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Empire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Empire Hotel

Address: 2 Orr Street, Queenstown, Tasmania 7467, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Queenstown
Price Range: RM245 - RM287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Empire Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Empire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing