We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley(Lovedale)(Great Value!)
US$127
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Vine Valley Inn(Cessnock)(Great Value!)
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
US$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$185
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$210/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Abermain Hotel(Abermain)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ingenia Holidays Hunter Valley(Cessnock)(Great Value!)
US$66
US$51
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$83
US$76
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hunter Hideaway Cottages(Rothbury)(Great Value!)
US$123
US$118
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Bellbird Hotel(Bellbird)
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (441)
Filter reviews
441 results
Traveller rating
176
216
39
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
176
216
39
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleagues clubcontinental breakfasthunter valleyair conditionershopping centreshort drivefire alarmplenty of parkinggood sizeconvenient locationplace to staycomfortable bedfree guest laundryshops and cafescoffee clubwine countryrooms are clean
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 441 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Was looking for a place to stay but not at Hunter Valley prices and found this star hotel.

Great service from the reception. Plenty of free hotel parking and there is a lift so you do not need to lug your bags up the stairs.

The room is huge (able to open up two suitcases), and the bed is comfortable. Room is super clean with good air-conditioning and the shower has great hot water and pressure. Complimentary Wi-Fi is good.

The thing that hit the spot for me was the free self-serve laundry in the hotel. There is one washer, one dryer with free laundry detergent and pre-stain spray. There is even a sink to rinse your clothes before chucking them into the machine.

Nearby you have Woolsworth and Coles within walking distance from the hotel and several petrol stations. The hotel has a water dispenser and chips vending machine downstairs as well.

The only issue is the breakfast which I paid $14.50 per pax for. It is a meat-less breakfast and you get cereals, breads, juices, coffee/tea, yoghurt and canned fruits. The highlight was the self-serve pancakes machine and all the syrup and chocolate sauce that you can eat. Just felt that this breakfast was not value for money. Could have included bacon, eggs or baked beans to make it a more rounded breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilfredWO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy A, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Country Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Thank you Wilfred Jin Loo... W for your thorough review, it looks like you took advantage of all we have to offer and I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you also for mentioning that you would have enjoyed a full cooked breakfast. While we don't have a resident chef at our property and I'm sure you understand a cooked breakfast would cost more it is great to get some feedback on whether this would be a viable option for us and I will pass your comment on to the manager.

Thanks again for being a fantastic guest and for your constructive feedback, it is really appreciated and I hope we see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

There in Cessnock which is the entrence to the Hunter valley wineries to spend easter with the family. Motel is well situated with in the town and only a short walk to the main street. Rooms are well presented and comfortable. We stay here every time we are in town and cannot see any reason to change next time.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ricey0502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy A, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Country Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Thanks for your feedback Ricey0502, it is so nice to see our guests return time and again. I'm really pleased we tick all your boxes and that you feel you have no reason to see other motels.
I hope you had a fantastic Easter weekend with your family, we are looking forward to welcoming you back next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

The King room was a great size and all you need for a couple of days away.
It was not far from the local shops and club next door for a great feed and was close to the wineries. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy A, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Country Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post a review Peter M, I'm really pleased you were happy with your stay here. I hope we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

The king room was a good size and was very clean. Access to pay TV and air conditioning made our stay very comfortable. The hotel is only 10 minutes drive from the Pokolbin region which made it very convenient.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy A, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Country Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I am so pleased your stay was so comfortable, Matthew S, thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We are a fantastic base for exploring the vineyards and I am thrilled you found us so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018

King Room is big with a TV and lounge and big bathroom. The A/C didn't work great so room was very warm but for the price and location it was still very good. The bathroom had a leaking toilet which made the bathroom dirty and not clean but hotel staff said they will get that sorted before next gest arrives, as we only stayed one night.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sheiekekdhsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy A, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Country Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Dear sheiekekdhsb, thank you for taking the time to review our motel. I do apologise for the air conditioning not coping in your room, the older units do struggle on the hotter days which is why we are currently replacing them. Also please accept my apologies that we were unable to fix your leaky loo during your stay, the maintenance team have assessed and fixed the issue.
Please contact us next time you are staying in the Hunter so we can do our best to give you a room with a new air conditioning unit and give you the experience you should have received this time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews