We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service (helpful and”
Review of The Bootlegger Bar

The Bootlegger Bar
Ranked #15 of 80 Restaurants in Katoomba
Price range: US$7 - US$59
Description: Whisky, Gin, Cocktails, Low & Slow! American BBQ, Specialise in Gluten free desserts and food, huge wine selection and beers on tap.
Restaurant details
Description: Whisky, Gin, Cocktails, Low & Slow! American BBQ, Specialise in Gluten free desserts and food, huge wine selection and beers on tap.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great service (helpful and friendly staff) and atmosphere. Food was delicious, drink selection was great - we really enjoyed the night. We had a large group and they catered really well for us!

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank Katrina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2021 via mobile

Came here for my birthday after reading great reviews. It was busy for a Wednesday night, but staff were allowing walk ins after we arrived so obviously not fully booked.
Alice our waitress was very professional, we ordered the share plate with extra ribs.
After about an hour of waiting we asked about our meals, it was 8.30 by now. Alice told us that they were busier than expected, so wait times were longer than usual, however this was not mentioned when we placed our order. After approximately another half hour, we asked Ralph about our food, he definitely did not have a professional attitude, he was actually quite arrogant. 5 minutes later he brought our food out, said something like “oh look what’s here” then slammed it down in front of us, then walked away without asking if we’d like anything else (I wanted another glass of wine)
The meal was a bit mediocre, we ordered extra ribs at a cost of $50, they were dry and absolutely not worth the cost. The brisket was tender and tasty, but cold. The chicken was nice, but none of it lived up to expectations.
All in all a disappointing experience

Date of visit: February 2021
1  Thank Tone3103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KAW, Owner at The Bootlegger Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hey Tone3103, we were packed on wed night very unusual for the mountains before school holidays, would have loved to have known and would have put on an extra staff member. On wed night we sold 30 other tables the same ribs that night, every customer said how good they were. Not sure what you were expecting. Unfortunately food did take awhile but everyone was told on ordering and kept updated after that. I know for a fact, food was not slammed down on the table we can see the cctv. But I did notice your table yelling at the staff while they were trying to take another order. If something was not good enough I know the staff would have looked after you. Next time :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2021 via mobile

Myself and my partner came here Sunday and Monday because of how good the food and drinks are as well as the wonderfully kind and friendly staff. Best place to eat in Katoomba hands down!

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank sammyarmstrong27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2021 via mobile

Shared the “share platter x2”, wow....
Good choice as you get a variety of different meats and slaw, chips & pickles...
Very laid back vibe with great music and cocktails.
Doing a road trip to celebrate 45 years, so management supplied a free bottle of wine, very nice touch and much appreciated ~ thank you guys for a really nice feed and service .

Date of visit: March 2021
1  Thank dudleybecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2021 via mobile

Awesome bar, great atmosphere, owner is a legend, bar tenders are top notch mixologists, pricy drinks but very tasty and unique.

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank JetJones1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bootlegger Bar also viewed

Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 

Been to The Bootlegger Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.