We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic & Wholesome”
Review of The Rooster

The Rooster
Ranked #11 of 103 Restaurants in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$35
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Quality traditional french cuisine reasonably priced, wonderful location and ambiance with spectacular views of the jamison valley. Bar, extensive reasonably priced wine list, outside dining, beautifully restored edwardian building built 1895 guest house with four luxury guestrooms, specials of the week. Open every day for Breakfast Lunch and Dinner except Wednesday and Thursday Musicians play regularly and Lunch on Sunday.
Reviewed 3 March 2018

We enjoyed a very delicious meal at The Rooster, pleasant surroundings with a wall of Art Deco mirrors in a 1930s guest house. The pate was delicious, perfect baguette with it. My main of Monk fish was tasty and my husband enjoyed his lamb. Good sized servings.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (380)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 45 of 380 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2018

We are visiting Katoomba for a couple of days and we were recommended to eat at The Rooster this evening (Tuesday) as they have a great French restaurant with live jazz. The meal was excellent, the chocolate fondant with pistachio fantastic and the music rounded off a great night.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Annette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018

Had a lovely romantic three course meal here on the weekend with my husband. Everything was delicious. Couldn't fault anything. The background music was classy and classical. Prices are reasonable for the quality. Close your eyes and let your imagination take you to France.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank richam6364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018 via mobile

Had made Dimmi reservation for our annual long Friday lunch at long time favourite Solitary but arrival revealed it was closed for renovations.
Mmmmm. What to do. Could head back to Leura to restaurants we had dined at previously. A safe option
But had recollections of another nearby restaurant overlooking the Megalong Valley so decided to try out The Rooster. What a great decision!
A lulling combination of honest authentic French food, washed down with a Kir Monique to start, then an excellent muscadet sur lei and French music soundtrack made for a memorable visit to the mountains
Entrees of French onion soufflé and entree size of their sucking pig main are not to be missed - both ticked all our buttons for taste and presentation
While my bouillabaisse main was up to standard, it wasn’t able to rise over our entrees
Finished off with crepes Suzette cooked next to our table on a very authentic burner cart
Cannot wait to go back to try more of their menu

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank GrahamFromSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018

We decided that we had to dine here - it was time for another meal of escargot.
We had escargot for entree and were not sorry.
Mains we had roast suckling pig which did have great flavour but disappointing as served as a 5-6cm square - not what we had in mind and more of the 'higher price, big plate, smaller serve' type. Desserts were wonderful - souffle and creme caramel. Service was attentive without being overbearing - well done. The wine list we thought was way too dear.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank traveller2australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rooster also viewed

Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 

Been to The Rooster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing