We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just go fishing”

South West Rocks Seafood
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian, British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Reviewed 2 November 2020

Fish was overcooked and oily (that oil was stale). Chips were undercooked. No fresh seafood despite being located in a fishing town. Wait time was terrible (one hour) and it wasn’t particularly busy. Staff don’t seem to be too happy or overly enthusiastic. Have given this place numerous goes and it’s consistently very ordinary.

Date of visit: October 2020
1  Thank Crimpett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2020 via mobile

We went there for take away fish and chips, ordered the Snapper from the display counter and some calamari and prawns. The fish batter was thick and overcooked and the fish tasteless and the skin was still on. Chips were swimming in oil, just a horrible meal. We didn’t eat it, chucked in the garbage and went to the Hotel where we had really nice flathead and chips with salad, no comparison

Date of visit: October 2020
2  Thank BruceK742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2020 via mobile

I’m going to keep this short and to the point. DO NOT GO THERE. My husband and I ordered battered snapper and chips. It is the worst fish and chips we have ever had. The snapper was frozen, skin still on and very thick. It was so overcooked that it was very hard to cut the batter. The taste of the batter and chips was of bad tasting old oil. There are numerous certificates taped to the window stating each staff member had been acknowledged for COVID safe training. However, the girls in the shop spent the whole time we were waiting laughing and talking in the shop. I counted four tables outside that patrons had sat at for their meal earlier with salad bits and crumbs that had not been cleaned. Clearly the tables had not been sanitized. Who did their COVID training?
We threw the whole meal in the bin as it was inedible. Such a shame when there’s a fish co-op very nearby and they could supply fresh and decent fish and chips

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank Blackaxel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2020

The lines each day indicated the popularity of this eatery. Quality food at great prices. Buy here and take away and eat at the nearby park.

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank H7322IQjenniferb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2020

It was good food the wait was long but what we received is what we expected, old fashioned not fancy good fush and chips and the crumbed prawns, so good.

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank ggsggs55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed South West Rocks Seafood also viewed

South West Rocks, New South Wales
South West Rocks, New South Wales
 
South West Rocks, New South Wales
South West Rocks, New South Wales
 

Been to South West Rocks Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
Malaysia
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.