We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Trinity Beach Pacific(Trinity Beach)(Great Value!)
US$109
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coral Sands Beachfront Resort(Trinity Beach)(Great Value!)
US$289
US$263
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Beachfront Apartments on Trinity Beach(Trinity Beach)(Great Value!)
US$321
US$312
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roydon Beachfront Apartments(Trinity Beach)(Great Value!)
US$304
US$294
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trinity Beach Club Holiday Apartments(Trinity Beach)(Great Value!)
US$131
US$111
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Lagoon Resort(Trinity Beach)(Great Value!)
US$199
US$185
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveller rating
112
52
15
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
52
15
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslagoon poolgames roomfive minute walk to the beachsand beachmodern bedroom apartmentfree form poolbar grillthe kitchenprevious guestsice makerlate checkclose walklovely spotgreat facilitieswashing machinespent nights hereapartment was great
Filter
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 189 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2012

We stayed here for four nights after flying to Cairns from Perth. Loved the place as soon as we got there. Unfortunately we had an incident where we had to call an ambulance on the first evening and Kerry the Manager could not have been more helpful. She directed the ambulance to the unit and locked everything up when we left in the ambulance. We had a delightful holiday there and really felt like we were in a Five Star resort. The unit was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Definitely a place to recommend to friends and family and to go back to.

Room Tip: We stayed in an upstairs apartment Number 250 which was a two bed, two bathroom apartment with a balcony overlooking the beautiful pool area. Would definitely request that one when going back. Very quiet and peaceful.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Country-Hopper51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlincovehr, Guest Relations Manager at Marlin Cove Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2012

Good Afternoon,

Thank you so much for your positive review of Marlin Cove Resort, and for taking the time to share your experiences with the TripAdvisor community.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012 via mobile

My family had a week here and had an awesome time, the pool area is great and rooms were great!! The location was good, Trinity beach is a very pretty beach and had some great places to eat. We could walk easy to shops and beach.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angelamark1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlincovehr, Guest Relations Manager at Marlin Cove Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2012

Thank you so much for your lovely review of the Resort, we hope you had a fantastic stay here with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

I recently organized a trip for a large group of people to view the solar eclipse. I booked all the apartments at Marlin Cove Resort operated by the Angel family. From the earliest stages of making the booking almost 2 years ago i knew I'd made a good choice. True to their word and always willing to help they were enormously helpful not only with respect to my rental of their accommodation but with information regarding other things I was organizing.

As my group populated the apartments, they did whatever they could to accommodate our needs. We made frequent use of the communal facilities - pool & BBQ areas to hold social gatherings and briefings when the weather turned bad and we had to move the group inland to clear skies. The apartments are clean and well appointed. The kitchens are great and my group generally did a lot of cooking. We cooked/catered a BBQ/banquet for 70 people in 6 of the kitchens.

The resort is located about 5 minute stroll from the beach and is very good value for money. These are self catering holiday apartment rentals. The resort has no restaurant, weekly room service so this is not the place for you if that's what you're after. If you're looking for a great self contained apartment with terrific atmosphere and friendly staff who are there if you need them but leave you alone if you don't then I can't recommend it highly enough.

I have no connection to the Angel family other than being a very satisfied customer.

Room Tip: My group occupied all 25 apartments. Everybody commented on how great they thought my choice of venue was and how much they liked the place. I went into many apartments. All seem to be the same quality and the resort's location means that no apartments are near roads or noise so any apartment is ok.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlincovehr, Guest Relations Manager at Marlin Cove Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2012

Hi Joe,

Lovely to hear from you again, thank you so much for your kind words. Your group was a pleasure to host over the Solar Eclipse. We look forward to seeing you up this way again some time!

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

First the positives
Got a free upgrade but looks like many people get it. Good anyway! We got a very good rate too
Rooms are spacious and furniture, utensils are all pretty standard.
Silent atmosphere, most apartments if not all have some greenery around. This will probably make up for not being next to the beach. You can also spot a kangaroo or two and walk around the blue lagoon waters.
The lagoon pool within the resort is a very good concept and will be great if one gets an apartment around that.
There is a sauna which is pretty good. Used it a few times.
Supermarket (Night Owl) is at a walking distance.
The service is good and prompt. They also assist with planning tours. Though the reception is closed after hours - check in and check outs can be organised quite easily.
No complaints about insects etc....they are acceptable in the tropics.

Now, the average stuff
Utensils were not cleaned properly. It will be good if the staff can make sure they are cleaned if the previous residents have not done it well.
The rug and some other common places such as shelves had a good amount of dust which should have been taken care off. It is a tropical and dust is expected but nevertheless needs to be cleaned before check in.
Though one does not go to such a place to watch TV, a bigger TV might do.

Finally, the poor stuff.
There appears to be a small stream running through the resort apartments but was dry. Not sure if it is a natural one which dries out - but without water in it, it feels you do not have as good a view as you will get near the lagoon pool or if you have views of the larger blue lagoon waters. Moreover, access to the lagoon pool (which is the highlight) becomes restricted if you are elsewhere. Wonder if this is what you lose by getting an upgrade ?
The lap pool did not look inviting and we did not use it. Someone who used expressed dissatisfaction during a conversation.
A basic gym will be a good addition.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms around the lagoon pool.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melblore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlincovehr, Guest Relations Manager at Marlin Cove Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2012

Hi Melblore,

Thank you for your review of Marlin Cove Resort, and the many positive aspects you commented on.

Our apologies you were not satisfied with the level of cleaning in the apartment you stayed in, and I have passed your comments on to the Housekeeping team.

In regards to the negative aspects you highlighted, the small stream mentioned is there to assist water flow through the wet season, so as not to affect ground floor units. Through the dry season, there is minimal rain in the Cairns region, and therefore the stream doesn't fill.

While some units do have views of our lagoon pool, there are a multitude of other views available to guests including tropical gardens, rainforest and the lap pool. Most of these also come with the added bonus of wallabies in the grounds most mornings. I agree the blue lagoon is a fantastic walking track, however none of the units have specific views of the lagoon.

We agree the lagoon pool is a spectacular feature, and all guests are more than welcome to use it, we do not restrict access to anybody staying in the Resort.
The lap pool was built as an extra resort feature due to the overwhelming number of guests requesting such a facility.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We spent five nights in the deluxe two bedroom apt that overlooked the lagoon pool. We loved the fine room and proximity to the beach without paying high beachside prices. Also liked that the two tour groups we used came to our door to pick us up. Marlin Cove is ten minutes walk to Trinity Beach and about the same to nearby grocery. And one other highlight... Wallabies on the property in the mornings!

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Randall M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlincovehr, Guest Relations Manager at Marlin Cove Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2012

Hi Randall-in-NC,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Marlin Cove Resort. We appreciate the extra effort, and your positive comments on your stay.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews