We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cumberland Lorne Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Sandpiper Motel(Apollo Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (548)
Filter reviews
548 results
Traveller rating
197
234
83
21
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
197
234
83
21
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa bathgarden viewtennis courtsindoor poolgreat locationacross the roadthe great ocean roadunderground parkingthe penthouseone bedroom apartmentwashing machine and dryerliving roomseparate toiletfull kitchenwell equipped kitchenmain beachgames room
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 548 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018

We have stayed here twice now, and for good reason. The apartments are great, and have wonderful beach and sea views. Cockatoos visit the balconies everyday. The apartments are huge and comfortable with everything you could need, and are also serviced. Penthouses are available. There is underground parking and lifts. A beautiful indoor pool and spa is wonderfully heated, so suitable year-round. There is a direct door down to the main street, so it's very easy to pop down to shop or grab a bite to eat. It couldn't be better located. This is the perfect Lorne base.

Room Tip: There are wonderful views all along the front of the complex
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lets Go Mum R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

The Cumberland is an institution. The location is terrific, in the middle of town, on the main street and opposite the beach. That said, it is showing it's age. Where once flowers bloomed in terrace garden boxes, our balcony grew only weeds. The design of the room was slightly eccentric with the bedroom at the back with only high windows for fresh air. The sunken bath is hazardous. Good for a couple of days but I suspect there is better value for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank jaral1202158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

We had a great stay at the Cumberland. Both James and Anna at reception were extremely efficient, helpful and courteous. They did an outstanding job in helping us throughout our stay and our room had a fabulous view . Five stars!!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mgagiero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018

Though not super modern the accomodation had all that we needed and was clean and tidy. It was across the road from the beach and we chose an apartment with beach views. The cockatoos visited our balcony frequently. Beds were comfy though air conditioner was in the lounge area only. Pots and pans were a bit old but still useable and we made use of the free BBQ facilities, swimming pool, boogie board and DVD hire. It was right on the shopping strip and coffees or an after dinner ice cream was within easy walking distance. A morning walk along the beach was a great way to start each day. We would stay there again.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Jill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018

This resort is so beautiful! We loved our stay in Lorne, just wished we could have stayed for longer!
We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment for 1 evening earlier in the year.
Although we weren't in one of the closer apartments that looks over the beach, we could still see the beach from our balcony. The rooms are massive! Lounge/kitchen is at the far end of the apartment with the balcony going off the lounge. You could definitely just stay in your room the entire time as it's fully self contained.

The one let down about the place is that the pool and gym was only open until 9pm. We arrived later and by the time we had headed out to dinner etc. we were too late to enjoy the facilities.

The spa bath was massive and had a window that looked out onto the lounge which was nice! You could also close the blind in this window if you wanted to of course.

Definitely recommend the room that we had for couples looking for a nice, romantic getaway. There are lots of things to browse around Lorne and lots of great restaurants all within walking distance of Cumberland as the plaza part of Lorne is just out the front entrance.

The place caters for everyone, there are BBQ's, Tennis Courts, Pool & Gym as well as the spa baths in the rooms. Everything was well maintained too. We'll definitely stay again.

Stayed: February 2018
Thank Jaye L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews