We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter”
Review of Cookhouse & Pub

Cookhouse & Pub
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Holystone
Restaurant details
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Food nice though the aubergine tart needs more of a salad than given. Was quiet but squashed in a corner of a busy room next to a large table very noisey. Staff friendly but service alititle slow. Scone said cream and selection of jam..first arrived on own and when asked saud ok but no offer of flavours just given strawberry and told no cream..if knew this would of prefered a different pudding.

Thank christhreemusketeers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Cookhouse & Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Hi Christine,

Thank you for taking the time out to review us.

We appreciate feedback both good and constructive.

I will highlight the above to my team as this is not the usual standards that we pride ourselves upon , and please accept my sincere apologies on this.

Regards

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 54 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2018

Great refurbishment. From being warmly greeted and shown to a table to being wished safe journey we felt our business was really wanted. All the staff were great attentive and really worked as a team.The food was excellent value for money.Although the place was very busy it was good to find the toilets clean.

Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Cookhouse & Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Hi Suzzane,

Thank you for taking the time out to drop us a review

I'm so happy that my team made a great impression and that your visit to us was an enjoyable one :)

Make sure you don't leave it too long to see us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

Had the pleasure of eating here a couple of times. Staff are helpful and polite. Kelly is the best always attentive and pleasant. She is what most food establishments are lacking.

Food is well cooked and portions are generous could possibly do with more extensive menu with fish. Just an observation.

Altogether a great experience

Mark

1  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Cookhouse & Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Hi Mark,

Thank you so much for such great praise! I'll make sure Kelly gets to see this too :)

Don't leave it too long to visit us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

Went for lunch. Donna and the rest of the staff we're very friendly. Water was brought to are table straight away and are drinks order took within a couple of minutes we ordered the paprika chicken, cheese burger and also the scampi. Everything was spot on for us and will definitely go back.

Thank Yvonne0714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Cookhouse & Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

HI Yvonne,

Thank you for taking the time out to review us,

I'm so glad that your visit to us left such a great impression on you , your mam and sister :)

Looking forward to seeing you all again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

Vastly improved the cookhouse brand is so much better than that ghastly cgef and brewer brand they use.premier are now upping their game and along with the Thyme they have another great brand.quite noticeable they share some of same things i.e chorizo in filo.so obvious stuff is bought in, but who cares if its nice.this is our second visit.we have a rather dated sizzler on our doorstep so great we now have another option
Soup was nice carrot and coriander,minir niggle being butter rock hard.we both had a fantastic superfood salad with an eclectic mix of ingrediants and flavors ,minor niggle being small portion size.great pint of craft Ipa .minor niggle being price .over 4 quid.these minor niggles preventing 5 green dots .but will defo return .staff consistantly pleasant.think it was hayley this time.but like kelly last time seemed genuinely passionate about customer service.front of house is who give first impression so recruitment is key.love the place and will be back.dont worry if offered water.its not like france where yoh may get charged.its free and a nice touch .perhaps they should ask if one would like complimentary water.good USP. You ate setting a standard will be back to see if it continues

Thank LETITROCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Cookhouse & Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Firstly Let it rock , what a name :)

And secondly thank you so much for such a kind review but also some great feedback that I can pass on .

I will make sure my team also get to see this and your kind praise.

Don't leave it too long to visit us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cookhouse & Pub also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Whitley Bay, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Seaton Sluice, Northumberland
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Whitley Bay, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Cookhouse & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing