We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint”
Review of Fru Haugans Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fru Haugans Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mosjoen
Reviewed 20 September 2017

Didn't expect much when arriving at this property, as part of a tour group., While the room was small, it was clean and reasonably comfortable. The dinner and breakfast offerings were decent. Nice small town.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxwelldrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2017

The hotel was okay for a night's stay. Room was small, bed was not comfortable, and no t many amenities in the bathroom. People were friendly and the room was clean. If you avoid this one I would. Sorry!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FloridaMyrtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

I stayed one night in room 209. The room was small, and furnished in a style that is best described as student dormitory meets grandmother's house. Possibly modern by 1970s standards. Key highlights included:

- Smelly, pungent bed linen. Try getting a good night's sleep when your duvet smells like a blend of tobacco and sweat.

- Ambiguous yet still unsettling additional odours throughout the room.

- A badly aged and strictly functional bathroom of the kind you might expect to find at a poorly maintained public swimming pool.

- Fading wallpaper with so much “texture” it could be mistaken for a dead animal.

- A distinctly un-charming view of an industrial carpark compete with a crooked street signs.

I'm struggling to find anything good about this hotel. I guess, to be fair, they did have fresh orange juice at breakfast. Breakfast was also a kind of collective bonding experience, as everyone has the same expression of dismay and disappointment.

This is easily the worst hotel I have stayed at in Norway. That would have been okay if it was really cheap, but it was not at all cheap. Unfortunately, I paid NOK 1,525.50 (USD 192) to stay here for one night. The fair price for the establishment is less than NOK 500 per night.

My advice for prospective guests: find an alternative to the Fru Haugans hotel.

My advice for hotel management: at least buy some new bedding and mattresses.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Snobs_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed there for one night on Saturday. We got a room on the 4 th Floor of the main building overviewing the parking arena, the room was Tiny, smelly and hot.
We had a buffet for dinner of average Quality, the dining room was not very Nice. At night there was a party lasting till 4 am, with considerable noise coming from the street.
By far the worst hotel we have been in, avoid it at least on saturdays.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Joop v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen S, General Manager at Fru Haugans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

We appreciate feedback, whether it be positive or negative. We are sorry you didn't like to stay with us.

I do not know which room that you stayed in when you were here. We have different room categories with different sizes. We are updating the rooms one by one and most of the rooms on the 4th floor of the main building has been refurbished the last year. We have different room sizes going from a single room to a suite. Should you experience something similar another time, please go to our reception and ask for another room. It is hard to make your experience better after you checked out.

It is really sad to read that you did not like our dining room who was refurbished two years ago. If you chose to visit us in the future I would recommend to try our a la carte restaurant “Restaurant Ellen”. Named after my great great grandmother and founder of this hotel.

If you have a suggestion for what we could have done better during your stay, please write directly to me, Ellen Løvold Strand at ellen@fruhaugans.no - we appreciate all the feedback we can get.

All the best
Ellen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

Very nice hotel with a long history. The reception was friendly and efficient. Our room was clean and comfortable and provided a nice view onto the lake. We enjoyed dinner in the buffet restaurant where very friendly attendants provided good service. The buffet food looked good and was tasteful.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frans B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen S, General Manager at Fru Haugans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

I am so excited to hear your experience at Fru Haugans Hotel was nice! Thank you for taking the time to share it with us. Hope to see you again soon!
All the best
Ellen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mosjoen
1.5 km away
Lyngengarden Hotell
Lyngengarden Hotell
#3 of 5 in Mosjoen
45 reviews
32.7 km away
Scandic Syv Sostre
Scandic Syv Sostre
#2 of 2 in Sandnessjoen
148 reviews
1.3 km away
Mosjoen Hotell
Mosjoen Hotell
#1 of 2 in Mosjoen
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Mosjoen Camping AS
Mosjoen Camping AS
#1 of 1 in Mosjoen
35 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Fru Haugans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fru Haugans Hotel

Address: Strandgt. 39, Mosjoen 8651, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Nordland > Vefsn Municipality > Mosjoen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mosjoen
Price Range: RM670 - RM854 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fru Haugans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fru Haugans Hotel has a long history and is located in the heart of Mosjoen close to the old part of town, the Sjogata Street. Short way to the airport and the railwaystation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Fru Haugans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing