We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fru Haugans Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Hub Helgeland(Mosjoen)
Booking.com
View Deal
Scandic Syv Sostre(Sandnessjoen)
US$195
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fjordgaarden(Mo i Rana)
US$109
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
US$137
US$131
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$142
US$137
ScandicHotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$143
US$140
Comfort Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveller rating
68
109
46
18
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
109
46
18
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshistoric hotelnice viewbuffet dinnerother hotelsnice roomshower gelgreat foodold townmain coursenext morningstayed here for one nightfruhistorynorwaywindowriverbars
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 252 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2017

Didn't expect much when arriving at this property, as part of a tour group., While the room was small, it was clean and reasonably comfortable. The dinner and breakfast offerings were decent. Nice small town.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxwelldrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

The hotel was okay for a night's stay. Room was small, bed was not comfortable, and no t many amenities in the bathroom. People were friendly and the room was clean. If you avoid this one I would. Sorry!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FloridaMyrtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

I stayed one night in room 209. The room was small, and furnished in a style that is best described as student dormitory meets grandmother's house. Possibly modern by 1970s standards. Key highlights included:

- Smelly, pungent bed linen. Try getting a good night's sleep when your duvet smells like a blend of tobacco and sweat.

- Ambiguous yet still unsettling additional odours throughout the room.

- A badly aged and strictly functional bathroom of the kind you might expect to find at a poorly maintained public swimming pool.

- Fading wallpaper with so much “texture” it could be mistaken for a dead animal.

- A distinctly un-charming view of an industrial carpark compete with a crooked street signs.

I'm struggling to find anything good about this hotel. I guess, to be fair, they did have fresh orange juice at breakfast. Breakfast was also a kind of collective bonding experience, as everyone has the same expression of dismay and disappointment.

This is easily the worst hotel I have stayed at in Norway. That would have been okay if it was really cheap, but it was not at all cheap. Unfortunately, I paid NOK 1,525.50 (USD 192) to stay here for one night. The fair price for the establishment is less than NOK 500 per night.

My advice for prospective guests: find an alternative to the Fru Haugans hotel.

My advice for hotel management: at least buy some new bedding and mattresses.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Snobs_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed there for one night on Saturday. We got a room on the 4 th Floor of the main building overviewing the parking arena, the room was Tiny, smelly and hot.
We had a buffet for dinner of average Quality, the dining room was not very Nice. At night there was a party lasting till 4 am, with considerable noise coming from the street.
By far the worst hotel we have been in, avoid it at least on saturdays.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Joop v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen S, General Manager at Fru Haugans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

We appreciate feedback, whether it be positive or negative. We are sorry you didn't like to stay with us.

I do not know which room that you stayed in when you were here. We have different room categories with different sizes. We are updating the rooms one by one and most of the rooms on the 4th floor of the main building has been refurbished the last year. We have different room sizes going from a single room to a suite. Should you experience something similar another time, please go to our reception and ask for another room. It is hard to make your experience better after you checked out.

It is really sad to read that you did not like our dining room who was refurbished two years ago. If you chose to visit us in the future I would recommend to try our a la carte restaurant “Restaurant Ellen”. Named after my great great grandmother and founder of this hotel.

If you have a suggestion for what we could have done better during your stay, please write directly to me, Ellen Løvold Strand at ellen@fruhaugans.no - we appreciate all the feedback we can get.

All the best
Ellen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

Very nice hotel with a long history. The reception was friendly and efficient. Our room was clean and comfortable and provided a nice view onto the lake. We enjoyed dinner in the buffet restaurant where very friendly attendants provided good service. The buffet food looked good and was tasteful.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frans B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen S, General Manager at Fru Haugans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

I am so excited to hear your experience at Fru Haugans Hotel was nice! Thank you for taking the time to share it with us. Hope to see you again soon!
All the best
Ellen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews