We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel”
Review of Univers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Univers Hotel
Ranked #20 of 37 Hotels in Roses
Reviewed 30 July 2017

A very good hotel with friendly and helpful staff. A great location opposite the marina which Is why I would recommend a sea view room. Rooms are compact with a safe, hairdryer and air con. Hotel is kept very clean and the pool area is well maintained The guests here are mostly French and Spanish as is the resort itself but the language is not a problem as everyone tries to understand you if you only speak English. The buffet breakfast was very good and on the couple of occasions we tried the buffet dinner it was very good. My only complaint would be at times the service in the bar was very slow

Room Tip: Sea view rooms take the best advantage of the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grecian1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2017

Last July we went there to celebrate my bf's birthday and the hotel staff members made sure to make it unforgettable. The room was beautifully decorated which I didn't expect and the staff did their best to make me prepare a beautiful surprise. The location is super nice, the view is amazing, the room is comfortable, the atmosphere during the night was so romantic due to the singer, the food buffet was rich and tasty, and the receptionists were so helpful. I would say that the only drawback is the old furniture; otherwise, everything was perfect!

Room Tip: Make sure to rent a scooter and visit Cadaques, it is too near :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hind N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2016

First stayed in this hotel about 14 years ago and not a great deal has changed. The hotel overlooks the marina and the best rooms have a view both of the marina and the pool. The public areas are very good with a large, clean pool and sun lounge area, and a big well stocked bar with lots of seating. Musical entertainment every night either outside by the pool or inside in the bar. However, this is of a very similar nature every night. The rooms are comfortable enough with a large bathroom (although small shower.) Rooms cleaned very well every day but the towels are probably the thinnest and most worn I have ever seen - fortunately we had brought our own. Towels are changed every day - completely unnecessarily, they would do better to save money on washing and spend it on new towels. Staff friendly and helpful - especially the girls in the bar. Breakfast was a plentiful buffet but of a mediocre standard. Roses has lots of excellent cafes and restaurants so I would advise booking bed and breakfast only.

Room Tip: Front corner rooms overlook both the marina and the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank proficiscor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2016

Well furnished room and the girls kept it immaculate. Shower small but water always hot and would have been better had the shower not had to be hand held. Bar extremely well stocked and staff very helpful, but although they all spoke French, very little English. The breakfast was lovely, but would have liked little teapot or larger cups. They definitely need to cater a little more for the British. First stayed in 1972, when it was smaller and the Brits were more welcome back then. The only member of staff that really let the side down was the female manageress in the dining room. My partner asked her if she could take a couple of plain yoghurts up to our room, for me, as I had been very ill all night. Her reply was so rude that there is no way we would return. I challenged her the following morning and a male member of the staff intervened and shook his head in disbelief that she could have been so unhelpful. We should have just taken like many other guests did, but manners we thought would be appreciated. Such a shame that one member of staff can spoil it for all the rest. Will go back to Roses, but stay at other end of town where the British seem to be more welcome. Such a shame as it could be perfect with a few tweeks.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank scotie418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2016

Did not expect much for the price but was pleasently surprised. You was small but clean. The facilities were very good will a great pool. Gave the evening entertainment a miss.
The French were the predominate nationality and the whole place was very chilled

Room Tip: Seaview are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awayagain999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roses hotels
3.2 km away
Hotel San Carlos
Hotel San Carlos
#29 of 37 in Roses
291 reviews
2.7 km away
Prestige Sant Marc Hotel
1.9 km away
Maritim
Maritim
#10 of 37 in Roses
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Vistabella
Vistabella
#2 of 37 in Roses
489 reviews
2.6 km away
Prestige Victoria Hotel & Spa Elit
2.4 km away
Prestige Goya Park
Prestige Goya Park
#16 of 37 in Roses
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Univers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Univers Hotel

Address: Avinguda de Rhode 281, 1, 17480 Roses, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Roses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 37 Hotels in Roses
Price Range: RM287 - RM571 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Univers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Univers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing