We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definitely stay again”
Review of Carmen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carmen Hotel
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Roses
Certificate of Excellence
Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Level Contributor
115 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Will definitely stay again”
Reviewed 15 February 2012

A really super family-run hotel. Such friendly people, and we had a very clean & spacious room (#405) with an extra big bath tub thoughtfully equipped with some lovely smelling bath salts & little tea-lights. Great breakfast too – has everything we wanted. A handy tip for anyone coming is to park in the free (but unsupervised) car park situated in Parquing Del Teatre on the corner of Carrer del Doctor Ignasi Barraquer & Carrer de Lluis Millet, then walk the 3 minutes to the hotel. Avoids blocking the narrow street with your car.

Room Tip: Loved 405 - big bath tub & a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrogRosbif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    100
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
54
220
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Whilst not on the beach, in fact tucked away down a narrow back street, this is a lovely modern hotel, staffed by a friendly and helpful team.

If driving there access is quite awkward a) to find in the narrow maze of one way streets and b) you need to be quick unloading as you will block the road before you are given a map to the car park (which is free) on Carrer Tarragona, a short walk away.

The hotel itself is modern, clean and the rooms are comfortable and quiet. The main parade can get quite noisy at night and if you don't have air con (most do not) this could be a problem. This hotel is quieter AND has Air Con.

The rooms at the front have little balconies which looked nice - we didn't get one!

Breakfast is ample and also includes a cooked option.

A good stay - will definitely return.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have little balconies which looked nice - we didn't get one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluetax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourne End
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2011

My wife and I had a wonderful stay at this charming, quiet and friendly little boutique hotel. It's tucked up a back street yet only 100 metres from the prominade lined with great restaurants and 200 metres from the beah. My wife had booked this holiday as a birthday surprise for me, so I had no idea where I would be staying but neither of us were disappointed on any level. She booked the best room (Room 206) which was spacious, clean and had a balcony you could actually sit on in the evening sunshine. Breakfast was ample and varied. Everything was within walking distance, including the free garage parking for our hire car. The staff were very friendly and lovely - helping us with where to go, where to eat etc. Most spoke English, so never a problem. I would (and have) recommend this to friends and family without hesitation. Well done Hotel carmen! xx

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

For 90Euro a night we received : small room (but all looks new and good, comftable bad), window than opens all the way or in angle, no much of a view ( but quite) , free Wifi that works good, descend breakfast . The Hotel STAFF is usually one person at the front desk. There is no lobby. Breakfast is served at the adjacent ROM HOSTEL.
Parking is free in most of the streets and lots so we managed to find one every time.
The girl at the desk gave us recommandations to some restorants : grill, itallian, catalan. Itallian was great, Catalan good, and the grill we didn't try.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
152 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Went online at short notice. Got the last room available. Was pleasently surprised how good it was.Clean, comfortable bed,good bathroom, glimpse of the sea from the balcony. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to others. In fact I could see no bette rhotel around roses. Very very happy with Hotel Carmen. Would've stayed longer but was heading into France. Breakfast was in the hotel next door (Carmen doesn't have a resturant), and that was your usual hotel breakfast.Paid 10 euro for a secured car park.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buck8444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roses hotels
1.2 km away
Hotel Mediterraneo Park and Hotel Mediterraneo
2.9 km away
Vistabella
Vistabella
#2 of 36 in Roses
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#6 of 36 in Roses
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Maritim
Maritim
#13 of 36 in Roses
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.7 km away
Prestige Coral Platja
0.6 km away
Hotel Terraza
Hotel Terraza
#4 of 36 in Roses
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmen Hotel

Property: Carmen Hotel
Address: Trinitat 41, 17480 Roses, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Roses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Roses
Price range (per night): RM325 - RM1,037
Hotel Class:2 star — Carmen Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Carmen is a tribute to Carmen & Josep, who first started welcoming travellers in their humble home in the early 1950's. The three buildings that make up the property have been recently refurbished and turned into a contemporary mediterranean hotel with a peaceful and delicate design that evoques those times. The house is located in the center of town among locals and their daily lives, and just 50m from the beach and Roses' magnificent sunset promenade. There are various rooms types available for guests, ranging from large rooms with balconies and terrasses, to smaller ones with windows. What all rooms have in common are great ergonomic mattresses & pillows, WiFi, a laptop sized safe, minibar, satelite TV, plus l'Occitane amenities and a haidryer in the bathroom. All rounded up with a nice breakfast with plenty of local products and freshly made coffee. For travellers arriving by car a garage is available as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Carmen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing