We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gone off this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Marian Platja
Ranked #28 of 37 Hotels in Roses
Reviewed 14 June 2015 via mobile

I've been here a few times as bike friendly. But I've realised it's overpriced. No air conditioning, beds uncomfortable and food not very nice. Asked to change room and management was very rude but eventually agreed. Back in roses and staying in a different hotel. Cheaper, air conditioning, half board, modern decor.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled solo
3  Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed here one Saturday in June. The hotel has an enviable position overlooking the beach and has great views of the Bay of Roses.
The room wasn't large but was clean and had everything you needed for a beach break. We had a terrace and seaview, which it is worth paying a few euros extra for.
Reception was welcoming and helpful, and although we arrived early, they allowed us into our room.
Car parking is available at the front of the hotel and on street.
In the evening they had a duo entertaining, and a lot of the mature couples were up dancing.
Breakfast was ok and we felt that the hotel was reasonable value.
Our only problem was the noise in the early hours from occasional drunks passing along the promenade - why don't the Spanish police patrol this strip?
There seemed to be mainly guests on package holidays.....no English but chiefly German, Spanish and French guests.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mendiprambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

A great hotel for cyclists as it has a large secure garage for bikes. Ideally located right on the beach. As others say, decor a bit dated but the rooms are good, wifi works well and reception very friendly and helpful. Buffet breakfast ok but not great so loses a point for this.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
3  Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We very much enjoyed our 2 week stay at this hotel, especially the direct access to the beach and the sea. It caters well for families, older couples and us cyclists, with cycle storage, generous portions of fresh food and helpful staff who speak Catalan, French and some English. Lovely sunshine every day for 2 weeks helped too!

Room Tip: Our 2nd floor room on the side still had sea view but was cooler than those in the direct afternoon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Posh_Cyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I stayed at this hotel during a family holiday, this hotel was very welcoming with lovely views and situated perfectly, down some steps and we were sat on the beach. cocktails were lovely and rooms were clean although could do with upgrading as very dated. entertainment left a lot to be desired and pool was freezing and small, but this was not to much of an issue seeing as the beach was so close by. The staff were exceptionally friendly especially the bar staff and the owner, we would stroll along the promenade to reach the restaurants and a small town. Staff were very friendly although food was average. One member of our party split his head open during our stay and the owner quickly called for an ambulance. No tummy upsets from here and there were 48 of us, a lovely little town where we felt safe to take evening strolls, all in all i would say stay here if you do not plan to spend too much time in the hotel (like us) although if you are someone very fussy i would say avoid, i would say this suits 3 stars as it is clean and friendly and situated nicely, let downs are it needs updating and more entertainment as we only had a disco two nights out of 8 but luckily there were enough of us to entertain each other at night sat on the deck near the pool table for the younger ones.

Room Tip: having a room with a sea view is a must, although the rooms facing the back allow you to watch the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Truthbetold01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roses hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Montecarlo
Hotel Montecarlo
#21 of 37 in Roses
232 reviews
0.3 km away
Maritim
Maritim
#10 of 37 in Roses
409 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Monterrey Roses by Pierre & Vacances
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Prestige Victoria Hotel & Spa Elit
1.2 km away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#5 of 37 in Roses
345 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Nautilus
Hotel Nautilus
#19 of 37 in Roses
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marian Platja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marian Platja

Address: Avgda. Salata s/n, 17480 Roses, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Roses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 37 Hotels in Roses
Price Range: RM355 - RM397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marian Platja 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Marian Platja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing