We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forget your phone”
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel San Carlos
Ranked #29 of 37 Hotels in Roses
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

Congratulations on having the worst wifi in Europe to date. Your # 1..Impossible to get on from any room, and a crap shoot in the lobby where the router is . The guy said yes there are too many people on it . Did you ever look at the world. Everyone is on their phone all the time.. if you're going to have so many people in your hotel why not provide the correct Internet service. It's not like the technology isn't available .Maybe by the pool the guy says.If you need to borrow an iron the cost is only five euro. Yes I said the cost not the deposit.that's a first. Question"do you exchange money?" Answer" yes of course. Oh no not your kind of money you need to go to a bank". The bulb blew out in a friends bathroom so I remove the bulb and brought it to the front desk. We do not have a bulb and the maintenance man does not come till 6 AM tomorrow.you can put down a credit card so you could charge everything to your room. But you can't use it from the pool area you need to pay cash or credit card at the pool.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank tripster12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2016

We reserved this hotel with a travel site, and we are very happy. This hotel is quiet and all the personal are really cool. The prices are corrects, the parkind is a little bit small, but it's not really a problem because the hotel is not very near the city !! A good time , we will come again !!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank vnovitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2016 via mobile

Good for 1 night.
We stayed on the way to Cadaqués, and the hotel is very convenient for the price, has free parking and a very nice restaurant with an amazing breakfast for all tastes (lots of options) and a nice balcony in the room.
Problem for us was that the wifi does not get to inside the rooms (although in booking said wifi available everywhere); so we needed to stay in the lobby for that, not even the restaurant.
And the other issue was that the matress was very hard, impossible to sleep very well.
The personnel was very friendly and helped us with getting a place in a restaurant in Roses late at night (10pm)

Stayed: June 2016
1  Thank Lucia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2015

I arrived with my daughter after a 12 hour drive around 17,00hrs, paid 700 euros in advance, needed to go to roses to get the rest (200) euros, asked for the key to leave our luggage and rest a bit but the receptionist, Maria, did not want to give us the key before the full amount was paid. I explained that we did not know Roses and where to find an atm machine but it did not help, she actually smashed her office door. The bed was very small for me and my daughter, no wi fi in the room, 4 start hotel?, we had a leak and lost of water in the bathroom for 2 days, the leak was fixed during the day, 13.00 till20.00hrs, we could not use the room and had to cancel dinner in town as we could not even take a shower, no appologies, no other room was offered, we ended up paying 100+ euros to live in a renovation project for 2 days. If the service would have been beetr it would have made a big difference, let us check in first after a long drive, offer another room when there are major problems for example. The pool was great, breakfast excellent, location, you need a car to go to the beach, the shuttle is not driving often enough , not possible to take the shuttle to for dinne outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank jopie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2015

This is a poor place to stay for the star ratings and the price. The service is extremely poor. Few examples, no wifi in room, no option to get a printout of any ticket. Couple of staff didn't even have the intent to help. Parking was terrible.
On the pluses - the pool is nice and the breakfast buffet is sumptuous.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Sundar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roses hotels
2.1 km away
Maritim
Maritim
#10 of 37 in Roses
414 reviews
2.5 km away
Hotel Monterrey Roses by Pierre & Vacances
3.2 km away
Univers Hotel
Univers Hotel
#19 of 37 in Roses
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Prestige Goya Park
Prestige Goya Park
#17 of 37 in Roses
398 reviews
2.5 km away
Prestige Sant Marc Hotel
2.0 km away
Hotel Nautilus
Hotel Nautilus
#21 of 37 in Roses
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Carlos

Address: C/ Solsones 19 | Urbanització Mas Buscà, 17480 Roses, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Roses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Roses
Price Range: RM350 - RM909 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Carlos 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Carlos is a quite hotel that we recommend for families with children, people who like to play sports during their holidays (tennis, squash, sports-center, gym, pre-olympic sized open-air infinity pool (33m.X13m.), Heater indoor pool from March to May and in October, children's pool, sauna&Jacuzzi (extra charge), mini-golf, etc.) And people who look for quite place to rest, with free parking and well-comunicated to important sites of the surroundings: la Ciutadella in Roses, Museu Dali in Figueres, Casa-Museu Salvador Dali in Port-Lligat, Parc Natural dels Aiguamolls de l'Emporda in Castello d'Empuries, Monestir de Sant Pere de Rodes in Port de la Selva, Cadaques, etc.. The hotel is located in a privileged environment, surrounded by 3 Natural Parks: els Aiguamolls de l'Emporda, Cap de Creus and l'Albera. It's located on the Roses to Cadaques road, about 2km from the center of the village of Roses and the beach. We have a free shuttle to the centre and the beach. Hotel San Carlos has a total of 110 rooms: 103 standard rooms, 1 room adapted for people with reduced mobility and 6 suites 'La Masia'. All of them are equipped with full bathroom and terrace. Also available for all of them, centralized climate control (air conditioning or heating), direct telephone, safe and satellite flat-screen TV. You can use our wireless Internet connection from your laptop at the hotel lobby, or you can use our computers with internet. Pets under 7kgs (15 lbs.) Are allowed with a €/day supplement per pet. They are only allowed in the hall and room, not in communal areas. Other services: Buffet Restaurant with show-cooking, restaurant a la carte Mas Busca (depending on the season), lounge with big screen and satellite TV, and 2 functional rooms for banquets and conventions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel San Carlos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Carlos Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing