We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right at the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Monterrey Roses by Pierre & Vacances
Ranked #18 of 37 Hotels in Roses
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

Nice, clean and spacious hotel. Right at the beach boulevard of Roses but still a 20 min walk away from Roses centre.
Rooms are modern and crispy white with wooden floor. Small bathroom with bath/shower. We had a balcony overlooking the pool and with beach view as well.
Remarks:
- parking is a nightmare in the peak season. Website says there is parking near the hotel but upon asking reception we were supposed to find something in the streets. Ended up having to park about 10-15 min walk from hotel.
- we could not sleep before midnight because the entertainment at the hotel beachfront was so loud. For the kids this was a bit too late.
- hotel felt impersonal. No attention of anybody from the staff. Nobody really acknowledges your presence or says hello.
- beach is cleaned everyday.
- swimming pool not very big but also not too busy. Cleaned every day in the morning. Too bad they let people reserve their sun bed by means of a hotel towel even if they don't show up for hours and other guests therefore do not have a bed to use. This behaviour of guests should not be accepted by any hotel. Pool opens only at 10am which is really too late.
- good facilities for disabled people, even a chair lift to enter the pool!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank AK1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2017

Positive: location (20m from beach), renovated rooms, reasonably priced, staff in restaurant, half-board (buffet lunch) pretty decent for €10 p.p.p.d.

Negative: reception staff (hardly a foreign language spoken, utterly slow, incompetent and not polite). Each time the telephone rings it is answered and people in front of the reception desk are left waiting and waiting....., parking is payable and costs €15 per day (!!) and your car is always blocked by other cars parked in front. Elsewhere in Roses parking is free of charge.

Room Tip: Rooms in front of the hotel have beautiful sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 11Hans59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

Second time visit to this hotel. It has been renovated this year and looks really modern and clean. The stuff is constantly working for the betterment of the hotel (the latest installment - free towels at the pool area). The refurbished rooms look really nice with all necessary equipment, AC as well as ventilator (that we found most useful as the weather was not that hot to use an AC during our stay). The food was excellent last year - this year is not an exception, it got only better, especially the desserts. Wifi is the room (4th floor) and in the common areas was working fine. Special thanks to our cleaning lady from the 4th floor (Cecilia) for being understanding of our afternoon nap and coming to clean at the time convenient for us.
however, we would suggest the following - we didn't find in the room the common (please put up the room, please do not disturb) sign, that would have been helpful as mentioned above we nap after lunch and wouldn't want to be disturbed, We would also suggest a first aid kit at the reception available when used for the guests, had a little fever at the beginning and wanted to check the temperature, but the reception had none so i had to buy the thermometer in the nearest pharmacy.

Room Tip: You can as for a front sea view when booking, it does not cost extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Irina_Sur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017 via mobile

Nicely located on the boulevard with sea view rooms. Outside the City buzz of Roses, but on a 20 minutes walk distance. Restaurants are close in the area available. Nice swimming pool and garden.
Rooms are nice, but a bit small, although everything you need is there, but
I missed the ammenities however to make your own coffee or tea.
Parking your car is a challenge, the hotel has only a few parking spaces, so you have to try your luck in the surroundings of the hotel.

The dining room has very little atmosphere, breakfast is okay; nothing special.
Price/quality ratio is Ok for the high season.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jan Piet v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

Now in room 412. Room seemed nice (although not clean, black hair on the floor and in the bathroom, but that's bearable). The hell broke at the evening when live music started playing outside. It is extremely loud. Like, HELL LOUD. And the aircon is broken in out and room. The guy from reception doesn't care at all, no one will look at it today, only tomorrow. It means I have to open windows (still very hot inside) and the music is everywhere in the room. My 1 year old baby got sick two days ago and now can't sleep and crying due to loud music and heat. I hope that the hotel management will go through such hell at least once in their lifetime. Avoid this hotel.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Mintsage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roses hotels
0.6 km away
Maritim
Maritim
#10 of 37 in Roses
414 reviews
4.1 km away
Vistabella
Vistabella
#2 of 37 in Roses
492 reviews
0.3 km away
Prestige Victoria Hotel & Spa Elit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Mediterraneo Park and Hotel Mediterraneo
1.7 km away
Prestige Hotel Mar y Sol Elit
1.1 km away
Hotel Terraza
Hotel Terraza
#5 of 37 in Roses
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monterrey Roses by Pierre & Vacances? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monterrey Roses by Pierre & Vacances

Address: Passeig Maritim, 72, 17480 Roses, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Roses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Roses
Price Range: RM305 - RM868 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monterrey Roses by Pierre & Vacances 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the Santa Margarida beach in Roses, the Hotel Monterrey has access directly onto the beach with a quiet, relaxed, family atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Monterrey Roses by Pierre & Vacances reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterrey Hotel Roses

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing