We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch before 2pm”

Restaurante de la Posada de San Jose
Ranked #9 of 205 Restaurants in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$47
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Located in this building S. XVII, in our restaurant we offer big a variety of dishes with one of the most iconic views of the Hoz del Huecar. Among them we can find are a variety of home-made tapas and rations (Croquettes, Mushrooms "Spring Rolls",...) For visitors and locals can taste the typical dishes of the region (Morteruelo, Pisto, Gazpacho Pastor, Ajo Arriero, Manchego Cheese, Lamb, Cod, ...) and others of different influences and with new elaborations (Rabbit confit, Iberian Pig Meat, Red Tuna, ...) All with excellent wines and finish with our homemade desserts (Tiramisu, Rice & Coconut Puding, Lemon Mousse, Brownie, ...). We regularly offer "off the menu" suggestions to tempt the most demanding palates. Our employees have been informed of food allergies and intolerances related to our menu, which is kept up to date so that clients have all the necessary information on hand, even in the menu.
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

Spanish people lunch at 2pm, if you go at 1pm you have table otherwise you may not. Better reserve if you can plan. Start with the 4 plates of degustacion together with a craft beer, then a shrimp brochetta and to finish a steak well done. For desert either cheese if you like or a typical sweet.

Thank Pedro_Diener_Pereira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
psanjose, Propietario at Restaurante de la Posada de San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2017

Thank you very much for giving this kind advice to future customers. It is best to have a reservation but sometimes, as you discovered, if you come early you can be lucky and have a table, even near the window.

We are glad that you enjoyed your meal, trying different things of our menu. Looking forward to seeing you again soon

Thanks again!!
Pablo Cortinas
Posada de San José


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (470)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 470 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2016

I walked in here for breakfast, food was very scarce, orange juice was not fresh (ew), coffee was good.
My waitress was extremely serious but attentive.
What made my review rate average was the service, it was good.
Not impressed by the food....or lack of

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CocoFranco43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
psanjose, Propietario at Restaurante de la Posada de San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

Hi CocoFranco43,

We have listen and take note about your comments, you must visited us in the certain moment when the Buffet was emptier than usually because many people should have been having breakfast just before you. Normally there is enough variety and quantity of food, for being a Cold Buffet, including some home-made cakes, muffins or cookies.

Sorry for the inconvenience and hope to see you again, for breakfast, lunch, diner or even to stay in one of our rooms.

Sincerely,
Pablo Cortinas.
Posada de San José

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Spent a night at la Posada de San Jose and enjoyed breakfast here in the morning. Nice basic food not to fancy but good quality. Coffee was great :-)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NilsRump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
psanjose, Propietario at Restaurante de la Posada de San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2016

Thanks a lot for your visit and your comment. We have improved our breakfast with home-made cakes, muffins or cookies, as you say, its not fancy but we always serve the highest quality. Our "Café de Puchero" is a very useful partner to vistit Cuenca.

We will work hard to get a higher qulification on your next visit.
Kind Regards.
Pablo Cortinas
Posada de San José

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

We started with appetizers on the terrace. Drinks (Campari), wine, and sangria were all good, and the food was good; scallops were excellent, but I wouldn't order the mushroom spring rolls again. Dinner inside was very good also, with attentive service. We had the baby lamb chops (excellent) and the sea basa (good). Lemon mousse was giod, and the almond-honey tart (see photo) was very good. We wanted a leisurely evening, and felt neither rushed nor ignored.

1  Thank Vrsol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2016

Well located in the centre of town.Try to get a table overlooking the gorge. Food was above average but the service was rather surly.

1  Thank Hotpot2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante de la Posada de San Jose also viewed

Cuenca, Province of Cuenca
Cuenca, Province of Cuenca
 
Cuenca, Province of Cuenca
Cuenca, Province of Cuenca
 

Been to Restaurante de la Posada de San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing