We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Ucliva
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Surselva(Surcuolm)
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Central(Obersaxen)
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Vincenz(Breil/Brigels)(Great Value!)
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Familienhotel Alpina(Breil/Brigels)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bergspa Hotel LA VAL(Breil/Brigels)
US$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
48
29
9
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
48
29
9
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 87 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2018 via mobile

Food is good as is the selection of wine. Prices are reasonable, too. Service is friendly. The new leaseholder, however, is an impertinence. She must have chosen the wrong job. No hello, no thank you, no goodbye. Sad for all the other employees who are giving their best.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank Snip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BiohotelUcliva, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Ucliva, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Dear "Snip B". Thank you for your rating and your kind feedback. We're glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at our restaurant. Actually we can't reproduce the mentioned situation but we're very sorry for the fact, that the service wasn't to your full satisfaction. We wish you all the best. Bettina, Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2016

Being familiar with the region around Ilanz, it was for the first time that our family with little kids visited the small ski resort of Brigels and Waltensburg. Hotel Ucliva was just great for this occasion. Very professional and friendly staff that managed to offer a kids friendly environment while allowing parents too to relax, for instance in the sauna that has just been renovated. Even without going for skiing (due to bad weather), good alternatives are available such as a trip to Brigels (20min by car) or to Ilanz.

Room Tip: special family rooms available
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HansMeier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BiohotelUcliva, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Ucliva, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2016

Buna sera and grüezi from Waltensburg.
We would like to thank you for your positive and nice review. It's great for us to read that you had a wonderful time in the Biohotel Ucliva. It was our pleasure having you and your family with us and indulge you during the stay. Our motivation and goal are everyday to make the stay for our guestes as relaxing as possible so that they can start back into everyday life refreshed and rested.

We hope to welcome you again soon and until then we send our best wishes to you and your family.

Best regards and greetings from the beautiful Surselva
The Uclivateam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2015

Cozy, rustic yet modern. Great food and very friendly staff. Reachable by PostAuto (public bus). Large rooms, with less large bathrooms. Beautiful views and clean mountain air. Also good for kids. Thanks.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AAAZH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BiohotelUcliva, Manager at Hotel Ucliva, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2015

Bien gi and good day to you. Thank you so very much for your positive review of our Biohotel Ucliva. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our cuisine was to your taste. It was our pleasure having you and we would be happy to welcome you again at the Ucliva soon. Until then we send our best regards from Waltensburg
The Uclivateam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2015

Booked this hotel for my parents. A few notes:

- The food was an absolute disaster - everything was burnt to a black tarry crisp (the staff acknowledged this and took it back without having to be asked after seeing it, but that didn't prevent them from serving an even darker schnitzel ten minutes later and charging hundreds of franks). For other choices, imagine burnt soy sauce sticking to meat. Yummy. It wasn't an one-off problem either - it happened literally with every meal.

- 60x60 centimeter showers with curtains. If you're a fan of having plastic stuck to your bottom that was also stuck to the bottoms of dozens of strangers, the hotel will oblige.

-this might be different in the winter, but there's nothing to do in the village

-lack of elevator plus medieval stairs plus rooms assigned in the second floor to a pair in their late 60s with heavy luggage and no help. Superb if you want to kill your old folks, not so good otherwise.

All in all, the stay was a disaster and the hotel is inexplicably overrated. Avoid.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Zbynek_Drab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BiohotelUcliva, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Ucliva, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2015

Bien gi and grüezi. We are sending you our best regards from Waltensburg and thank you for your comments on the stay of your parents here at the Biohotel Ucliva.

We apologize if the first serving of a main course was too dark. Please consider that the Schnitzel is coated in a mix of dark breadcrumbs. Therefore our Schnitzel might not be as pale as served in other restaurants.

The Hotel Ucliva was built in the 1980s. The standard of showers was a smaller back then. Unfortunately we do not have the space to rebuild the bathrooms and enlarge the showers. We assure you that our shower curtains are washed on a regular basis to ensure hygiene.

Waltensburg is a village situated in the middle of a beautiful hiking and skiing area called Surselva. Many hike paths start right at the Hotel. There is access to a chairlift in Brigels. Waltensburg itself offers three sightseeing spots: A beautiful church of national importance due to the paintings from the 14th century inside and outside the building. There is also a museum explaining the life and circumstances of that era as well as two castle ruins, all reachable by foot. A café and another restaurant are open for customers.

It is a fact that we have no elevator in the Ucliva, which is part of the philosophy of the house. We want to preserve nature, resources and therefore electricity as good as possible.
The rooms on the second floor offer a fantastic view of the surrounding area. All our personnel offer assistance with luggage if needed.

It is regrettable that your parents did not enjoy their stay with us. Maybe we get another chance in the future to better their opinion.
Best regards from Waltensburg
The Uclivateam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Had a wonderful stay at this hotel tucked away in a tiny charming Swiss mountain village among the Swiss alps. The rooms where large, clean and modern. Comfortable beds.The staff was very friendly and welcoming. The restaurant served excellent and delicious food. Everything was locally made, bought and produced. A small and wonderful place that makes you feel like you are staying at a friends place rather than at a hotel. Had a warming, welcoming and fantastic stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 393Desiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews