We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best shop in Rincon”

Tres Puertas Art Gallery
Ranked #4 of 14 Shopping in Rincon
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our gallery and gift shop is fully online, where you can shop right in the convenience of your home and have that special local made item shipped directly to you or the desired recipient. If you are in town, on the island visit Our Local Post office, right on the 115 just outside of town: we have a showcase dedicated to selling 100% Local art . Address is 100 Carr 115. Rincon. Pick out something you like and have it mailed right away. Or visit one of the best coffee shops in Rincon BD Cafe ( near the Lazy parrot) where our art is for sale/ displayed on the walls there.
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My family and I vacationed in Puerto Rico for 3 weeks this summer. We stayed in Aguadilla, PR and while visiting Rincon for the day, luckily found Tres Puertas Gallery and Gift Shop. The shop owner, Elke is a talented and friendly artist originally from Trinidad. She majored in art at a New York University and relocated to Rincon because her husband is a surfer. She not only is an artist herself, but teaches art at a local private school and gives art lessons at Tres Puertas. The second day I visited her shop she was giving a lesson on how to drill sea glass to make jewelry. The shop is full of reasonably priced jewelry, art, clothing, house decorations and even jams and jellies. If you are looking for a unique gift from Puerto Rico, or just want to visit the best gift shop in Rincon, look for Tres Puertas which is located near the town square or otherwise know as the plaza in Rincon. She also has a website to shop on-line which I will definitely be
checking out.
Sincerely,
Michelle
Ocala, FL

4  Thank nevarezm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elke f, Owner at Tres Puertas Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Hi Nevarezm

wow! thanks for that amazing review- you were really taking notes when I was speaking!
Thank you so much for your support- and I am really glad we got a chance to meet and for you to see the working aspect of the gallery and gift shop.It is my joy not only to create art and jewelry myself- but to also teach it to those who are willing to learn-
I hope you and your family will come back soon to our little town- until then -stay well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2013

What a wonderful afternoon we spent with Elke making sea glass jewelry. I was looking for a more meaningful souvenir for my daughters, ages 9 and 12, than a key-ring or coconut head, and boy did I find the right place. Elke took us patiently through every step of making sea glass necklaces and anklets, and even an earring. She even held a class especially for the three of us when we couldn't find a regular time that would work. The kids were slow and we ended up taking an hour longer than we should have, but she was unfailingly friendly and patient. She gave lots of hands' on help to the nine year old in particular, and we ended up with awesome jewelry to boot.

Elke also gave us advice on a beach to visit (Sandy Beach) to get the best sea glass, and a wonderful restaurant for dinner. As I was paying for our class, I couldn't help buying a pair of lovely earrings for myself and some local mango salsa for my husband. Altogether an A++++ experience!

Thank Julia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elke f, Owner at Tres Puertas Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

HI Julia,
thank you for that awesome review-
It was a pleasure being with you and the girls! They were very hard workers! They reminded me of my daughter and it's always fun for me to teach sea glass jewelry to people who love to learn.
Thank you for your support and hope to see you all again on our tropical shores- sincerley
Elke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We can't say enough about this wonderful shop that contains beautiful artwork produced by the owner and local artisans. The owner, Elke, is a delightful artist who's dedication to her crafts and teaching others is evident by the displays of her designs and her students, both young and old. We found Elke's shop, one block below the city center, last year when we heard that she taught others how to drill and design sea glass jewelry. As soon as we met her in the shop we knew that we had discovered something special. We have since frequented the shop often during our winter stays and learned/witnessed her skills in educating children, and prompting local arts and cultural events. A must visit if your looking for local crafts/arts. You'll be glad you did. Janyce and Steve

Thank JanyceSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elke f, Owner at Tres Puertas Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

HI Janyce and Steve,thank you both for that lovely review- It was a pleasure to meet you two.
It is always wonderful to meet new people and share my joy and love for this Island, Town and our unique gallery and gift shop - Tres Puertas. So many people including you both- have encouraged and supported all the artist represented in this shop - It has been an awesome experience for me to be apart of this artistic movement in our little bustling town- Don't forget to book your flight soon for next year- see you then
Elke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

I visited Tres Puertas upon the recommendation of another shop owner in Rincon. What a great experience. Elke was exceptionally friendly, providing background information on the artists represented in the gallery, as well as info on the city of Rincon.
I bought 2 fantastic, hand carved Christmas ornaments that I look forward to placing on my tree this Christmas.
After I showed my friend my purchases, I went back a 2nd time so she could do a little shopping for herself.
Really cool place. I wish I knew of it sooner so I could tried one of the adult art classes offered there.

Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elke f, Owner at Tres Puertas Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Hi Kathleen-
thank you for the review! it was nice talking with you about our artist and our town of Rincon- we love living here! Hopefully you will be able to visit us again soon. Thanks for supporting the shop and local art and especially for telling others about us and bringing them by- talk about good P.R!. It really makes me happy to know that in general-people who travel- really desire to support local art and artist
It also encourages me to continue striving for excellence in business - and confirms a general attitude I have towards people-It does not take much to be nice but the returns are bountiful! . thanks again Elke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Else has a good collection of local artists and very attractive jewelry. Highly recommend stopping by!

Thank tostoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elke f, Owner at Tres Puertas Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Hi Tostoni-
thank you for the review - it was wonderful for you to visit and support our local and hand made gallery and gift shop. We are striving to carry a variety of art and products that will appeal to many and reflect the rich culture of this Island- hope you can make it back to our shores soon - Elke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tres Puertas Art Gallery also viewed

 
Rincon, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Tres Puertas Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing