We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we've expected”
Review of Cortijo Salinas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cortijo Salinas
Ranked #5 of 24 Ronda B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 September 2016

This Cortijo has a beautiful setting & breathtaking views but that's all the positive.
There is a big difference in rooms although the prices are the same. The rooms in the new building are very nice & cozy but the old rooms are small and dated. You can not book a certain room in advance, it depends on availability.
The breakfast is very simple, nothing fresh at all and the breakfast room is not inviting either. We did not try diner as this was in the same room as breakfast although again from the veranda you had an awesome view... such a pity.
There is a small swimming pool at the entrance but also not very inviting.
This could be a gorgeous place to stay but it seems to miss good management.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms in the new building!
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Wendygoesaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
There are newer reviews for Cortijo Salinas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

Nice hotel, especially as a start base for local hiking (but not in summer, far to hot). Location is really special, you've to drive 3 km up a hill in order to get there, but the view is marvellous, also from the pool.

We ordered a junior suite, but obtained a standard room (without knowing it). When checking out, I asked for it, since we had parking view and a rather small room. They said they 'missed'. They reimbursed me for 10€ a night. Somewhat dissapointing. I don't book junior suites do be reimbursed afterwards...

Room itself: airco very good, WiFi quite slow, good empty refrigerator where you can put your own drinks.

Restaurant is not very cosy, if you can eat outside, please do so. Limited number of tables outside. Food not bad, a bit expensive compared to other local bars and restaurants in Andalucia. 2€ extra if you want eggs for breakfast

I'd give the hotel something in between 3 and 4 due to the room mistake. Overall i'd give it a 4. We stayed for 2 nights

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank marc_deleeuw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

Lovely, quiet country setting. Large clean rooms, balcony overlooking Zahara reservoir makes for gorgeous sunrises and sunsets. Pool is very nice as well. Dinner was ok but you can get better food for much less money in the towns nearby.

If you're staying here, I would highly recommend taking a circular drive to Zahara then Grazalema and then back to the hotel. It makes for about 4 - 5 hours with all the stops and lunch but the views you get are incredible.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Joe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2016

The hotel has all the do with the scenic place near the Zahara lake. The views are superb. Our room view was astonishing, the terrace big and with a not forgettable view. The hotel is located in full country site, which means it is really very quite over there and in the middle of these precious mountain site ( Cadiz Sierra / Malaga Sierra ). I had some walks at night on the road passing by; never saw a car and such a quite and beautiful views with full moon. The cortijo itself is very picturesque with small chapel included.
The room is big and clean.
I think the Spa is just one of the recommendable services. Yes, it is through you have to book in advance and it is an extra. This is a country rural hotel, so not a full 4 stars city or beach hotel. The Spa can be used by 4 people without problem. All usual facilities are there. The sauna and relax area is outstanding. The relax area are ceramic warmed beds. All very modern and very nice designed !!! I had an outstanding time in the Spa. We also had a massage. The massage has to be booked and it was very good.
The restaurant should be enhanced, it is OK, but it should be made more comfortable, nicer, at least the windows. The views are astonishing.

The food is not 4 stars. It is simple and good. The breakfast a bit poor for this kind of hotel.
There is WiFi only in the common parts of the hotel and not that good.

Room Tip: Choose superior room with lake view ! These are located in new building
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dirk P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2016

Our room over-looked a lake and was close to the charming towns Zahara and Grazelema. The room was clean, spatious and very comfortable. The staff are pleasant and helpful. We had the grilled fish in the restaurant and it was tasty and reasonably priced. I recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Fahara7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ronda
2.9 km away
Hotel El Horcajo
Hotel El Horcajo
#34 of 40 in Ronda
100 reviews
15.3 km away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
13.1 km away
Hotel Molino del Puente Ronda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Hotel Fuerte Grazalema
Hotel Fuerte Grazalema
#1 of 4 in Grazalema
622 reviews
15.9 km away
Parador de Ronda
Parador de Ronda
#11 of 40 in Ronda
1,888 reviews
13.4 km away
Hotel Molino del Arco
Hotel Molino del Arco
#12 of 40 in Ronda
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cortijo Salinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cortijo Salinas

Address: Carretera Ronda Campillos Km 19.5, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Ronda
Price Range: RM371 - RM577 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cortijo Salinas 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exclusive Hotel Spa Cortijo Salinas is located in a privileged location in the heart of the Natural park “Sierra de Grazalema”. Hotel Cortijo Salinas perfectly combines the traditional Spanish style with modern comfort. An idyllic place surrounded by beautiful nature and quietness that invites you to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Cortijo Salinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing