We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden jem in Grazalema.”
Review of Cortijo Salinas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cortijo Salinas
Ranked #5 of 24 Ronda B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 December 2016

This hotel, spa and restaurant is excellent value, whether you find it by accident or design. It is an old stud farm converted into a beautifully appointed hotel with a lot of charm. The staff is exceptionally helpful and friendly. The rooms are spotlessly clean and spacious.There is a multitude of lounges, a pool, a spa and a restaurant in addition to 28 bedrooms with a view. 21 of the rooms face west and provide a view of the lake and Zahara de la Sierra nested in the hill beyond, the other 7 have less spectacular views, but you pay less for these rooms. There is even a little chapel by the main entrance with its own bell tower.

Breakfast is included, but lunch and dinner are available at very reasonable prices. There is a bar. The dining room also faces west on a converted, glassed in veranda.

Hiking and paragliding activities are advertised for the brave and adventurous.Cortijo Salinas is a great base form which to visit Ronda, which is 20 km away with its own unique attractions.

The internet only works in the main lounge and surrounds. Not in the bedrooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and west view. There is a surcharge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gehan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2016

An absolutely wonderful overnight stay! Isabel and her staff are so welcoming you feel at home right away. All is spotlessly clean, the rooms comfortable and beautifully decorated, mattresses and bed linen first class. The restaurant excellent too, typical dishes from the local area well cooked and presented, using veg, fruit and nuts from their own garden. I simply cannot fault the place! Peace and tranquillity with fabulous views. Hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lorraine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2016

As others mentioned, the location and views are the primary attraction of this property. It looks as if it had been a hacienda that was enlarged to become a hotel. The hotel is isolated; nothing is within walking distance.

We were quite pleased with our room, but apparently we got the "luck of the draw". We had a corner room that had a large window on one wall overlooking Zahara lake, and a balcony on the other wall. The room layout diagram on the back of our door suggested that we had the only balcony room on our floor. The rooms on the ground floor below our room had very large terraces, but we wondered why anyone would need so much extra space, unless they were planning on hosting a party.

Breakfast was the standard cold buffet with the usual jamon, cheese, breads, juices, cereals, yogurt. The breakfast room provided a nice view of the distant lake.

The only problem we had was the poor quality internet service, when it worked, it was very slow, but much of the time it did not work at all. The staff complied with our request to reboot their modem, but this was fruitless. Of course, we did not travel to Spain to surf the web, but we did need the internet to book our future travel plans in the area. The area is remote; their internet service provider was not up to the challenge.

We did not use the pool. We had minimal interaction with the staff.
In general, we would return to this hotel with the understanding that the internet will be a problem, and plan accordingly.

Room Tip: Corner room (number 20) was very nice, included a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFCAcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2016

This Cortijo has a beautiful setting & breathtaking views but that's all the positive.
There is a big difference in rooms although the prices are the same. The rooms in the new building are very nice & cozy but the old rooms are small and dated. You can not book a certain room in advance, it depends on availability.
The breakfast is very simple, nothing fresh at all and the breakfast room is not inviting either. We did not try diner as this was in the same room as breakfast although again from the veranda you had an awesome view... such a pity.
There is a small swimming pool at the entrance but also not very inviting.
This could be a gorgeous place to stay but it seems to miss good management.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms in the new building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Wendygoesaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

Nice hotel, especially as a start base for local hiking (but not in summer, far to hot). Location is really special, you've to drive 3 km up a hill in order to get there, but the view is marvellous, also from the pool.

We ordered a junior suite, but obtained a standard room (without knowing it). When checking out, I asked for it, since we had parking view and a rather small room. They said they 'missed'. They reimbursed me for 10€ a night. Somewhat dissapointing. I don't book junior suites do be reimbursed afterwards...

Room itself: airco very good, WiFi quite slow, good empty refrigerator where you can put your own drinks.

Restaurant is not very cosy, if you can eat outside, please do so. Limited number of tables outside. Food not bad, a bit expensive compared to other local bars and restaurants in Andalucia. 2€ extra if you want eggs for breakfast

I'd give the hotel something in between 3 and 4 due to the room mistake. Overall i'd give it a 4. We stayed for 2 nights

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank marc_deleeuw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ronda
2.9 km away
Hotel El Horcajo
Hotel El Horcajo
#35 of 40 in Ronda
103 reviews
6.7 km away
Hotel Fuerte Grazalema
Hotel Fuerte Grazalema
#1 of 4 in Grazalema
639 reviews
15.3 km away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 km away
Hotel Molino del Puente Ronda
15.9 km away
Parador de Ronda
Parador de Ronda
#11 of 40 in Ronda
1,909 reviews
16.4 km away
Hotel Bodega El Juncal
Hotel Bodega El Juncal
#27 of 40 in Ronda
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cortijo Salinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cortijo Salinas

Address: Carretera Ronda Campillos Km 19.5, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Ronda
Price Range: RM369 - RM568 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cortijo Salinas 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exclusive Hotel Spa Cortijo Salinas is located in a privileged location in the heart of the Natural park “Sierra de Grazalema”. Hotel Cortijo Salinas perfectly combines the traditional Spanish style with modern comfort. An idyllic place surrounded by beautiful nature and quietness that invites you to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Cortijo Salinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing