We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Place!!!!”

Review of Casa Vida Verde

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Cabo Matapalo, Osa Peninsula, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

latinachi...
Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not Luxury”
Reviewed 16 February 2012 for a stay in February 2012

Sorry, but I cannot agree with the majority of the reviews here. The house was a disappointment from the way it was presented on their website. "State of the art kitchen"? Not even close. No doors anywhere. Most of the mosquito nettings were either ripped or full of holes, defeating the purpose of the netting. "Washer and Dryer"? Only if you pay $10 per load for the caretakers to wash your clothes. The house only has one safe - the website said it had 2, so for 5 people one safe was not enough to store valuables/electronics. The "refrigerator" is actually a freezer used as a fridge. There is a big cooler to store ice and beverages.

I do have to say the caretakers, Carlos and his wife, were lovely and very helpful. They went out of their way to help us. They also have the cutest German Shepherd puppy (Blaku) who gave us puppy love every day.

If we ever go back to this area, we will definitely not be staying at this house. Sorry, just my opinion.

Date of stay: February 2012
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2012
“We are very unhappy to hear you had concerns after your stay and we have written independently to you regarding these.

However, for the benefit of future readers of this review, we have some comments:

Kitchen: we have cleaned up the wording. The kitchen is equipped with a six burner gas stove, hot and cold running water, 3 sinks, filtered drinking water, a Costa Rica style coffee maker, a kettle, a full range of saucepans, a blender, a solar powered chest fridge (a design which offers the best fuel efficiency – always a concern) and sufficient cutlery and crockery for 12.
This is the rainforest and on solar power only, we cannot offer lovely labor saving but energy hungry devices like a dishwasher or microwave. We have no TV either - you leave that world behind!
No doors: No mains electricity means no air conditioning. We cool the house passively through an open design. This allows air to circulate and creates our favourite aspect of the house - its indoor/outdoor design. Even in CR this is unusual, but once you enjoy that feeling of space, freedom and air, an ordinary house will never be the same for you.
We have doorways, and in the bathrooms and upstairs suite we have curtains for privacy. The privacy of each suite is protected – the top one by a stairs and curtain, the downstairs by their own gates. The food cupboards and trash bins have latched netted doors.
Mosquito nets: we replace these regularly as normal wear and tear creates holes. The nets were replaced in the bedrooms in use prior to the arrival of these guests. Changing the nets for the other bedroom was delayed until after these guests left so as not to interrupt their stay.
Some repairs made may have looked untidy. Should a net be damaged, we repair it as soon as we know. This is important to us. Our nets are specially imported from Australia and are made of the finest cotton with a fine net weave.
Washer/Dryer: In the jungle, we have to live with power restrictions, so we can only operate the washer/dryer twice weekly when the generator is running. These machines are not for guest use. The laundry service provided usually costs $20 for a large load. There is no self service laundromat in Puerto Jimenez but there are a couple of laundry service providers who will wash, dry and fold a load in 3 or 4 hours. We will make this clearer on the website.
Safe: The built-in safe in the kitchen area is the size of a stack of 10 large pizza boxes. It will easily hold documents, a couple of laptops and two or three SLR cameras. More bulky items can be safely locked away in the bodega under the house. There is a second safe in the junior suite which is a “hotel” size for documents and small electronics.
Our Refrigerator looks like a chest freezer but is in fact a fridge specifically designed for working with a solar system. When the chest door is opened the cool air sinks and does not escape as it would with a more “normal” fridge.
Overall, there are compromises to be made when locating a house in the jungle. But there are compensations too! Jungle living with the nature all around you is the privilege and delight possible at Casa Vida Verde.”
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BermudaBo...
St. George, Bermuda
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place!!!!”
Reviewed 14 September 2011 for a stay in August 2011
3
people found this review helpful

The house is incredible. The location is incredible. Nothing beats it in Matapalo!

Date of stay: August 2011
Value Rooms
Location Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
awall23
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 2 May 2011 for a stay in February 2011
3
people found this review helpful

We were lucky to be able to stay at Casa Vida Verde during our trip to the Osa this past February. It was one of the most unique and beautiful houses I have ever seen. The master suite is so beautiful and romantic. Every detail of this house is amazing. The beaches near by are secluded, private, and so beautiful. The caretakers were wonderful, making sure that our every need was being met. Supper at the local restaurant and market very fun. Can't wait to come back!

Date of stay: February 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cattravel...
Keswick, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The VERY best of Cabo Matapalo!”
Reviewed 12 April 2011 for a stay in April 2011
3
people found this review helpful

We had a trip of a lifetime at Casa Vida Verde! While we hiked into Corcovado, we saw more wildlife right at the house. Macaws, Toucans, Spider Monkeys, Howler Monkeys, White Face Monkeys, Huge Iguanas, Trogons, many Hummingbirds, Halloween Crabs, Agoutis, you name it. The kitchen was so wonderful to cook in, that we made almost all of our meals easily at home. The beds and linens are heavenly and changed frequently.

Carlos and Sianne, the caretakers, did everything and more to make our trip the very best. They know the area extremely well, booking surfing lessons, arranging guides, etc. One night, Carlos pulled out his personal telescope and gave us an amazing perspective on the crystal clear night sky. They were also very helpful with truly making sure the trip was special for our 5, 10 & 12 year old. Sianne cooked for us one evening and the meal was everything we as foodies could have dreamed of, chicken with a savory pepper and onion sauce, yucca, cucumber salad, rice, green beans... heavenly! Sianne also gives the best massages from an outdoor private platform high in the hills above the house overlooking the point.

Date of stay: April 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
evapistol...
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Luxury in the jungle...coupled with a private yoga deck!”
Reviewed 10 March 2011 for a stay in December 2010
3
people found this review helpful

Amazing location, spectacular home that would scream luxury anywhere, and a stunning yoga deck. I loved being able to practice yoga in the morning and to watch the sun rise over the ocean as I practiced in private only seeing exotic birds and monkeys made a beautiful start to my day. I highly recommend it!

Date of stay: December 2010
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.