We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on earth”
Review of Ojo del Mar

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cabo Matapalo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ojo del Mar
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Cabo Matapalo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2017 via mobile

My son and I stayed for 8 days at Ojo Del Mar during green season , and all I can say to everyone that asks that we had the most wonderful time. We loved sleeping in the open air cabins with just moskito nets separating us from the jungle. The animal life is unbelievable, just sitting at the pool we saw scarlet macaws, toucans, 3 types of monkeys, an anteater and a sloth ... It's a intimate affordable ecolodge in the truest sense. The place is put together and run with a lot of care and attention. Jordan, the manager, was extremely welcoming and always had an interesting story to tell about wildlife and the area. He and the staff organized excursions, yoga classes, massages (excellent!), gave directions, dispensed advice and served us great food and drinks! The grounds are beautiful with great bamboo architecture, only a few steps from the beach. All of us absolutely loved the breakfast , which is healthy and plenty. There are not many places that I can say that every minute we spend was magical! If you are thinking of going to the Osa Peninsula - Ojo Del Mar is the place!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Lukas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2017

This might be a great place, as many reviews describe it, with "fabulous food" and a "great atmosphere". But when you book in the low season, as we did, things change. Because the place is very remote, it takes a 35 dollar taxi ride to get there. After our arrival, we were told by the boy on guard that, in contrast to what we were told upon booking, because there were less than 6 guests, they didn't bother to cook meals or provide any other food supply. Breakfast, that was all. The nearest restaurant is a very small "soda", 10 minutes away, with a few lousy dishes and a very unfriendly uninterested waitress. The next restaurant was a 30 min. walk away. So basically we were stuck in the jungle, unless we were prepared to spend another 70 dollar for two taxi rides to get something to eat in town, wich we had to do the first night as an alternative to nutritional abstinence. As we called Mrs. Nico, the owner, who was in Germany at the time, she didn't seem to understand our problem. It wasn't her problem and we should understand that it wouldn't pay for her to have someone to cook for just four persons. The only thing she could do was to offer us an "upgrade" into another hut on her property. As if hunger isn't felt if experienced in a better room.
This place is certainly a good idea if you come to this "paradise in the jungle" with the intent to loose weight and money. Because as it turned out, we had to pay the full price.
Fortunately for us, we are not into yoga, because had you come for the "daily offered yoga courses, the good atmosphere and the excellent cooking", you would have been even more frustrated then we were. Not mentioning the "beach" on wich the huts are situated because this is a rocky coast not suitable for any form of bathing. Sure, it's scenic but not a beach. The "rooms" are just a mosquito net around a hut with no walls. Fine if the weather is good, terrible if it rains the whole night, as it did during our stay. Basically we got wet in our beds. And if you have to go to the uncovered toilet at night, you'll get soaked.
In total we spent three weeks in costa rica with our two daughters, had a wonderful time and although the country is expensive, not once did we feel ripped off, apart from this time. And not by a costa rican but by a german owner. Needles to mention that we left the next day and found a wonderful hotel elsewhere.

Room Tip: see above. In the dry season surely a hut at the beach is ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank ftic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ojodelmar, Owner at Ojo del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2017

Thank you for your review. We completely understand that Ojo del Mar is not for everyone. On our homepage we make it very clear what to expect like our open air cabins, beach, etc.. We are very sorry that you did not feel the service was up to scratch. It is just blankly not true that we didn't offer dinner to you as I have arranged meals with my chefs for at least 3 nights during your stay before I left when more guests where booked. I told you that on the phone and also offered an upgrade to a superior cabin. A yoga instructor could have been arranged any day! Also its not true that we charged you the full price of the 6 night reservation, we charged you only one! Unfortunately you also didn't like the restaurant next door, which gets stellar reviews from our guests. We are happy to hear that you were able to find a place that was better suited to your individual needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017

Nico is an amazing steward of this beautiful rainforest. Her love and care shine each day. The food is fabulous! We had a group retreat and enjoyed the waterfall hike and the spa facials. The monkey's entertained us each day! I love the open air thatched huts.
Remember this is eco friendly and off the grid! A great place to unplug and have a digital detox. Love Ojo Del Mar

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank livegreenwithpurium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

I arrived with some friends straight from puerto Jimenez airport. The whole resort has been carefully curated to perfectly blend with its environment. A lot of care and attention has been given to provide an authentic eco lodge jungle stay whilst retaining just enough modern amenities to make one comfortable. The food provided surprised us with its quality and we ate at the lodge on of number of evenings . It was some of the best food I've eaten in a while. We had the pleasure of meeting Nico the owner who was extremely friendly and hospitable giving the resort a very relaxed and chilled out atmosphere. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and Nico's company.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Trixsy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017

Ojo del Mar is a serene and secluded little bit of paradise. We had an absolutely amazing time, so be prepared for a lot of gushing in this review... The gardens are green, lush, landscaped and really well-tended, apart from all the jungle bits of course. And there's loads of that: monkeys, macaws, herons, tons of things that glow in the night. I've never been in a place more alive. The cabinas, dining area, and even little things such as the outside toilets, are comfortable, beautifully designed and fit perfectly in the environment. The pool is lovely for lounging and is dotted - as are many other areas - with sculptures and nice touches that show just how much care has gone into building the place. Whatever you do, don't miss dinner! Nico and her guest chefs create utterly delicious food, the type that makes you feel good when you're finished. Nico herself is a wonderful host. Welcoming, friendly and very kind. Had to make a pretty major change to our plans, which Nico was wonderful about. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo Matapalo
0 km away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
0 km away
Encanta La Vida
Encanta La Vida
#5 of 5 in Cabo Matapalo
171 reviews
0 km away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
El Remanso Lodge
El Remanso Lodge
#3 of 43 in Osa Peninsula
623 reviews
0 km away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
343 reviews
0 km away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ojo del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ojo del Mar

Address: Cabo Matapalo 60702, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Cabo Matapalo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Cabo Matapalo
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ojo del Mar ("eye of the sea"), is a small, eco-friendly secluded retreat nestled between the pristine beaches and the tropical rainforest in the wilds of Costa Rica's Osa Peninsula. Ojo del Mar has capacious spaces in its main Casa Grande (restaurant) with hardwood floors and a thatched roof bamboo construction, solar powered, all built by hand without power tools. We have 5 cabins and 2 deluxe tent cabins. Ojo del Mar's building concept follows a calling that is environmentally and socially responsible. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ojo Del Mar Hotel Osa Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing