We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymooners paradise!!!”
Review of Galley Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Galley Bay Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We went to Galley Bay for our honeymoon for 9 days. Galley bay exceeded all of our expectations and once greeted by the friendly staff and drinks we knew it was going to be a vacation of a lifetime. Never been to Caribbean, I researched every resort in Antigua and galley bay seemed to be the best choice. I cant tell you enough how happy I am that we chose this resort. The "Coco Loco" was my favorite drink, which def. required a nap after a few. The resort being quite it was not hard to do. We stayed in G8, one of the "Gauguin" cottages, which I was deciding between that or a beachfront. Our cottage was such a short walk to the beach and bar, that it made it so worth staying in the cottage as it has its very own plunge pool and privacy. Being our honeymoon we were greeted by champagne and robes in our room, which was a nice surprise. The beautiful restaurants, beach, amazing food, and outstanding staff made this trip perfect. While there we met another honeymoon couple and we shared many days checking out the excursions, in town shopping, and deep sea fishing adventure. If you decide to go on a deep sea fishing adventure, ask for the vitamin B boat, our couple friend caught us a "Maui Maui", brought it back to the resort and had the sea grape restaurant cook it up for us. It was definitely the most amazing fish I have tasted not to mention we had enough to feed the 4 of us for dinner that night and lunch the next day. Oh and if you like a great bartender ask for "Arthur" coolest guy ever!!! Ohh and don't forget to check out the 2 man band at the "Gauguin" restaurant they come and play for you at your table and they are hilarious. Couple other things you must do at Galley Bay, One, talk to Shawn who runs the excursions and go on the circumnavigation cruise around the island...amazing! Second, go to Shirley Heights on Sunday, an amazing get together with the locals and great food/music. Third, go into downtown St. John for shopping for some great gifts and its safe. Fourth, walk around the bird sanctuary, which takes 15 minutes and don't forget to bring bird food they may chase you but they are the friendliest around and they are just looking for food. This resort is for all couples who like to relax, have fun, and be adventurous. There are many options to do what you want at Galley Bay, be it relax on a beautiful beach or go on many fun island adventures. Just a reminder all these excursions do cost extra money and are not included in the Galley Bay price, however I think that this is most typical at many Caribbean resorts. Also, the island takes U.S. dollars and Eastern Caribbean but there is no way to get U.S. dollars in most places in St. John so make sure to bring a little extra cash if you want to use U.S. dollars. An ATM at the resort would be ideal, but not available. In all, if you must travel to Antigua and want to stay in St. John, Galley bay is my first choice and always will be. Thanks Galley Bay and staff on making our honeymoon perfect in every way possible!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlynnM02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,420 - 2,424 of 3,340 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2011

Have just returned from Galley Bay and can only agree with the other reviews in that this is an excellent place to stay and I cannot fault it at all.

It is the best all-inclusive hotel we have stayed in. The manager and staff do everything to make the guests feel welcome and special.

It is an ideal place for a relaxing break and it was a real wrench to have to leave. We will be back as soon as possible.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone.

Thank you to the manager and all the staff for a really lovely holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mumskibumski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Galley Bay is beautiful - great setting with all the amenities. This was our first "all inclusive" experience, & the food was better than expected - would recommend Lobster at the Gaugain, well worth the $25 surcharge. There were always plenty of beds at the beach & the pool, it never seemed to get crowded anywhere. We stayed in a cottage, and did get badly bitten by mosquitos, though the sight of humming birds and the occassional mongoose outside the door every day almost made up for the insect bites. The only other thing about the cottages is the bathroom (which includes your wardrobe space) is separate from the bedroom and not air conditioned - a minor point, but next time I would definately pay extra for the beachfront rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Just returned from our 4th trip to Galley Bay, and am already thinking about next year!! This resort has a staff that makes you feel like family, which is why, when you arrive they say "Welcome Home"! The resort is quiet and relaxing, and more than accommodating to most any request. We have met many people who have been to Galley Bay 10 or more times, and some that vacation there more than once a year....They must be doing something right!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Lynn915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

We've just returned from a few days at Galley Bay, and already we're looking to book again. It's absolutely stunning, from the accomadation, to the beach, the staff and food. Couldn't fault a thing. Thanks to Arlene and all the staff at Galley Bay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brendan1680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Five Islands Village
8.1 km away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,900 reviews
4.1 km away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
1,035 reviews
7.6 km away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
COCOS Hotel Antigua
COCOS Hotel Antigua
#1 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
844 reviews
21.5 km away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
20.7 km away
St. James's Club & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galley Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galley Bay Resort

Address: Gray's Farm Main Road, Five Islands Village, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > Five Islands Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Five Islands Village
Price Range: RM2,373 - RM4,283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galley Bay Resort & Spa - Antigua’s Most Exotic Escape - Refurbished 2015. An exclusive all-inclusive 4 1/2 star hideaway with 98 intimate guestrooms nestled amidst 40 secluded acres of beachfront tropical gardens, lagoon and bird sanctuary, and magnificent 3/4-mile white-sand beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Galley Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galley Bay Hotel St. John`s
Galley Bay Antigua
Galley Bay St Johns
Antigua Galley Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing