We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
WIOL.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
eDreams
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,526)
Filter reviews
1,526 results
Traveller rating
688
311
195
142
190
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
688
311
195
142
190
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the caribbean restaurant the diamond club lounge young professionals martini bar hunter steakhouse swim up room gourmet marche travel smart fort barrington foam party antigua resort a la carte restaurants family vacation guest services welcome drink beach grill filet mignon
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 1,526 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Avoid if your English or European
Half way through a 2 week stay at the royalton Antigua. Struggling for the right words. 18 months of covid and decided to take our children and grandchildren away for 2 weeks in the sun at a cost of £20k for a family of 7 in 3 rooms. Food mediocre entertainment mediocre accommodation mediocre but the people on holiday atrocious. Full of bad mannered aggressive people from American who have paid a couple of thousand dollars to stay in swim up rooms get the best service and start fights with everyone at the bar when asked not to smoke in front of children. It is purely for the lower end of the American market. Horrendous. Felt like we were in the bronx. This hotel does not want or appreciate the European market. Save your money and go somewhere more upmarket.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
6  Thank 33amanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalton Antigua Management Team, Marketing at Royalton Antigua Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear 33amanda,

Thank you for selecting our resort for your current holiday and for sharing your feedback.

We are truly saddened to learn of your dissatisfaction thus far as this is certainly not the feedback we would've hoped for. The concerns you've highlighted were shared with our Food and Beverage Manager, Entertainment Manager, and all other relevant personnel for further review and action.

In regards to your comments about our target audience, we must respectfully disagree as our resort caters to a variety of guests from all corners of the world who have often shared their high praises of the experience and level of service provided to them. While we cannot control the behaviour of our guests, our resort is equipped with professional security officers who are readily available to intervene and diffuse any arising issue or problem.

It would be a pleasure to speak with you further and address any additional concerns you may have. In an effort to do so a direct message was sent to your TripAdvisor inbox seeking additional information so that our team may reach out to you to which we are awaiting a response.

We look forward to providing you with an exceptional remainder of your stay.

Kindest Regards,

Royalton Antigua,
Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My expereicne was terrible from start to finish. They put me and my wife in a room with 2 full size beds for our honeymoon when we requested a King bed months ago. We also were suppose to have a water view but they put us in room facing trees. Within the first 2 minutes of being in the buffet you clearly see they have a massive FLY problem with flies on top of uncovered food, flies inside desert case, flies on top salads. When you eat you constantly have to shoe away flys while eating -No Exaggeration. This is a health hazzard and disgusting to see all 6 days. There only remedy for this is telling you its Fly Season as if that makes things better.

The diamond club experence was afwul and waste of money. They did not decorate our room for honeymoon package until our third day there. They did not give us complemenry bottle until last day and they never gave us our 600$ resort credit we requested. When checking out on last day diamond club rep did not give me my change when paying for gift shop items.

The level of customer service was terrible, wait staff are not friendly, they do not collect your plate at buffet and you have to find a waiter to request a drink.
There are little to no events to go to on resort. Elevators are dirty

The best thing was the beach as its very clean, many fish in the water and weather was perfect.

I should of believed the reviews and picked a different resort. Will be rebooking a new trip to celebrate my honeymoon properly.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PeaceLoveHappyness
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalton Antigua Management Team, Marketing at Royalton Antigua Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear PeaceLoveHappyness,

Thank you for choosing our resort and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

Your highlight of our stunning beach is greatly appreciated.

Regrettably, your experience with us was not as we would've hoped for it to be. Whilst an apology will regrettably not alter the outcome of your experience on this occasion, we do extend it with all sincerity. We are truly regretful that your experience was less than perfect as we consistently aim to provide exceptional experiences to all our guests and can assure you that the reported issues are in no way a true representation of our brand standard. Every concern expressed was recorded and shared with the relevant managers for further review and action.

In regards to bedding, we must highlight that while we do try our best to honor the bedding requests of our guests, this can never be guaranteed and is based upon the availability of such and this is highlighted upon booking.

As it relates to your comments about flies, we must first address the comments regarding food being left uncovered as this is certainly not the case. Being that we are in fact in the "fly season" we make it our duty to ensure food items are covered, this is usually done with transparent coverings and saran wrap coverings to make the visibility of items as easy as possible to our guests and maybe the reason items may appear to be uncovered. In addition to this with the assistance of our pest control partners, all areas are treated daily to minimize the impact this may have on our day-to-day operations and increased cleaning of surfaces and areas to combat such issues. The health and safety of our guests are of the utmost importance and our resort has taken every measure to ensure all the necessary standards and requirements are met and followed attentively. Our certification by the health authorities of Antigua is a testament to this.

We value your business and truly wish that you can forgive the inconveniences and it is our sincerest hope that you will award us another opportunity to restore confidence in our brand. We also invite you to contact our post-Travel team via email at; posttravelran-anu@royaltonresorts.com so that they can speak with you further to resolve any concerns raised.

Warmest Regards,

Royalton Antigua,
Management Team.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were asked if our room was OK, when we stated we would prefer the room with the view in the advert we were told there was no availability that night, we then requested to move when one became available but were ignored.

Minibar all of a sudden became non-alcoholic, 2 managers giving different excuses and bar staff and the TV display saying it should come with a bottle of choice.

Whatsapp Virtual Butler service was also another place we could be ignored. Having to ask questions a few times or being told “we’ll get back to you” then being forgotten about.

Test Fire alarms go off with no prior warning.

After a few days we get a birthday party put either side of our room, security and calls telling them to be quiet did nothing. Yes you can’t control guests but you can control where you put them. Basic Reservations 101.

Walls are thin too so it wouldn’t have been too much of a problem if the build was decent.

A manager promised us a new room in another block with the better bay view (which is what we'd paid for) the following early afternoon, she had left notes, only to be told she didn’t put notes and we were told “they would see if its possible” so the manager LIED TO OUR FACES because later we told the previous manager and she showed us her notes.

My spa massage was terrible. They also ran out of Aloe vera for the Aloe wrap treatment I wanted.

Free Covid tests were offered to guests around the hotel if “their country needed mandatory tests as a requirement” which the UK does. We were then told it was marketing for US customers only. Very misleading.

I sat down with the Diamond Club manager who didn’t care, offered excuse after excuse and no solutions (an hour of our holiday time we won’t get back) and I even tried to help her but her reply was the next day via Whatsapp again saying no to helping out in any way. Not even brave enough for a phone call.

Upgrade to Diamond Club not worth it. Didn’t get Premium drinks, the food was also set up on the normal beach side too and it was busier than the normal side.

Bell service on the final day left us waiting and didn’t turn up making us late for our flight. The cherry on the cake of a shocking 11 days.

I have website, whatsapp and other screenshots.

Other disappointments were;

The fridge was not kept stocked up and we had to call and ask for Water and Soft drinks.

The food was inconsistent, nice one day, bland or inedible the next.

The entertainment was rotated and recycled weekly so if you’d been there a week you’d heard and seen it all before.

The gym ran out of towels.

Other guests were also complaining about much of the above.

Elevator buttons often didn’t work properly, on some occasions we had to walk down a floor to call the lift.

For 2 days one of the elevators wasn’t working while they replaced the floor tiles and another 2 days one of the men’s toilet wasn’t available near the Culinary Restaurant.

All of these issues are something you would expect from a 3* hotel.

After going through the pandemic like everyone else we needed a relaxing holiday and instead we got a nightmare of excuses and not what we paid for and no intent of any hospitality at all.

I have since written a 3 page complaint letter and the assistant to the GM offered an insulting compensation of 4 days in one of their hotels and is refusing to give me details of where I can escalate the complaint to, which Is illegal.

Room tip: Whatever you ask for you'll probably be ignored, just don't stay here!
Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MrIanM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalton Antigua Management Team, Marketing at Royalton Antigua Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear MrIanM,

Thank you for choosing our resort and for taking the time to share your feedback.

We are truly saddened to learn of your less than perfect experience and extend our sincerest apology for any inconvenience or inconsistent service you may have experienced as this is surely not the feedback we would've aimed to receive nor is this a true reflection of our resort or brand.

The concerns, comments, and recommendations you've taken the time to share are greatly appreciated and have all been noted and shared with our management team as such feedback has proven to be invaluable in our continued efforts to improve on the standard of service delivered to all of our guests.

We wish to also take this opportunity to provide some clarity on some of the above-mentioned concerns, the first being the minibar inclusions, at the time of your stay premium liquor was only included for guests occupying bungalows and/or swim out rooms, this was explained to you by our Diamond Club Manager who then went on to make an exception to you as a goodwill gesture. Our team has spoken with you and recorded your every complaint, concern, and recommendation and have made various attempts while you were here to turn your experience around but unfortunately, none were found satisfactory. Having escalated the matter to our post-travel team since your departure, we hoped that we would've been able to come to an amicable conclusion to this matter as we found our offer fair after having completed the necessary investigations.

Whilst we understand that an apology does not change the past we hope that you will reconsider our offer and grant us the opportunity of redemption with a future stay that will certainly surpass your last and change all negative perceptions that you may have of our brand.

Kind Regards,

Royalton Antigua,
Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Similar to others, we were nervous after reading reviews so I will be as honest as possible in the hope to help others.

We stayed in a suite overlooking the bay and it was stunning. The view was amazing. Rooms were clean. Fridge stocked each day and cleaned daily with fresh towels etc. Bed is so comfy! Air con is great. TV has good channels with films etc.

The beach is beautiful. We were taken back by the clear ocean. We loved it! It was stunning. Sunbeds are comfy and bar was steps away. At times, someone would come to take drink orders but this wasn’t all the time. We didn’t mind this. We are happy to get our own drinks.

The pool is lovely. Swim up bar was great! The pool vibe team are great and lift the mood with songs and games etc. On Wednesday they had a gigantic inflatable slide which was great fun. If you like quiet poolsides then this isn’t for you. But we loved it!

Food
Steak house - brilliant
Pizza place - brilliant
buffet - brilliant (especially breakfast - everything you could want)
Pub - very slow service on both times we went. Hours! Spent waiting for food.
Caribbean - didn’t try as not a fan

Evening entertainment is great! Water sports great. We hired a cabana for the day at the pool with private pool and we loved it! We also did the extreme boat tour which was life changing! We loved it! Swimming with sting rays and snorkelling.

Staff are so friendly. Very accommodating to all your needs. Go over and above. Very smily and happy! Elroy especially! He’s so friendly and happy. Always lifting the mood!

Overall we loved our stay here. We will be back!

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank 762mariaed
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalton Antigua Management Team, Marketing at Royalton Antigua Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear 762mariaed,

Thank you for such a heartwarming review and for choosing Royalton Antigua for your recent honeymoon.

We are delighted to learn that you had such a wonderful stay with us and are appreciative of your comments highlighting the enjoyment of the holiday we delivered to you and the exceptional service received from our hosts, namely Elroy. Your kind compliments will surely be shared with him.

We value your feedback and have noted your every comment as feedback such as yours has proven to be invaluable and has aided us in our continued strides of improvement of the overall standard of service delivered to each of our guests.

It was truly a pleasure hosting you, we thank you for your perfect TripAdvisor rating and we look forward to your return for an even greater experience.

Kindest Regards,

Royalton Antigua,
Management Team.





Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

First I really do want to say that this property it’s amazing rooms are clean beach is stunning however, Service at this resort it is two stars i’m not sure if this is island vibe all day long or what.
Ricardo was absolutely amazing they need more people like him .
I’m just very disappointed for the money that I paid I expected much more especially when Apple vacation it’s giving this resort five golden apples and PCR test supposed to be complementary well we paid $375 for five of us

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank 254zlatkag
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalton Antigua Management Team, Marketing at Royalton Antigua Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear 254zlatkag,

Thank you for making Royalton Antigua your vacation destination and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We are truly appreciative of your comments highlighting our stunning property, the decor of our rooms, and the overall ambiance of our resort. Your commendations of Ricardo will certainly be shared with him.

Judging from your comments we were however unable to exceed your expectations and for this, we extend a heartfelt apology as our aim is always to provide exceptional experiences to all of our guests. Your comments regarding inconsistent service levels have been noted and shared with our Training Manager and all other relevant personnel as we continue to develop our hosts via various pieces of training. In regards to your comments about testing, this is available at the resort at an additional charge to all guests and we assure you all tour operators and travel agencies are aware of this.

We are truly honored to have hosted you, we thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back soon for a holiday experience that will certainly surpass your last.

Kindest Regards,

Royalton Antigua,
Management Team.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews