We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Glorious long weekend”
other travellers have booked this property
Rose Cottage at Hazelhurst Farm from across the lake.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rose Cottage at Hazelhurst Farm from across the lake.
Rose Cottage from the Courtyard. View across patio towards the lake.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Rose Cottage at Hazelhurst Farm from across the lake.
Rose Cottage from the Courtyard.
View across patio towards the lake.
Bedroom One.
Bedroom One.
Bedroom One.
Bedroom Two.
Bedroom Two.
The Kitchen/Dining/Utility Room.
The Sitting/TV Lounge.
The Sitting/TV Lounge.
The Sitting/TV Lounge.
The optional Lounge available as third bedroom for 6 occupants with additional charge.
The optional Lounge available as third bedroom for 6 occupants with additional charge.
The optional Lounge available as third bedroom for 6 occupants with additional charge.
The main bathroom with bath, shower and toilet.
The main bathroom with bath, shower and toilet.
The second toilet.
Hazelhurst Farm looking through the entrance gates.
The landscape setting of Hazelhurst Farm.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Mercaston, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Clara T
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Glorious long weekend”
Reviewed 17 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Well what a magical place! The grounds are gorgeous and perfect for kids: patio with views, woodland to explore, a long slow swing from a tree by the lake, a generously sized sunken trampoline, lots of animals and...oh my gosh ponies! Rose Cottage was spacious and comfortable, to a really high quality finish. Christine and Rodger made us feel very welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ToneK74
1 review
“Wonderful Easter weekend”
Reviewed 6 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Stayed at Rose Cottage with two other families - total of six adults and six kids - and we had the best time!!! Our hosts really went out of their way to make us feel welcome and make sure we had a great stay. Wonderful rooms, luxurious bathrooms and the garden: wow! Our kids spent hours on the trampoline, exploring the woodlands and saying hello to the horses (even got a ride!). We really had the best time!! Tone, Ant, Magnus and Lumi

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kourentzi...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rose Cottage-A Real Gem”
Reviewed 29 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I have just arrived home from a fabulous girls weekend at Rose Cottage.
What a super place.
We arrived just after lunch, which we had at the Saracen's Head, which Christine recommended and booked for us (Outstanding food and service), to be welcomed by Roger and Christine who were both so charming. Christine showed us around the beautifully decorated cottage and explained everything in great detail.We all had bathrobes and lovely toiletries. She had even baked us an extremely delicious Victoria sponge and left us a bottle of red wine. Nice touch.
The grounds are extensive and amazing with even swans floating on the lake. It is an incredibly peaceful and we totally relaxed, just what we needed. I would highly recommend Rose Cottage to all my family and friends and cannot wait to stay there again.
Thank you Roger and Christine xxxx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe T
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A great retreat.”
Reviewed 18 February 2015 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We found this wonderful place when searching for places to get away for a few days. It was fantastic. We had a great time, Roger and Christine supplied more than necessary for our stay and were extremely welcoming! We enjoyed every minute while at rose cottage with the fantastic grounds to walk around, a little bit of snooker when we found the time. Roger and Christine also recommended the local pub for dinner one evening which was lovely! Great food, great prices. We are looking to go back very soon and we miss rose cottage and our relaxing break as soon as we are home. Cannot wait to revisit, thank you Roger and Christine! Hopefully we will see you soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRACY P
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Total escapism with stunning grounds”
Reviewed 2 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We have just returned from an amazing stay at Rose Cottage. The cottage is beautiful every attention to detail both inside and out. Roger and Christine are super hosts who make feel like one of the family. Thank you for our M + S goodies much appreciated.The cottage is stunning and set in beautiful grounds over looking 2 Lakes. Our boys loved the sunken trampoline and playing with all the dogs and fat cat. They also loved the snooker table. We did Carsington water and Tissington trail bike rides and had a lovely walk at Dovedale. It was so luvly to have a great day out and know we were returning to our amazing Rose Cottage and home from home comforts.Its a gem and we will be back.Thank you Roger and Christine.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The accomodation and setting.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing