We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Experience”
Review of Pension Maate

Pension Maate
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Maate
Ranked #55 of 142 Cesky Krumlov B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 September 2014

We stayed at Pension Maate for 2 nights in August 2014. Location is superb, it is few minutes walk from the Student Agency bus stop, also a short walk from the old town square. Very convenient. The Owner Jana, is a warm and friendly lady, we felt as if we were at home. We arrived late in the evening around 9pm, since the owner stay on the ground floor itself, there was no problem in collecting the room keys, bonus was the mini bar in the kitchen. Room was neat and clean with a good view of the castle. Breakfast was good. Overall loved it.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manjuri2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (9)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 9 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2013

Location was great; really close to bus station & also to old town; but more in a residential neighborhood with a lot of the modern comforts. Really nice owner who was extremely helpful & flexible. My only pet peeve (and truly it was a very minor thing in the large scheme of things) was that linen quality was not so great. Still, it didn't keep me from a great night's sleep.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank soobie2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We stayed at Pension Maate for a night in February and it far exceeded our expecatation.

It was an 8-minute walk from the Student Agency bus station to Pension Maate, and it was easy to find. Just another short walk will take you to the town centre of Cesky Krumlov. Pension Maate is not at prime location per se, but it was pretty much on the way from the bus station to the town centre anyway.

It was a beautiful walk at night from the towncentre; the roads were well lit and safe, and as we tilted our head upwards the sky was full of stars. (Don't see that in the Toronto suburbs anymore.)

The room are simple and clean, and the bathroom is equipped with a powerful hairdryer, not the crummy ones you find at most places. The room has satellite TV with over 100 channels, but one should walk the old town instead of watching TV in Cesky Krumlov.

The owner, Jana, planned around our bus schedule and waited for us at her Penzion; she even gave us the room (and a choice after seeing the different rooms) at noon, well ahead of the supposed "check-in" time. The next day when we told her we were going horseback riding and needed a taxi, she offered and drove us to the stables. Also, she let us leave our bags at the Pension, and we just picked it up before leaving for the bus.

Even though there were only the two of us for breakfast, Jana set up a plentiful meal with a selection of cheese, hams, yoghurt, bread, cake, and full pots of coffee and tea.

Jana speaks Czech, English, and Russian; and although her English isn't top-notch, we had no problems communicating, and her friendliness is obvious to see.

A note on the history of the Pension: Jana had lived in one-half of the house for 20 years, and when the family in the other half moved out a few years ago, her family bought and renovated the place, which became Pension Maate (Maate is the combination of the names of the couple who used to live in the place, shows how thoughtful Jana is.)

We had a very good experience at Pension Maate, and would definitely recommend it to fellow travellers.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

I stayed here on my first visit to Cesky Krumlov years ago and it still remains my favorites.

The Pension/B&B is located on the upper floors of a building owned by the people who run the place. My dealings with them have consistently been great and I have found them to be very nice & helpful people who genuinely want you to have an enjoyable stay. If for nothing else, I will keep coming back because of this.

The rooms themselves are clean & comfortable. They are not what you would find in a 5 star hotel, but that is not what I am looking for when I go to Krumlov. The furnishing are simple, clean and tasteful and all the rooms still feel very new from a recent renovation. Breakfast is available as well and has always been well supplied with various muffins, cakes & cereals.

The location is good, situated on a hill above the city center (some of the rooms do have nice views of the castle). It is about a 5 minute walk down to the center. The walk back up is a decent little bit of exercise, but the views on the way there make it worth it and, lets be fair, it really not that much of a walk (besides, you can take a taxi by for just a couple of dollars if you are feeling lazy).

There are plenty of great places to stay in Krumlov; this just happens to be my favorite and, given the consistency & satisfaction with my previous visits, I am not too inclined to look any further.

Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrussellpowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Aregolavanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cesky Krumlov hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#1 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
691 reviews
0.7 km away
Pension Jana
Pension Jana
#37 of 142 in Cesky Krumlov
17 reviews
0.3 km away
Pension Tiffany
Pension Tiffany
#47 of 142 in Cesky Krumlov
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Konvice
Hotel Konvice
#7 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
332 reviews
0.9 km away
Penzion Weber
Penzion Weber
#13 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
71 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Ruze
Hotel Ruze
#6 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Maate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Maate

Address: Kaplicka 184, Cesky Krumlov 381 01, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Cesky Krumlov
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in Cesky Krumlov
Price Range: RM 243 - RM 298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Maate 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pension Maate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing