We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5)
Filter reviews
5 results
Traveller rating
3
1
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
3
1
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 December 2008

Ross and Emili we so friendly, and hospitable. The room was extremely clean, and the atmosphere was wonderful. I would recommend this establishment to everyone.

Date of stay: March 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rendur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2006

Pension Ross is a guest house in the distant backwaters of Sterboholy on the outskirts of Prague run by a friendly husband and wife team. They didn't tell us their names, so we christened them Bob and Martha and, although we were later informed by another guest that they were called Ross and Emily, the pseudonyms stuck throughout the visit.

The guest house is roughly 30 minutes by public transport from the centre of Prague, involving a metro (tube train) and a bus. The buses run every half hour through the day and every hour at night - bang on time. Whilst this is not an unreasonable distance from the city centre, be aware that you won't be living on Wenceslas Square and that the last bus back from the tube station is at 00:09.

Bob and Martha seem genuinely committed to making guests welcome during their stay. Upon arrival, Bob gave us his "lecture" (his words, not ours) on how to stay safe in Prague, including not to carry too many cards or passports, taking only the money we needed and to take the business card of the hotel. He told us that if we had any trouble whatsoever we could call them - giving us his mobile phone number - and he would come and pick us up post haste. In addition to this, he took us out to show us the local amenities, including local restaurants, where to catch the bus and the short cut to the huge EUROPARK shopping centre, which is less than ten minutes away by foot. You will also find Bob and Martha more than willing to offer advice on any aspect of your stay, including which tourist attractions are worth seeing, how best to get to them and which transport ticket will work out most efficient for you.

On the tour of Sterboholy, Bob will probably make two recommendations for places to eat. The first of these is the Bowling Club restaurant, a short walk from the hotel. Whilst this restaurant is reasonably priced, the food is distinctly less-than-average and they only have one menu in English. The second is the Interspar Cafe ("the cheapest place to eat in Prague"). Here, the food is remarkably cheap but this is very evident in the quality and I would not second this recommendation.

One meal you will not have to worry about buying is breakfast, which is included in the price (although we did not know this until we arrived). This is normally hot coffee and fruit juice along with eiher ham and cheese, omolette or sausages and a large selection of bread - just what you need to kick-start your day. Breakfast is served in the dining room, which quite obviously doubles as the family living room and kitchen area.

The bedrooms in the hotel are furnished to a roughly equivalent standard to those of a Travelodge in the UK, with en-suite bathroom, daily-changed linen and cleaned daily. The rooms are comfortable, large and tastefully decorated - or at least ours was! Please be aware, however, that the "double bed" is actually two singles pushed together.

In conclusion, Pension Ross is well worth the three stars that it has awarded itself. Whilst it is some distance from the centre, it is easy to find and easily reached by public transport, although I would recommend paying for the transfer service, meaning that Bob will pick you up from the airport, especially if you expect to arrive into Prague late in the evening. Definitely recommended - Bob and Martha really made our stay!

Date of stay: August 2006
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank richardthemonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2006

The Pension Ross Prague is a small, family run bed and breakfast. It is clean, spacious and comfortable; everything you need for a short (cheap) city break. The owners are really friendly. They took us to the local pub upon our arrival. They warned us about pick-pockets in the centre and told us to call them if we ever got into any trouble and they would come to out to pick us up wherever we were. The location is a short bus journey and a short metro ride away from the centre of Prague but only costs 20 Koruna and the transport is extremely reliable. The breakfast is continental style.

All in all, the owners of the B n B made our stay really special.

Date of stay: August 2006
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Gemma0709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews