We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegance”

Restaurant U Modre kachnicky
Ranked #54 of 6,191 Restaurants in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Czech
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Praha 1 (City Center)
Reviewed 15 December 2018

A very elegant place for dining in style. We absolutely fel in love with restaurant and its dishes. The place is a must!

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank anitaruoho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (940)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 940 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2018

Exceptional service and food. I had the flambéed Venison. Outstanding!! My wife had the duck and again, outstanding. The service was top notch. Really charming dining room. You cant go wrong dining here!

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2018 via mobile

This restaurant popped up on my phone when i tapped in "tradional Czech restaurants near me" and, with such favourable reviews of the food, we'd barely read the third one before hastily exiting our hotel hotly anticipating seriously good Czech nosh. Had we finished reading the reviews, we'd have realised that it was a rather posh establishment and returned to our hotel to smarten up.

Feeling sheepish as we entered the restaurant, i motioned to my partner for us to turn around and leave as we weren't dressy enough but, he wasn't having any of it as the hunger bug had already set in.

We were warmly welcomed by Gabriella and once we were seated she ensured that we were comfortable and enjoyed the experience. She shared with us the most fascinating history of the restaurant and gave us a tour at the end of our dining experience which was the pièce de résistance. Apparently it's frequented by Roger Federer, Ivana Trump, politicians and other well known faces All in all a delightful night with the attentive Gabrielle we'll never forget.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Travel_Beie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2018 via mobile

“The Blue Duckling” is a little way off the Castle / Charles Bridge main flow but none the worse. Its doors have reportedly welcomed Federer, McEnroe and many others. It is a rabbit warren of various small rooms eclectically decorated in a very old house. A very friendly welcome that was maintained throughout by all the staff. Duckling and game dominate the menu and we had both and they were very well prepared. Wine list was representative and the local Merlot recommended by the waiter was very good. All added up to good value and a very enjoyable evening.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank 369jeffh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2018 via mobile

We visited U Modre Kachnicky in Mala Strana after having done a little research into where to go for a special meal in Prague. Without having made a booking, we arrived at the restaurant hoping to find a table. After entering through a mysterious red curtain, we entered into what was a tranquil, atmospheric and homely room, full of fascinating decorations and memorabilia of times gone by. We were greeted and our coats were taken before being seated at a sweet table next to the window, which was lined with poinsettia plants and framed photographs of some well known faces to have frequented the restaurant in the past.

We enjoyed a wonderful meal, trying the duck confit and roasted pheasant breast; both meals were delicious and plentiful. We had aperitifs to drink, so can't attest to the wine but the nearby party seemed to enjoy whichever grape they'd chosen.

A special thank-you to Gabriela, who was attentive, polite and welcoming throughout our meal. The flamed pancake with Grand Marnier and fresh berries (literally cooked at the table) was divine. We will be back!

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank ukrabster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant U Modre kachnicky also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant U Modre kachnicky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing