We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secret fine dining”

Restaurant U Modre kachnicky
Ranked #54 of 6,191 Restaurants in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Czech
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Praha 1 (City Center)
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were recommended by a friend, it did not disappoint, very unique place. We were lead upstairs to an amazing dining room with a huge velvet curtain separating us from other diners. We ordered the 7 course tasting menu which was absolutely delightful, and washed down with some excellent red wine.
On arrival the restaurant seems closed, but the anticipation for what lay behind the curtain just added to the theatre of the experience.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Prudence W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (940)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 940 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Oh wow! We selected this restaurant because of its rave reviews on Trip Advisor, which were thoroughly deserved.

The decor is charming, the ambience very refined. We attended on a Saturday night, and there was a live pianist playing. Our waiter was friendly, and guided us to some extraordinary items on the menu. We also asked his advice for Czech wines, which were delicious.

This was fine dining, and the overall price somewhat matched this. (We paid about £45 per head for 2 courses with wine, which is great for what we got, but more than we paid elsewhere).

Would we go again? Definitely. A real treat!

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Charlie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I just had a perfect meal and experience. The food, duck being the speciality, was excellent. We both had our ducks Czech style, one being in the style of our waiter’s grandmother. We had a wonderful Czech red wine that is the owners favorite. Finally, the atmosphere was very traditional and comfortable. Do not be put off by the entry door that makes it appear that the restaurant is closed. It is simply a winter curtain to block the outside air. Enjoy.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 396foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Outstanding food, superlative service and a uniquely charming ambiance. This place has it all. We each had duck served in two different ways. Both were absolutely delicious. Good wine list that has very interesting Czech offerings. Our waiter was friendly, attentive and very helpful with food and wine selections. Compared to other fine dining places in Prague, this was definitely the best value. Our best meal in Prague.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TravelinCouple_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My favourite restaurant in Prague. Quirky, eclectic with excellent service and superb Czech cuisine.

The restaurant interior is one-of-a-kind. The decor appears to have been thrown together, yet it makes for a stylish whole.

We ate on the first floor, where the accomplished pianist played all evening. Started with the venison broth, followed by pheasant and concluding with a plate of ice creams and sorbets. All were excellent. Enjoyed a good Ryslink as an accompaniment.

Service was kind, pleasant and friendly.

An outstanding evening. Will return, again and again.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank StepneyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant U Modre kachnicky also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant U Modre kachnicky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing