We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

U Modre Kachnicky II.
Ranked #96 of 6,192 Restaurants in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Czech
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Staré Město (Old Town)
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This place is amazing. Definitely go here and try the Venison (soup, medallion entree) very cozy and welcoming . I loved eating here. Wish I ate here sooner than my last night in Prague. I will definitely be back.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank CostaMyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,038)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 2,038 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Dégustation menu was simply delicious although the portions were quite large. Great ambiance with a superb pianist to entertain. We will return!

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank geewhiz1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2018 via mobile

This restaurant was just around the corner from our hotel and we stopped in one evening without a reservation. Luckily they had two tables left but mistakenly we chose a table by the door. It was amazing how many people don't know how to close the door when entering or leaving a restaurant and on this cold winter's evening it was painful with the wind blowing in.

On a positive note, the food was hearty and traditional and the waiters were excellent. The restaurant had a very comfortable feel to it.

Putting aside choosing the wrong table, the ring tone of their phone was really annoying, especially as it kept ringing so frequently.

Try and choose a table at the back of the restaurant to avoid the two adverse points I make above as this restaurant is well worth a visit.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2018

We were recommended to this restaurant by our hotel and it was so good we returned the following night. It's close to the Old Town Square but far enough away to be quiet and exclusive. The ground floor interior extends to the back of the fairly narrow building and seats probably about 30-40. There is also seating upstairs. Lighting is subtle and seating comfortable. The decor is aged and in keeping with old Prague. Service is friendly and helpful. The menu is extensive and includes many traditional dishes. We tried the roast mixed platter on the first night and it was more than sufficient for two. The second time we had duck and pork, both of which were equally good. We tried a local Rose and can recommend it if you enjoy a dry interesting wine. Adding to the atmosphere was a piano player who, without being intrusive, really increased the good feeling within. . .

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GrahamVR4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2018

We had a really good meal here. This restaurant is located right in the heart of the Old Town. Ordered the veal and the grilled duck breast. Given the name of the restaurant (translated to Blue Duckling), we should have ordered all duck dishes. The grilled duck was a big winner. Our waiter was very professional and warm. It's not too expensive as compared to other similar restaurants in Europe but for Czech standard, it's a bit spendy. I would recommend to make reservation in advance as it's always booked.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 891charlien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed U Modre Kachnicky II. also viewed

 

Been to U Modre Kachnicky II.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing