We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for the location, cleanliness, and services provided!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mosquito Hostel Krakow
Ranked #2 of 468 Speciality Lodging in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2017

It was my first time staying in a hostel and I'm glad it was at the Mosquito Hostel. It was like staying at a hotel; the facility was organized, tidy and clean. The location of the hostel is convenient. It is within 10 minute walk to the Kraków Główny central train station, which you can take to/from the airport. A grocery store and 24hr liquor store is located in front of the building, and there is a nice bakery next door (Nakielny kawiarnia) to grab a snack. It is located on the edge of the Old Town. It is within 5 min walk to the Kraków Barbican (gate), which is the beginning of the "Royal Walk" towards Rynek Główny main square and St. Mary's Basilica (~10 min walk), and ends at Wawel Castle. The Kazimierz (Jewish District) was a further walk than I expected (~25-30 min).

The staff is friendly. They host events every evening and sometimes cooked dinner in the common room, which allowed me to meet a lot of other solo travellers. If you want to continue to party, the staff offered to take you to Krakow's local bars every evening. I enjoyed the fact that this hostel wasn't entirely a party hostel. There were fun activities and drinking, but I was also able to get rest every night.

There is an added BONUS of free laundry service and breakfast every day. Breakfast consisted of tea/coffee, cereal, yogurt, fruit, bread, cold cut meats and cheese. They also offer to store your luggage prior to check-in and after you check-out if you want to sight see before leaving.

Communication with the hostel was great! They have a 24/7 reception, so someone will promptly answer any questions you have before and during your stay. The check-in procedure went smoothly. I reserved through their website, which was cheaper than third party websites and more flexible with selecting rooms. You need to provide a non-refundable deposit of 6 PLN and pay the remaining amount upon arrival. When you arrive, you are given a tour of the facilities and are provided with a map of the city and recommendations for where to eat and what to see. They also provide tours to Auschwitz Concentration Camp and the Wieliczka Salt Mines. Bring your student card for a discount! I highly recommend booking a tour to Auschwitz with them because it includes transportation (private shuttle) and a guided tour of Auschwitz I and Auschwitz II (Birkenau) camps.

I stayed in a "Private Double Bed Room with a Shared Bathroom" for one night. The room was simple, with a small table for a lamp, a large shelf for storage, and several outlets to charge electronics. The room was a decent size for 1-2 people; there was enough room to move around and open my suitcase. The beds were fairly comfortable and are an actual North American sized double bed. The pillows were too thin for me. The only CON is that the room is next to the entrance and reception so you can easily hear people enter/exit the hostel or talk in the hallway. Definitely bring earplugs!

The shared female bathrooms had two showers and three toilets, each in a private stall. There is another single shower and toilet available for use. The bathroom was thoroughly cleaned every morning and was well maintained throughout the day. I didn't have any issues using the bathroom because everyone had different showering schedules.

I also stayed in a "Private Double Bed Room with a Private Bathroom" for one night. The room was similar to the "Private Double Bed Room without a Bathroom". It was spacious for 1-2 people, with lots of storage space, outlets, and there was even room for a small couch and table to do work on. The private bathroom had a large shower and was clean. Once again, the only CON is that it is located next to the hallway so you can hear people's footsteps or talking. Bring earplugs!

Overall, I highly recommend booking the Mosquito Hostel because it is a great value for the location, cleanliness and services provided.

Room Tip: "Private Double Bed" is a great value for 1-2 people, clean & comfortable. CON, you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Queenie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (763)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

64 - 68 of 763 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2017 via mobile

Hands down the best staff experience in a hostel I've been in. Everyday they do free dinner cooking with guests and staff which was on point. Also each night staff lead you out for drinks/pub crawl to real places that local university students go to. Not to mention staff are awesome and extremely social and outgoing.Shout out to Sylwia and Ania! They also arrange to book trips to Auschwitz and the salt mines that are cheaper than other companies (pick up at hostel). Best nontouristy food recommendations for perogis, unvi student druchies spots.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank George c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017 via mobile

Affordable rates, LOTS of space even in the 12-persons room, massive lockers, good common area, and choice of events. They do everything to make the guest comfortable, and that's the essence of exceptional hospitality!

Verdict: For solo backpackers, a stay here is even better than a hotel stay.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Andhieka P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017

The staff is really friendly. Good breakfast, they also offer free dinner. Perfect location -
5 minutes to the city center. The private rooms are nice! Due to the game nights every evening it is really easy to get in contact with other travellers!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Katjaaustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

Highly recommend the hostel staff was friendly and rooms were clean. Communal dining room great for meeting fellow travelers and also a kitchen well equipped. It is right in the center of Krakow so everything is very close

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Alexander T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Mundo Hostel
Mundo Hostel
#13 of 468 in Krakow
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wesoła Zachód
Atlantis Hostel
Atlantis Hostel
#33 of 468 in Krakow
281 reviews
Lux Aparthotel
#3 of 468 in Krakow
328 reviews
Bracka 6
#1 of 468 in Krakow
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mosquito Hostel Krakow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mosquito Hostel Krakow

Address: City Center Square Ul. Rynek Kleparski 6, Krakow 31-150, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kleparz , Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 468 Speciality Lodging in Krakow
Price Range: RM 71 - RM 247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mosquito Hostel Krakow 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAE Mosquito Hostel is probably the Best Located hostel in Krakow. Just 5 minutes walk from the Train Station and also 5 minutes walk to the Main Square. You will have an amazing stay here, in our new, clean, comfortable and spacious rooms with spectacular interior decoration. Mosquito Hostel in Krakow offers Free Internet & WiFi and a fully equipped modern Kitchen (microwave, refrigerator) directly connected with our common room, which is a great place to chill out and make friends as well as start out the night the right way. Mosquito Hostel in Krakow offers you a choice of privates and dorm rooms. Our dorms with bunk beds and really thick comfortable mattresses are full adult size, so no chance to bump your head on the top bunk as you sit on the bottom one! Each bed has comfortable duvet, bed linen and reading lamp.Our staff works very hard to have a very respectful and peaceful vibe without the crazy drunken atmosphere offered at most other hostels. Our goal is to make you feel like at home and will provide you with a great social atmosphere, as well as giving you the opportunity to have a good sleep, after a busy day of sightseeing the city. If you are people who want to make new friends, have a beer, enjoy the hostel atmosphere, enjoy Krakow,…you are really welcome! Our success is based on the respect to others!! In Mosquito Hostel Krakow you will have a familiar, friendly and young atmosphere where you will find us the whole day always willing to help you find a place to eat, to go out, also to book tickets, find best deals. MOSQUITO's activities:MONDAY: SHISHA EVENING - enjoy peaceful vibe of Shisha with other backpackers, TUESDAY: DRINIKING GAMES EVENING - WEDNESDAY: POKER EVENING - fun poker evening with funny Mosquito awards; THURSDAY: GAMES EVENING - compete with other backpackers, FRIDAY: TRAM PARTY - the best way to discover Krakow by night - upgraded sound and lighting system, pro DJs and loads of booze! end up at the club with plenty of new friends! SATURDAY: POLISH SHOTS TASTING - try one of polish shots prepared by our staff - what else do you need to warm you for the long night? SUNDAY: HOMEMADE COOKIES - try cookies made by our staff NO CURFEW!! NO LOCKOUT!! CHECK OUT 12.00 !!24/7 reception - check-in - security- FREE linen & comfortable duvets- FREE yummy breakfast- FREE coffee and tea all day long- FREE Internet & WiFi- FREE security lockers- FREE laundry- FREE Luggage storage- FREE unlimited phone calls to USA and CANADA!!!!The best hostel in Cracow! Coffee and tea are provided free of charge! Non-stop open supermarket downstairs. ATM at 10 meters. If Krakow is the place to be, then this is the hostel to be at. Drop your bags, and start living! Walk the quaint streets of the square right across the street. Bars, Restaurants, Museums, Coffee Shops, Boutique Stores...all of it right here next to our hostel in Krakow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mosquito Hostel Krakow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing