We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and delicious”

Restauracja Pod Herbami
Ranked #974 of 3,290 Restaurants in Warsaw
Cuisines: Polish
Restaurant details
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Every time we went by this little place it was chockablock with people waiting to get in. We tried to make a reservation, in person, but the response was incredulity. Just come when you want to eat. So last night (after 5-6 days in Warsaw) was our night: we found a moment when almost the whole resto was empty. It was full again in minutes.

The waitress, the same one that couldn't understand the concept of reserving, took our order. We had flaki and pulled pork in rye to start, and rabbit (it was Easter after all) and schweinhaxe as mains. We got wine by the glass. The whole thing was maybe the most delicious and for sure the least expensive dinner in 10 days in Poland.

I really liked the down-to-earth quality of this resto, the competent cooking, the good service and the low prices.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank intrepid1406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

First visit to the old town and fist restaurant we encountered. We fancied steak and chose to go in. Nobody else was in there which should have rang alarm bells but we gave it a chance. Ordered the steak and it came out hardly cooked at all completely bloody now i dont mind it a bit pink but id ordered them the way we usually do in britain so i thought maybe its different in Poland so we asked for the steaks to be cooked a little more which the waitress did.. she asked if we wanted more drinks which we both got despite my daughter saying no thanks. The steaks were served with salad and potatoes which were nice. It took forever to catch the attention of the waitress who seemed like the owner/manager who was on the phone a lot. When we did we were very suprised that there was a service charge added to the bill which we never encountered anywhere else during our stay. We paid and didnt make a fuss because we wanted to see the rest of the town and had already spent too long in there. My daughter and I loved poland and enjoyed our time there but will remember this establishment sadly for this reason.. we thought it was very sneaky of the management to add a service charge when no other places did it

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank suziew67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

The duck with apples is very tasty. The portion on picture was smaller than the real one. Very satisfied.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank AndrasT33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

We had pierogi, half were served cold other half warm. Then we had to ask for the bill three times and it still took 30 minutes to pay.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank 504niklasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017 via mobile

The restaurant has an old polish look to it.
The staff is welcoming but the service is slow.
We had a mix of pirogy that were nice. A bigos, sauerkraut cooked with meat and sausages, that was really good.
The main dishes, beef sirloin+chiken breast+duck, were good but not great.
For desert we had an apple pie that was good.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank raphaell685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restauracja Pod Herbami also viewed

Warsaw, Mazovia Province
Warsaw, Mazovia Province
 
Warsaw, Mazovia Province
 
Warsaw, Mazovia Province
Warsaw, Mazovia Province
 

Been to Restauracja Pod Herbami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing