We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great base for walking/hiking and discovering...”
other travellers have booked this property
The Alpine Retreat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Alpine Retreat
Living room, with flatscreen TV and wi-fi Well-appointed kitchen, with place settings for six.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
The Alpine Retreat
Living room, with flatscreen TV and wi-fi
Well-appointed kitchen, with place settings for six.
The huge bed seems small in this enormous master bedroom.
The twin beds in the second bedroom can be comfortably spaced or pushed together on request.
The loft room makes a great escape for the children
Luxurious shower room
A shower room with a view ! (Bled Castle)
Northerly views to Mt Stol across open farmland, The Vintgar Gorge is the beyond the small hill.
Spacious, tradional ground floor layout.
First Floor room layout
Loft room layout -  the perfect teenage hideaway ?
Outlook from the grassed garden area behind the barn.
The Lake Bled promenade
View from Osojnica (behind Camping Bled)
The Vintgar Gorge, a great circular walk from the Alpine Retreat
Waterfall at the foot of the Vintgar Gorge
Horse treking for all ages and abilities at Mrcina Ranc (Studor)
Down the Sava River
Up the Krma Valley
Tranquil Lake Bohinj
Fish !
Swimming in Lake Bled
The Lake Bled FUN BOB, great for kids of all ages!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Bled, Upper Carniola Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Great base for walking/hiking and discovering Bled and the surrounding area”
Reviewed 30 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The Alpine Retreat is set in a rural spot around 30 minutes walk or a few minutes drive from the centre of Bled and Stuart has left the house well equipped with information and maps. The house was spotlessly clean, spacious and had everything you need for a self catering holiday. I'd highly recommend it and Stuart has been incredibly helpful throughout the booking process and beyond.
This is what we did if it helps!
We are a family of 5 with 3 active teenagers so they didn't mind walking in and out of Bled most days and they took advantage of the many activities on offer from Bled itself. We went canyoning, white water rafting and did a 3 hour mountain bike ride with a guide (went through 3Glav Adventures) which was just fabulous. Much easier than stopping to map read every 5 minutes!
It's easy to rent kayaks on the lake so we interspersed kayaking and rowing with walking, swimming and lazing about around the lake.
We went to Lake Bohinj on a few occasions too - around 40 minutes drive away and a gentler and quieter alternative to Bled.
Stuart gave detailed directions for many walks ranging from 1 hour upwards and they were a perfect way to explore the stunning countryside right on the doorstep so we did a couple of those and enjoyed them thoroughly.
Vintgar Gorge is just a half an hour's walk away and we'd thoroughly recommend doing that walk early in your stay to familiarise yourself with what's around.
We also headed off early one morning to Venice and had a great day there. The trip is pretty easy by road if you set off early enough (we left by 6am) and takes around 3.5hours. Park at Tronchetto for 21 Euros for the day.
Ljubljana is well worth a trip too and so easy to get to. It took around 45 minutes to get to the centre and it's so pretty. Busy without being mobbed (unlike Venice!), lots of lovely bars and cafes and totally pedestrianised so nice and quiet to walk around. We took a gentle boat trip along the canal which was a fun way to see this beautiful town. I would happily spend more time there.
Zasip itself has a good pub and a small supermarket so your daily needs are covered and there's a pizzeria "up the hill" which looks good but we never used it!
The only negative point I can say is that the house is situated right next to a cattle shed (and the cows are in there permanently) so there's the occasional rural smell associated with that but if you're out and about all day, it shouldn't worry you too much. Depends on which way the wind is blowing too! They're incredibly quiet, so noise is not an issue.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed 5 December 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The beds were comfortable and the location was nice.
Liked least: The smell of the neighbors cows made us keep some windows closed when we would have liked to keep them open for the breeze.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Doha, Qatar
Reviewed 4 December 2015 for a stay in July 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: nothing to say
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Blodwen51
Victoria, Australia
1 review
“The location was one of the highlights of our European tour”
Reviewed 17 January 2015 for a stay in September 2014

Perfect location in Zasip near Lake Bled.
We were 3 couples travelling together and our stay at Alpine Retreat was one of the highlights of our European tour in September 2015. We all wish that we could have stayed longer. The southern views over Lake Bled are quite stunning and constantly changing. The house was hard to recognise from the road as the outside photos on the website are of the back of the house. It was a challenge parking our 9 seater people mover safely in the space allocated on the narrow road but we managed.
Stuart has done a great job in modernizing the house while maintaining the feel of an historic Slovenian farmhouse. Most facilities are very good and include a large flat screen TV, dishwasher, washing machine and good internet access. Bed rooms are spacious and the upstairs bathroom is excellent and quite modern. However, the downstairs bathroom is very basic. This fact would not deter us from returning to stay at the Alpine Retreat again.
A lot of local information regarding drives, walks and other activities can be found on the book shelves in the house which was very helpful. Not to be missed is the Vintgar Gorge walk.
There is a small supermarket in the village just a short walk away, an excellent restaurant serving local speciality foods and a pizzeria.
We have all brought back to Australia fond memories of our stay and hope to return one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Downstairs bathroom
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$118
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing