We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel Union
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Emonec(Ljubljana)
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Cubo(Ljubljana)
US$192
US$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$214/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$135
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Meksiko(Ljubljana)
US$97
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$110/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Stil(Ljubljana)
US$104
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
US$106
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Galeria River(Ljubljana)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hostel Tresor(Ljubljana)(Great Value!)
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Stari Tisler(Ljubljana)(Great Value!)
US$86
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,955)
Filter reviews
1,955 results
Traveller rating
1,066
694
139
41
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,066
694
139
41
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationold towntriple bridgethe main squareswimming poolthree bridgesthe riverexcellent hoteltop floorbusiness hotelroom was largebreakfast buffet isthe heart of the cityfew stepschurch bellspreseren squarebusiness trip
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 1,955 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2018

We've been fortunate to have traveled all over the world and we spent seven nights in Slovenia. Quite literally it was one of the most amazing trips we've ever done - great food and wine, beautiful country, neat history, stunning sites, and fantastic people. But one of the best things about our trip (no hyperbole!) was our hotel. Since we were there for a week, we spent a little bit more so we could get a suite with kitchen facilities and it was great to be able to spread out a bit more with the extra space during a long visit. The location could truly not have been any better. The property is right on the line where the pedestrian zone begins so we could drive up to the hotel, but still enjoy the walking areas of the Old Town. Also, we were a VERY easy walk to almost everything you would want to see in Ljubljana (e.g. walk out the door, turn left, and three minutes later you are at the Triple Bridge looking up at the castle). But the best thing was the help the staff gave us, ensuring that we were experiencing the best of Slovenia. And the best of the staff were the concierges, Gregor and Blaž! They were the perfect example of what a great concierge can do! Prior to the trip, Gregor helped with identifying wineries for us to visit and setting up dinner reservations. On the day we arrived and checked in, Blaž actually introduced himself and asked if we were Mr and Mrs S before we could say anything! And throughout our stay, they made sure that everything was perfect! We can't wait to return to Slovenia!

Room Tip: Push your budget as far as possible - a little extra budget will work to your advantage
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WineTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union_Hoteli_Team, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Union, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear WineTraveller,

We are thrilled to hear you choose to stay at Grand hotel Union. Our dedicated staff is determined to provide an outstanding hotel experience for each and every guest. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated, and we are looking forward to hosting your next visit to Ljubljana in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Tomaž Turk
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

Union Hotel made our 3 nights perfect. What we were requesting from a city center hotel, they provided. First of all, the location is excellent, 15 seconds to the Triple Bridge and Presernov Church which is the heart of the city. From there, every location is 10min walk. This is a very important advantage because you dont need a transportation at all. Cleanliness and house keeping are very good. Supports from the front office (Mr. Tomislav, Mr. Blaz) and from General Manager Mr. Milan are excellent. They have immediate solutions for anything with their smiling faces. I think the Union Hotel is providing 5 Star services from their new bed sleep quality up to their excellent breakfast menu, even though they have 4 star because of the facilities. But, there is no doubt, we will select them again. I will prefer definitely the room which will face to the Castle.

Room Tip: Castle View
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FatihErmihan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union_Hoteli_Team, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Union, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Dear FatihErmihan,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review following your stay at Grand hotel Union. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your time with us and hope to welcome you back again soon!

Kind Regards,
Tomaž Turk
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

The location is unbeatable and great value for money. The room is clean and the breakfast is the best quality and freshness. The services are above standard because all of the staffs, house keepers, waiters and front desks are very friendly and welcoming. They are eager to assure that the hotel guests feel well care for. It is really amazing

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Thon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union_Hoteli_Team, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Union, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear Thon J,

Thank you so much for giving us a 5 star rating and for your amazing praises. I am so glad that you had a great stay and enjoyed the hotel and services. Everyone works so hard to prepare everything just right and it make us all feel very good to know we had such a positive impact on your stay. We can’t wait to welcome you back.

Kind Regards,
Tomaž Turk
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

Business trip, comfortable room. Hotel suitable located to walk through the city centre after work. Wide variety of restaurants surrounding the hotel and also enough ships to buy some gift for the family

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank hafsun917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union_Hoteli_Team, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Union, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear hafsun917,

I am thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our central location so convenient. We are grateful for your business and we hope to be your hotel of choice when visiting Ljubljana. Should you have any questions or you are in need of assistance please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind Regards,
Tomaž Turk
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

I greatly enjoyed my stay at the Grand Union. The location is great for walking was excellent to reach all the tourist attractions. Very nice breakfast buffet, service was excellent. I would read up on parking garage prior to arriving as it was tricky finding where to park and the rooms while comfortable and spacious, the décor is not as current as the lobbies. But all in all - very nice hotel and I would stay there again.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Angie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union_Hoteli_Team, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Union, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear Angie L,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of Grand hotel Union. I'm glad to know that you found our accommodations comfortable, location superb, and breakfast buffet adequate. It was a pleasure to welcome you and we can't wait to meet you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Tomaž Turk
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews