We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Central Backpack King
Ranked #96 of 667 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

Just back in Ireland after visiting Budapest at the weekend. The staff in the hostel were exceedingly helpful. The location here is fantastic right around the corner from Saint Stephen's basilica. Rates were very good. Would definitely recommend. Thanks Szilvia and co

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Thank GalwayPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
There are newer reviews for Central Backpack King
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2017 via mobile

I absolutely loved this place. Staff were so friendly and helpful. They did everything they could to help us with directions etc. It was a really nice hostel. Beds were comfy and rooms were cosy. Lovely heating on by night especially when it was cold in winter time. Nice shower and kitchen facilities. Very city central. We were near to everything. I would highly reccomend staying here.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

the good points first: great location. At a very affordable price. Clean. Very friendly.
The place consists of two identical apartments on top of each other. One one the first floor, one on the second, ground floor being zero. Reception is on the first floor and really nice and helpful. There is a computer, and you can even print a couple of pages as needed. And yes, there is an elevator.
The building itself is an art nouveau gem and a bit run down. Which makes the youth hostel setup possible in the first place- rents must be reasonable for it to work.

We booked "a quiet room" online which was on the second floor. It actually had four beds in it, singles. But we booked and paid it as a double with shared bathroom. Pushed two beds together, which made it a double bed of sorts.
Now we get to the part that brought a very negative response a while ago, from a different user. The beds. Disregard this if you are young and can basically sleep anywhere. But if you are middle- aged, as we are: the mattresses are just too dang thin. We ended up using two piled on each other per bed. Very easy to maneuver them, they are so light. Then we slept comfortably on them. The blankets were thin, too, but that would be remedied by just getting an extra one from the little bedding closet in the common room, or ask reception. Nicely. In late October, this was a necessity, especially as the windows are a bit drafty and there is an inch of play between the lower end of the door and the floor. Remember, this is an old building, and these are the original doors and windows. The pillows are your smallest and cheapest IKEA issue, but those bothered me least. Again, the bedding closet would provide relief.
As for the natural light: the windows face either a narrow street, or a narrow courtyard, or what is basically a large ventilation shaft- in the latter, fresh air, yes, daylight, no. But again: this is a historic building. Natural light in the apartments was no priotity for those architects. And I assume the lightless rooms, one per apartment, were either for the maid or for storage in those days. Now you can just sleep there and hang out in the common room.

Noise: the old doors are not easy to open and close quietly, and many people will just automatically produce a lot of noise with them- which travels happily through the bottom gap of these same doors.
The bathrooms on the second floor were just fine, newly renovated and functional and clean. Everyone is given one mid-size towel, good enough for a few days.

The kitchen was fine, with a gas stove, enough implements of all kinds, a spacious fridge and freezer, a kettle, a toaster, a coffee machine, a microwave, and loads of inexpensive teabags of various kinds. Coffee and filters are provided, too. And sugar and salt, but bring your own milk. Grocery shopping is very convenient in this area. Several of the knives could use some sharpening, though.

On the whole, this place has much to recommend it, but the beds really could do with some improvement. Other things such as the light in that one room cannot be helped and should be accepted.

Reception was also nice enough to get us a cab to the Keleti station- cost was below 2,000 forint (seven Euros) on a public holiday, i.e. No traffic jams.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Azalee99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

This hostel was an absolute pleasure to stay in. The staff were so helpful and friendly, always up for a chat and spot on recommendation. The location is great, nice atmosphere and good value for money. I would definitely recommend it.

Good all rounder but particularly fantastic for the lovely staff!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Anon463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016

The Pros:
Friendly and very helpful staff (with one exception - see below) who are always at the desk if you have any questions/concerns. Excellent location. Elevator to the hostel on the first floor. Safe atmosphere.

The Cons:
We stayed in a private room which seemed to have frozen in time at some point during the 60s. The decor wouldn't have bothered us if the room had actually been comfortable, which, unfortunately, it wasn't. The pillows were loosely stuffed with what felt like clumps of foam. The sheets were old, and the duvets and mattresses were very thin. The rugs next to the beds were made of straw and could easily cause an accident because they slipped whenever you stepped on them! The window was purely ornamental as natural light didn't reach our level, so it felt like it was evening/nighttime in the mornings. Not a nice thing to wake up to!

There were only 2 showers and 3/4 bathrooms - all extremely small, not very well looked-after, and in a state of disrepair. One particularly annoying part is that you have to hold up the shower heads yourself because there aren't any hooks on the walls for them! And the toilet paper... yikes.

One last point - our flight was delayed coming in to Budapest, so we arrived at the hostel about an hour later than expected (12am / 1am). The guy at the desk was immediately pretty rude. Then when we mentioned paying for our stay, he muttered something about it being late and he was tired, so he wanted us to pay the next day instead. One of our bags also tipped onto the floor and made a bit of a noise, which got him even more irate! So you can imagine our confusion about the 'it's late' excuse when there was a group of people shouting and chatting into the early hours at the reception the next night/morning! Hopefully we just caught him on a bad day.

Yes, it's very cheap and it's purely a place to get some rest at night, but this doesn't mean that basic essentials like the quality of the bedding and washing/toilet facilities can be ignored.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Regina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
The Magazine Hotel & Apartments
District V / Inner City
Essential Hostel
Essential Hostel
#134 of 667 in Budapest
60 reviews
District V / Inner City
Pal's Hostel & Apartments
Pal's Hostel & Apartments
#11 of 667 in Budapest
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Budapest Centrum Hostel
Budapest Centrum Hostel
#84 of 667 in Budapest
139 reviews
District V / Inner City
Art & Design Studio
Art & Design Studio
#135 of 667 in Budapest
30 reviews
District V / Inner City
Boomerang Hostel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Backpack King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Backpack King

Address: Oktober 6. utca 15 | 1st Floor 1st Door, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 667 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Price Range: RM101 - RM273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Central Backpack King 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Central Backpack King reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing