We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$129
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
US$113
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$276
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
US$240
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Corinthia Hotel Budapest(Budapest)
US$246
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$397
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$316
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
Hotel Chesscom(Budapest)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,020)
Filter reviews
1,020 results
Traveller rating
549
356
80
21
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
549
356
80
21
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbuda sidequiet areathe rivermargit bridgeparliament buildingfresh fruitfamily roomliving roomreception staffpublic transportmetro stationstayed nightson footmin walkvisit budapestcity centrebreakfast room
Filter
Updating list...
497 - 502 of 1,020 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2012

My sisters and I booked this trip for our mothers birthday and it has been excellent!!

All staff have been helpful throughout the whole trip booking restaurants, taxis and advising us on sight-seeing. They were always friendly and kind.

The reception staff in particular were amazingly helpful, we like them a lot.
The staff at the hotel even provided us with a complimentary bottle of bubbly to celebrate our mums birthday which was amazing and made it so very special.

The rooms were beautiful and the free soft drinks were an excellent, well received touch.

I have been on a number of european city breaks and this has by far been the best. There is so much in the city to see and do and Hungarian people are incredibly welcoming and love to share their city with you.

The hotel regnum residence is fantastic and we would definitely, 100% come to budapest again and stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elliehutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

stayed in this hotel in september for 1 week nice hotel good location only probelm restaurant is not open weekend nights not good for 4 star hotel breakfast is average.Reception staff very good especially dora she is so good with clients staying at hotel good english and very good at giving directions hotel bar is ok free internet in lobby on hotel computer also paid 30 euro for late check out as my flight was not until late in evening otherwise an ok hotel would not give 4 stars over restaurant not opening at weekends

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gallagergo, General Manager at Hotel Regnum Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Dear Guest!
Thank you very much for your review about your stay in our Hotel. I am always sorry to read comments, which are not good or excellent as we are working to satisfy the needs of all our guest.
I am happy that you were satisfied with the services of the staff but let me explain your negative opinions. We used to close our restaurant for the weekned as our guest did not had a demand for an in house restaurant but I am happy to inform you that from 1st March 2012 we keep our restaurant open every day even for dinner and we also extended our room service menu.
I hope we can welcome you again in our hotel when you will have the possibility to have dinner every night in our Regnum Restaurant!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We stayed here on the Groupon offer in early March. It was lovely having a suite, and on one evening we returned quite early and enjoyed lounging about on the sofa watching some TV with a glass of wine. The rooms were excellent - a bit lacking in character perhaps, but having a bathtub and a fridge with room to put our own things in (as well as coke and water replenished each day for free) was very welcome. The staff were lovely - friendly and helpful. Breakfast was perfectly OK although the morning we arrived a bit later some things seemed to have run out.
We had one set lunch there too on the day we were travelling back - it was very tasty indeed and amazingly good value at HUF 1390 (less than a fiver) for 3 courses. There's a PC with internet free to use in the bar area - don't bank on a lively night at the bar though - it was dead when we were there (although not a problem because we had been out and just wanted a 'nightcap' - which we were able to take back to our lovely suite.
The location is not central and if you arrive late in the evening and book on the city tour the first morning, take something to remind yourself where it is - we had assumed the tour would end back at the hotel but it didn't. We had to ask some locals to make sure we found it OK as its on a bit of a back street. That said its not far to get anywhere. Battany Ter on the Metro 2 line is 5 mins away. Its 2 stops to deak Ter, where the interchange with the other lines is. Trams 4 and 6 by the Maragrit bridge are also less than 5 mins and they take you into Pest - we got off at Octagon and went to Frank Liszt square which has a number of nice looking places to eat. You can also catch the 86 bus from behind the hotel (stop outside the church) to Adam Clark Ter for the Funicular to the castle, or a bit further along for the Gellert spa. You can't buy tickets from tram or bus drivers and don't bank on using the ticket machines at the stops. Twice we found them out of order and once we put our money in but no ticket came out and when we pressed cancel we only got a couple of coins returned. Apparentely they are all Russian made and unreliable. Better to buy tickets at a staffed metro ticket booth. You can get a day ticket or if buying just for one or two trips you can buy all you need at the outset - they don't become 'live' til you validate them in the little orange boxes you see by the tikcet office/actually on the tram or bus.
The Kiraly spa is literally round the back of the hotel. The building dates from 1565 and its not at all glitzy or glam. But it had a beautifully warm central bath, a hotter pool alongside and the most fabulous jacuzzi I've ever been in. I can see why it might have been a bit of a gay hotspot when it had men only days, and why its not everyone's cup of tea but we thoroughly enjoyed it and went twice. (Tip: its cheaper between 9 - 12 in the morning).
Eaterie-wise, there's a great place on the corner of Bem Josef square and the road in front od the Danube about 3 mins away. Can't remember the name but there's a green sign for Gosser beer on the wall and you go downstairs to get in. Its like a German cellar bar and we had a really lovely meal there.Even though we were obviously tourists, when they brought the bill they pointed out a sign that had said there was a 25% discount applying that night. They could so easily have fleeced us, but didn't. There's also a few places near Battany Ter including a self service veggie restuarant (which we didn't get to try) and a pizza/pasta place that reminded me of Pizza Express. There's also a big Spar there for stocking up on groceries. (Try if you can to fit in a visit to the Grand centrasl Market near the Liberty bridge - but don't bother looking round the basement if you're the sort of person who gets a bit upset at seeing live fish squashed into tanks barely able to move).
Budapest is a beautiful city with some fabulous buildings. We had a great time wandering around, taking snaps, enjoying the food and lounging in the spa.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EurogirlBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We stayed at Regnum for 2 days during a sommer weekend in August. Nice staff, it was a hot friday night when we arrived and they gave us the tip of a beer festival taking place on the castle. I am very thankful for that!!
The hotel is well located in Buda, the staff very nice and our room was huge with a nice bathroom and the biggest balcony I have ever had in an apartment. The only downturn was on Saturday, certainly one of the hottest days of the year, around 37oC, and the air conditioning could not cope with the temperature. We complained and asked if we could change rooms, but they explained it was the central air conditioning, changing rooms would not help. They apologized and offered us refreshments, a nice move. And informed us that the heat ordeal would have an end, as the temperature would drop drastically during the night. And so was it ;-) A kind of cold front arrived and the temperature went back to normal < 30C. So, all in all, excellent except for the little heat problem which might be fixed by now or if not, it is just annoys on very hot days.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sleser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Like others we also booked this trip via Groupon - a particularly good deal! Hotel was excellent, a lovely suite, a huge bed and lovely bathroom. Staff were always helpful and cheerful. They recommended a good local restaurant which even came to pick us up from the hotel as no extra charge! Very good situation, not too far to walk into Pest over the bridge and right next to the Kiraly Spa baths which we spent a morning in. Definitely to be recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greenhouse51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews