We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$113
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Corinthia Hotel Budapest(Budapest)
US$255
US$244
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$118
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$137
US$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Book now, pay at stay
US$384
US$251
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$240
US$232
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$187
US$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Chesscom(Budapest)
US$93
US$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$579
US$357
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (309)
Filter reviews
309 results
Traveller rating
59
122
73
28
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
122
73
28
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooms are very basicoffice blockblaha lujza squaresecurity guardfaced the streetdesk and chairair conditioningfirst floortrain stationlocation is brilliantbathroom floormain roadbig roomjewish quarterwalked everywherewould stay here againcity centre
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 309 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2011

I stayed at Centrooms house for one night in September when making a 2 day trip to Budapest. I booked a family room with a kitchen through Laterooms as I travelled in a group of 4.
Finding the hotel is a bit tricky - it is a converted block of flats and there is no signs to indicate its where it is. Also there were a fair few tramps and beggars hanging around that area but me and my mother speak Hungarian so were thankfully not targeted by pickpocketers who usually target foreigners. To get in you have to ring a door bell, walk up a staircase which leads to a patio of the first floor of the house - reception is located there, the rooms are spread out through the building. We had to wait a fair bit to check-in, but to be fair the receptionist was on her own and the guests checking in before us had silly question after silly question....but once they went to their room, the receptionist was very helpful. We had one suprise when we asked about when breakfast would we served as on laterooms we booked 4 continental buffet breakfasts for £2.50. Turns out they dont actually have a breakfast room and the recetionist didnt understand why laterooms state they serve a buffet breakfast - what they do offer is a choice of a few dishes served at a restaurant nearby. She also said the price was incorrect and it would actually be more expensive but she said she would honour the price quoted on the website, which was very nice of her. She even called the restaurant to make sure they have brown breadrolls for my sister who is diabetic.
The room itself was massive, the bathroom was adequate, althrough there was no shower curtian which meant the floor flooded when each of us showered.
The kitchen had an oven with two hot plates on the top, cutlery, fridge, plates and pots but sadly no kettle - boiling water for coffe on the hot plate took absolutely ages.
The beds were ok, the pillows were absolutely tiny, also there was an ac in the room but it didnt really work. The TV was smallish and it was fixed to the wall at a weird angle but we didnt really visit Budapest to watch telly.
We spent our first day sightseeing- Buda Castle and the Parliament are still as amazing as I remeber them. We returned at 9pm- there was a bit of traffic noise but is nothing new in a city centre.
Breakfast in the morning in the restaurant that is about 5 minutes walk from the hotel was really nice - really not bad for £2.50 a head.
All in all, this place is not perfect but is definitely very good value for money. It is located about a minutes walk form a tube station which is handy. The staff were lovely and spoke very good English. To travellers who need a bed to crash in at a decent price while exploring this beautiful city it is a perfect place.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TimeaRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

This hotel was the best decision I have made in a long time when it comes to choosing a place to stay. Honestly, I don't know why anyone would say anything negative about this hotel.

Location: You just can't beat the location. You can get to anywhere from the hotel's location in a few minutes: Trams 4 and 6 are at the door as well as plenty of buses and the red Line subway as well. You can get to Deak Ferenc (the center of everything ) in 5 minutes.

Restaurants: Once again you can get anything you want in the Blaha Lutza area which is where the hotel is. There are plenty of fast food restaurants and there are two supermarkets within a block to buy sandwiches if you are really on a budget. And for the refined taste, the Liszt Ferenc Sq with all its trendy restaurants is five minutes away by tram 4 or 6.

Staff: Couldn't have asked for better. Agnes, Edi, Judith, David and Andros went out of their way to help me with directions, suggestions, providing extra towels when I went to the baths and even printing my boarding passes. Looking at Judith's amazing piercing green eyes come included in the price :-) Agnes was an incredible help with plenty of suggestions and always willing to answer any question. . .and I ask a lot.

Room: The room was clean and comfortable. Once again this is a budget hotel so don't expect someting unreasonable: there is even a safe in each room. There is air conditioning as well. They have two Wi Fi servers so you won't have any connectivity problems.

All in all, you just can't go wrong with this hotel and the price is absolutely worth it. I stayed here for a week and I had to work, and even my room was quiet enough to do that.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gmokatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

i was firstly told by the receptionist that i could check out untill 7pm as my flight back was at midnight,then a day later the other receptionist said till 3pm and that shell clean up the room,
when i got back i saw all my belongings outside in the reception,they actually packed all my stuff and took it out unorganised.

the owner is terrible and rude,she talks disrespectfully and wanted to charge me for half a day despite what her employees promised.
when i asked her for an email address for a complaint she said "there is no point its coming straight to me"!
moreover,the area of the hotel is dangerous too and unsafe ,i was pickpocketed,there are xxxxxx near the entrance of the hotel and thats not nice.
besides there is no table in the rooms,no shampoo or soap,i would clearly say add 10 more dollars and stay in a better place,
stay out of this horrible place.

Room Tip: move away from that hotel
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank assi79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

From the outside you would not expect this to be a hotel, only when you get in and get up to the first floor you have a nice patio where you can also find the reception. The staff was very helpful, and even though we were quite late and had the last room of which the windows could not open, there was air conditioning present and the room was clean. Because we only used the room to sleep in we didn't mind about the windows.
The room was very quite because it was facing the patio and not the street side.
Location wise it was fantastic: you could easily walk everywhere, take a tram and also the metro entrance was right next door.
So for everyone who'd like to stay at a good location, wants value for money, doesn't need any extra frills like swimming pools, a restaurant etc but would like to have a quite night: this is the place to be.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niels_Maaike_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Very convenient place, just in the center. Room are OK, New and clean, You can visit all Budapest from the Hotel.Room are a little bit spartan but the price is very ok. I suggest this hotel for a budget trip with friends. Metro is just down the hotel and tram is far just 50 meter.I will back to this hotel as well

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gi076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews