We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, good central location, nice reception staff.”
Review of Centrooms House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Centrooms House
Ranked #32 of 190 Budapest B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Not for the faint hearted, The outside, is a door with a buzzer to gain access, not easy to find (next to Burger King) The rooms are very basic, but that's all you need,clean with tv, bed ok, warm room. The reception staff were so helpful, explaining the metro trams etc and what trips to go on. this is an ideal location to stay in as you right next to metro and trams, there are some nice places to have a bite to eat and drink nearby. Lots of amenities close bye. If you have travelled Europe and are not scared of big cities, go local, use the trams and Metro and enjoy the experience (get a metro ticket 72 hrs £10ish) Use it on buses, trams and metro bargain!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woodstar235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 97 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2011

I stayed at Centrooms house for one night in September when making a 2 day trip to Budapest. I booked a family room with a kitchen through Laterooms as I travelled in a group of 4.
Finding the hotel is a bit tricky - it is a converted block of flats and there is no signs to indicate its where it is. Also there were a fair few tramps and beggars hanging around that area but me and my mother speak Hungarian so were thankfully not targeted by pickpocketers who usually target foreigners. To get in you have to ring a door bell, walk up a staircase which leads to a patio of the first floor of the house - reception is located there, the rooms are spread out through the building. We had to wait a fair bit to check-in, but to be fair the receptionist was on her own and the guests checking in before us had silly question after silly question....but once they went to their room, the receptionist was very helpful. We had one suprise when we asked about when breakfast would we served as on laterooms we booked 4 continental buffet breakfasts for £2.50. Turns out they dont actually have a breakfast room and the recetionist didnt understand why laterooms state they serve a buffet breakfast - what they do offer is a choice of a few dishes served at a restaurant nearby. She also said the price was incorrect and it would actually be more expensive but she said she would honour the price quoted on the website, which was very nice of her. She even called the restaurant to make sure they have brown breadrolls for my sister who is diabetic.
The room itself was massive, the bathroom was adequate, althrough there was no shower curtian which meant the floor flooded when each of us showered.
The kitchen had an oven with two hot plates on the top, cutlery, fridge, plates and pots but sadly no kettle - boiling water for coffe on the hot plate took absolutely ages.
The beds were ok, the pillows were absolutely tiny, also there was an ac in the room but it didnt really work. The TV was smallish and it was fixed to the wall at a weird angle but we didnt really visit Budapest to watch telly.
We spent our first day sightseeing- Buda Castle and the Parliament are still as amazing as I remeber them. We returned at 9pm- there was a bit of traffic noise but is nothing new in a city centre.
Breakfast in the morning in the restaurant that is about 5 minutes walk from the hotel was really nice - really not bad for £2.50 a head.
All in all, this place is not perfect but is definitely very good value for money. It is located about a minutes walk form a tube station which is handy. The staff were lovely and spoke very good English. To travellers who need a bed to crash in at a decent price while exploring this beautiful city it is a perfect place.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TimeaRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

This hotel was the best decision I have made in a long time when it comes to choosing a place to stay. Honestly, I don't know why anyone would say anything negative about this hotel.

Location: You just can't beat the location. You can get to anywhere from the hotel's location in a few minutes: Trams 4 and 6 are at the door as well as plenty of buses and the red Line subway as well. You can get to Deak Ferenc (the center of everything ) in 5 minutes.

Restaurants: Once again you can get anything you want in the Blaha Lutza area which is where the hotel is. There are plenty of fast food restaurants and there are two supermarkets within a block to buy sandwiches if you are really on a budget. And for the refined taste, the Liszt Ferenc Sq with all its trendy restaurants is five minutes away by tram 4 or 6.

Staff: Couldn't have asked for better. Agnes, Edi, Judith, David and Andros went out of their way to help me with directions, suggestions, providing extra towels when I went to the baths and even printing my boarding passes. Looking at Judith's amazing piercing green eyes come included in the price :-) Agnes was an incredible help with plenty of suggestions and always willing to answer any question. . .and I ask a lot.

Room: The room was clean and comfortable. Once again this is a budget hotel so don't expect someting unreasonable: there is even a safe in each room. There is air conditioning as well. They have two Wi Fi servers so you won't have any connectivity problems.

All in all, you just can't go wrong with this hotel and the price is absolutely worth it. I stayed here for a week and I had to work, and even my room was quiet enough to do that.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gmokatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

i was firstly told by the receptionist that i could check out untill 7pm as my flight back was at midnight,then a day later the other receptionist said till 3pm and that shell clean up the room,
when i got back i saw all my belongings outside in the reception,they actually packed all my stuff and took it out unorganised.

the owner is terrible and rude,she talks disrespectfully and wanted to charge me for half a day despite what her employees promised.
when i asked her for an email address for a complaint she said "there is no point its coming straight to me"!
moreover,the area of the hotel is dangerous too and unsafe ,i was pickpocketed,there are xxxxxx near the entrance of the hotel and thats not nice.
besides there is no table in the rooms,no shampoo or soap,i would clearly say add 10 more dollars and stay in a better place,
stay out of this horrible place.

Room Tip: move away from that hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank assi79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

From the outside you would not expect this to be a hotel, only when you get in and get up to the first floor you have a nice patio where you can also find the reception. The staff was very helpful, and even though we were quite late and had the last room of which the windows could not open, there was air conditioning present and the room was clean. Because we only used the room to sleep in we didn't mind about the windows.
The room was very quite because it was facing the patio and not the street side.
Location wise it was fantastic: you could easily walk everywhere, take a tram and also the metro entrance was right next door.
So for everyone who'd like to stay at a good location, wants value for money, doesn't need any extra frills like swimming pools, a restaurant etc but would like to have a quite night: this is the place to be.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niels_Maaike_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Budapest City
Ibis Budapest City
#51 of 336 in Budapest
1,010 reviews
Central Hotel 21
#67 of 336 in Budapest
612 reviews
Hotel Karin
#27 of 190 in Budapest
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esprit Hotel
#14 of 190 in Budapest
115 reviews
District V / Inner City
Budapest Heritage Guest House
Budapest Heritage Guest House
#23 of 190 in Budapest
12 reviews
District V / Inner City
Parliament Penthouse Budapest B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centrooms House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centrooms House

Address: Rakoczi ut 44, Budapest 1072, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 190 B&Bs / Inns in Budapest
Price Range: RM139 - RM1,135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Centrooms House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Centrooms House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrooms House Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing